We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“looking for great food look no further than the greyhound at saughall”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Greyhound Inn

The Greyhound Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Greyhound Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #322 of 554 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fabulous pub food produced in a great British, traditional, friendly and inviting surroundings. The award winning kitchen is a hive of creativity where the venue's passionate, talented, and creative Head Chef, along with the rest of the dedicated team, work their magic as they cook freshly prepared, and locally sourced meat, fish, veg and dairy products, as well as freshly baked artisan breads. The seasonally changing, modern Great British-Style menu's, are the epiphany of today's "gastro-style" pub restaurants, but along with a sense of the "home-comforts", often contain that "twist" on tradition, as well as flavours and variants on recipes from all over the World.
Pentre Halkyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“looking for great food look no further than the greyhound at saughall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

The Greyhound At Saughall has fabulous food and first class service. I can highly recommend this restaurant. Very good value for money andalso a friendly atmosphere. Close enough to Chester City Centre but in the heart of the Cheshire Countryside. Try it and you will see for yourself

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTaffyKevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    76
    31
    21
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Went with friends and can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Myself and several friends went to the 'Whats for tea on a Tuesday' night and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, the school dinners theme was a fantastic idea and the food matched this. The wine list was extensive and catered for all tastes. The food arrived quickly and the portion sizes were perfect. The three courses for 12.95 is also great value for money. I looked at there normal menu and cant wait to go back and try the British tapas. The staff were extremely polite and couldn't do more for you however sometimes several different staff asked how each course was. All in all a fantastic experience and can't wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wow - you need to go and eat there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We went there tonight. The staff were attentive and helpfu. The food was amazing. The wine wonderful. The tapas was great but the lambs liver was out of this world. For desert the chocolate cake was yum yum yum.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClairejSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An absolutley warm,welcoming experience with a great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

I would just like to say what a great place this is to eat,it was clean,warm,welcoming and friendly.The staff were friendly and polite and couldnt do enough for us.We only had a bar snack but when the food was served it came on a platter which were sandwiches and the soup which came was served in a tankered glass,really great idea.The soup was carrot and orange a totally different taste to something i'd ever tasted before. It was clean and tidy and has a lovely decor.It also has a clean outdoor area and a large lawn for eating outside,I would highly recommend you give this retaurant a try............well done!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paulatitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Having visited the new Greyhound on two occasions for Sunday lunch, the quality of the food is good & consistent however for the price of the Sunday lunch I feel quite cheated by the size of meat portions, which were three thinly sliced pieces of pork, and the same for my wife who had beef, I would expect something larger considering the price, this is the reason why I marked the value as poor, as in my opinion this was the only thing which let the meal down

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank the_joe_smoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greyhound Inn also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing