We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property
Twice Cheshire finalist luxury holiday home The River House, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bath, 4 car spaces
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Twice Cheshire finalist luxury holiday home The River House, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bath, 4 car spaces
River House, Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence winner, living room overlooking the River Dee Master bedroom, kingsize bed, ensuite bathroom, overlooking the River Dee
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
147 reviews
Twice Cheshire finalist luxury holiday home The River House, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bath, 4 car spaces
River House, Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence winner, living room overlooking the River Dee
Master bedroom, kingsize bed, ensuite bathroom, overlooking the River Dee
Guest bedroom, kingsize or twin beds, looking toward Grosvenor Park
Guest bedroom, double bed, looking toward Grosvenor Park
Large, sociable, kitchen dining room leading to the walled garden
From the kitchen to the front door
Luxurious, Egyptian cotton bed linen and sumptuous pillows in all the bedrooms
Ensuite bathroom
River House luxury holiday cottage, city centre, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 4 car spaces
Blooming walled garden at the River House Holiday Cottage Chester
The River Dee leading to the River House
Early morning just outside the River House Chester, sipping a cup of tea and sitting on the bench
Enjoy England Tourism   Four Star Gold Award self catering accomodation
Enjoy England Four Star self-catering accomodation
Chester Races a short walk from the River House luxury holiday cottage for six adults
Winter sunrise on the Meadows opposite the River House
River House luxury holiday cottage in the heart of the city, 5 minutes from the shops & restaura
A bride and bridesmaid in the living room at the River House Chester
Beautiful bride in the courtyard garden of the River House
Elephants bathing at Chester Zoo
Chester Rows ideal shopping a short walk from the River House Chester
Chester Race Course a stroll along the river from the River House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 147 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Scott-Far...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is our second visit to River House and again we were not disappointed, the house is superb, location great , everything is just right, highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2017
Thank you for choosing to come back again. I know the location is perfect for your son to compete in the Deva Triathlon whilst you enjoy the River House and Chester. I hope you decide to come back next year and wish you and your son every success this season and next.
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally W
1 review
“Perfect, beautiful house and location”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The location was fantastic overlooking the River Dee and within walking distance to the town centre. Perfect family friendly house with wonderful kitchen/dining room and lovely courtyard garden that was lovely to relax in. We will definitely visit again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2017
Hello Sally - I hope to see you again soon. The River House is a very special place for me and fortunately, most of our guests agree and come to love it. I hope you created some lovely memories of your stay - thank you for your visit.
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvem26
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stylish living, perfect location”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a wonderful week in fabulous River House.It was spotlessly clean with every home comfort provided.The interior design throughout the property is so stylish with attention to detail in every room and we loved the cute little courtyard. The views of the river are breathtaking...almost hard to believe we were so near the bustling centre as it was so quiet and peaceful at the house. Both young and old greatly appreciated the luxury of River House and we were sorry to leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2017
Thank you for your kind words and the lovely email you sent to me about it being your best holiday. It made my heart sing to know we had helped make such a special holiday for you and your family as that's the reason River House exists. Thank you & here's to more happy times!
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon A
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gem on the River Dee”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We were lucky enough to stay in the River House over the Easter holidays. It looked good in the pictures and was just as good, if not better when we were there, it was like a home from home with everything you'd need to make your break as enjoyable as you want it to be.

It is in a fabulous location overlooking the River Dee, a short stroll to the centre of Chester with its many shops, bars and restaurants, and within a 1-2 minute walk of a couple of restaurants and a cafe.

Booking via the owner Melanie was easy with no problems whatsoever prior to our stay or while we were there.

Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for excellent accommodation in a fantastic location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2017
Thank you, Simon. You were a great guest and I really appreciate your visit. Come back soon!
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifer...
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious weekend away!”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the stunning riverside apartment in the heart of Chester. The apartment felt like a home from home! Exceptionally clean throughout with all the amenities you could wish for, all with a luxurious touch! We found that attention to all the little details had been made, from travel maps to restaurant recommendations and even fresh roses in the living area! Placed in the perfect location with beautiful views of the river and surroundings. Within a stones throw walking distance of the city centre filled with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants we were spoilt for choice!! Whether it be a quiet or romantic weekend away or a girls weekend the Riverside apartment makes the perfect location and we cannot recommend enough, we hope to come back again very soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2017
Hi Jennifer - you were a perfect guest so thank you for being so considerate! It was great to host you. We try very hard to make sure our guests feel at home and relax as soon as they walk in so I'm very happy that you felt that way.
Come back soon!
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellclair...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed at the end of January as I’ve had my eye on this property for ages. So my husband booked it as a Christmas present – note the rates are really good at the start of year and it’s a lovely pick me up for January.
The reviews are right! This is a top end holiday cottage and we think it really deserves all the reviews. It’s clean, the location is wonderful and it’s really, really well thought out. The owner has decorated it very tastefully but at the same time you feel at home straight away. It’s almost a shame to go out as the kitchen has a large oven and everything you need. There’s a Waitrose and and M&S nearby so we put the fire on and cosied up at night and we loved it so much we’ve already booked again for next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2017
Hi and thank you! The River House is a cosy spot where you can curl up with the fire on and watch the world go by. Some I'm delighted you felt so at home. We are lucky with the proximity of some excellent shops and I'm always tempted myself! See you next year and than you again.
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiamJ_SLO
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
“Location, Location, Location!”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This has to be the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in. It’s located as close to town as you can get on the river so it’s easy to walk into the shops and restaurants. It’s great for Hickorys and the Boathouse. You have so many choices it’s tough to know where to start.
The River House is just amazing! You walk in and it’s something else! Relaxing, very clean, comfy, and absolutely huge! It’s like a Tardis. The bedrooms are large for a cottage, with hotel towels. We spent most of our time chilling in the living room or in the kitchen as it’s very spacious. There’s even a nice garden at the back. The views from the house are as good as the photos if not better.
Melanie was really helpful with her advice for our stay and helping me with the booking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2017
Hi Liam - yes, we are a bit like the Tardis. These lovely old houses have beautifully proportioned rooms and a little modernisation in the right spots makes all the difference. Hope you can come back and enjoy the garden one day.
Kind regards
Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing