We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautfull”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chester Cathedral

Chester Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$168.00*
and up
Chester Independent Day Trip by Train from London
Ranked #3 of 90 things to do in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Chester Cathedral is a living community of prayer and worship, and a centre of excellence in Church Music with a rich and fascinating heritage.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautfull”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

i don't often go into cathedrals because they are mostly the same but i went here with other people and i am so glad i went it is stunning.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank afingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,102
    915
    187
    32
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stunning place great architectural features and free entry in February. They also do free tours an amazing place to visit on a wet Saturday afternoon but worth a visit what ever the weather

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank weej0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A short visit left me wanting more”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I just had a short visit to the cathedral, as part of a guided walking tour of the city. I was very impressed by what I saw and, in just a short time, the guide brought out many interesting aspects of the cathedral's history. There's a lot to see and a lot to learn about, so I had hoped to make a longer return visit on my own - sadly when I went back the next day the cathedral was shut to visitors for most of the afternoon due to events.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank pawprint2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Day Trip”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I had walked part of the way around the city walls when I came across the cathedral. There is free entry during Febrary, although a contribution to the upkeep is recommended. Very imposing internal views. Has attached gift shop and cafe

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MJC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

fantastic historic church well worth a visit . we loved it . enjoyed exploring the olde city, pubs and restaurants.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank brenda196252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chester Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Chester Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing