We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Impressive and awe-inspiring”
Review of Chester Cathedral

Chester Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$169.06*
and up
Chester Independent Day Trip by Train from London
Ranked #2 of 95 things to do in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Chester Cathedral is a living community of prayer and worship, and a centre of excellence in Church Music with a rich and fascinating heritage.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Impressive and awe-inspiring”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We visited on a day there was a choir recital and the sounds coming out of the main cathedral were amazing. We wanted to light a candle for a recently deceased family member who was born in Chester so the kind staff quietly led us past the recital and into the chapel above.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GiGlGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,353
    998
    200
    33
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Telford
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We visited the Cathedral on May 18th. We enjoyed the experience of the building. It is a large area to walk round but there were ramps for those in wheelchairs and not too many steps for those on sticks. There were lots of smaller chapel type areas. There was a gift shop and a café. There were plenty of places to sit and have your own quiet moments. There was a place to light a candle if you wanted. Although in literature it stated a price of £5 each for entrance, when we got inside it was a suggested donation of £3. There was a small choir practicing inside and as we walked from the town later, we saw a horse and carriage waiting outside, decorated for a wedding. So we think that a wedding was taking place. We really enjoyed our visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TelfordStevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“No longer available for it's original purpose”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

When in Chester I always liked to pop into the Cathedral for a quiet moment, to reflect & be at peace & look at the unique glass representing saints in the cloisters. Last time I went I was charged quite a lot to enter....around £10, certainly not the £3 mentioned. When I queried it they said to attend a service, of course I don't live locally so that wouldn't have been applicable.
It has begun to feel like a museum, with activities for children, gift shops & a cafe. I appreciate they have to keep the building in good order & that is very expensive, however I don't think I will feel comfortable going again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Masaka47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Large and approachable cathedral”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have visited this cathedral on a number of occasions and like the way it has managed to combine old and new together with a modern stained glass window amongst the originals. The Cathedral has a number of dedicated chapels and like all nowadays incorporates a good quality tearoom and gift shop. My only area of concern is that they have introduced a hefty entrance fee for which you get a recorded tour guide pack. However if you are wishing to use the cathedral for prayer the entrance fee is waived.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MWH_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Atmospheric”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very beautiful windows, lots of atmosphere and a very peaceful central garden and pool which on a warm sunny begs you to linger longer, and longer, and longer! When you get hungry or thirsty (from lingering so long) you can take refreshment in the Cathedral Cafe. All very nice and well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FeelTheBeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chester Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Chester Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing