We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and good service”
Review of The Millstone

The Millstone
Ranked #54 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Gastropub, Wine Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and good service”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We have been a number of times to the millstone and have always been happy with the meal and service. Even when they are really busy they have never turned us away. Kids love the make you own pizza and I am hooked on the chicken in mushroom sauce! Try it you won't be disappointed!

Helpful?
2 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    56
    11
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food....shame about the ladies toilets!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Went with a group of friends for a meal. Nice selection on the menu - catered for all out tastes. Service was fine, happy and friendly - there was a quite a wait for our order though but we were happy to chat whilst we waited. The drinks were reasonably priced too, no problem there. The biggest let down of all was the ladies toilets...absolute disgrace: both toilets without door locks and doors don't shut properly anyway, toilet roll holders broke/non existent, tap is broken and quite frankly the ladies looks like they haven't been cleaned in a looooonnng time. Hope they keep their kitchen in a better state??Overall our experience wasn't too bad but make sure you go to the loo at home before thinking of going!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank flowerpower5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have been twice and on both occasions the food and service were excellent. The decor is clean and modern.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bl0dwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We went for our third visit last week for lunch and it was every bit as good as the previous visits. Its worrying that somewhere offering good food at very fair prices is not busier than this whereas many so called gastro-pubs that offer much poorer food at higher prices seem full to bursting.
We had the fish and chips and the sea-bass which were both very high standard and reasonably priced and as ever the service was fine. It's true this pub is not the prettiest and is not in Chester (as the listing suggests) but in Penyffordd which is about seven miles outside but it really is worth the visit for an excellent family meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely food!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Visited here last week with my fiancé for his birthday. The place is lovely, it had a warm inviting atmosphere even though there weren't many people dining. We ordered the baked camembert to share for starter which was delicious! I had the lamb and my partner had the sea bass for the main course - equally as tasty as the starter. The presentation of the food was lovely too. The only criticism about the sea bass meal was that the leeks were very stringy so it made it extremely hard to chew through - i would steer clear of this main if you struggle with your teeth. The service we received was great, didn't have to wait long for the food to arrive and it was served nice and hot. I just have one suggestion for the owner... i know it sounds petty, but the tables are very low which meant it was hard to get comfortable with the table digging into our legs. Im quite short so for anyone tall i can imagine it would be very uncomfortable. Despite this, i am still giving The Millstone an 'excellent' review as overall i really enjoyed our meal!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ShannonBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Millstone also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Millstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing