We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our Best Stay in Chester EVER!”
other travelers have booked this property
Twice Cheshire finalist luxury holiday home The River House, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bath, 4 car spaces
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Twice Cheshire finalist luxury holiday home The River House, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bath, 4 car spaces
River House, Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence winner, living room overlooking the River Dee Master bedroom, kingsize bed, ensuite bathroom, overlooking the River Dee
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
146 reviews
Twice Cheshire finalist luxury holiday home The River House, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bath, 4 car spaces
River House, Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence winner, living room overlooking the River Dee
Master bedroom, kingsize bed, ensuite bathroom, overlooking the River Dee
Guest bedroom, kingsize or twin beds, looking toward Grosvenor Park
Guest bedroom, double bed, looking toward Grosvenor Park
Large, sociable, kitchen dining room leading to the walled garden
From the kitchen to the front door
Luxurious, Egyptian cotton bed linen and sumptuous pillows in all the bedrooms
Ensuite bathroom
River House luxury holiday cottage, city centre, 3 double bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 4 car spaces
Blooming walled garden at the River House Holiday Cottage Chester
The River Dee leading to the River House
Early morning just outside the River House Chester, sipping a cup of tea and sitting on the bench
Enjoy England Tourism   Four Star Gold Award self catering accomodation
Enjoy England Four Star self-catering accomodation
Chester Races a short walk from the River House luxury holiday cottage for six adults
Winter sunrise on the Meadows opposite the River House
River House luxury holiday cottage in the heart of the city, 5 minutes from the shops & restaura
A bride and bridesmaid in the living room at the River House Chester
Beautiful bride in the courtyard garden of the River House
Elephants bathing at Chester Zoo
Chester Rows ideal shopping a short walk from the River House Chester
Chester Race Course a stroll along the river from the River House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 146 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
478Happy...
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Best Stay in Chester EVER!”
Reviewed January 2, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We have just spent two wonderful weeks over Christmas at the Riverhouse. Our third stay in Chester but our first at the Riverhouse. Previously we have stayed in an apartment, but with two teenage boys the space and location of the house made a world of difference. The house is beautifully decorated ,well equiped and very clean. All details have been thought of to make it truly a home from home. Not only is the view gorgeous - right by the river, the fact that you can walk into the centre of town in a few minutes is such a joy. No hassles with city centre parking or navigating the one way road system. Our boys nipped up and back "home" regularly with no need to all be coordinating our movements with the car. We had a car, but there was no need for one, and when family came to visit there was still room for them to park behind ours. The kitchen is a great space. We found ourselves sitting in the kitchen most of the time, around the table socialising. I would highly recommend this accommodation. Location, Location, Location and excellent facilities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 22, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Darren067
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and a lovely house”
Reviewed September 25, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

The location of the house is great, right by the river with the park behind the house and a very short walk to the shops. The hose itself was lovely, with a psacious kitchen/diner and a large lounge. The rooms were well decorated. Can't find anything negative to sayabout the place or the people that run it, except to note that the wifi is through a dongle, so no good if you have an ipad, but a real minor point.
Heartily reccomend this to people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: WiFi through dongle
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Reviewed September 20, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gill252
Cheadle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding, homely, extremely high quality and superb location!”
Reviewed August 31, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

6 of us stayed here for my freinds 30th over bank holiday and we were all blown away by how wonderful it was.
Immaculately clean, beautifully decorated, extremely well-equipped with everything you could possibly need.
The owners were very friendly and went out of their way to ensure we were happy. They even left a welcome pack left for us with a huge vase of flowers! Such wonderful, 5 star touches.
The location is incredible and in an all-time best spot - just under The Spenny brigde, so good views, relaxing environment and only 10 minute stroll along the walls into the epicentre of town or 5 minutes the other way to the meadows.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikesatis
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing stay!!! Wonderful place!!!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We have just returned from an amazing weekend break at The River House. From the moment we arrived everything was perfect. We were met by Craig who gave us a full rundown on where everything was and how it all worked. The house is fully equipped for everything you'd want with three large bedrooms, a big living room and the piece de resistance - the fantastic dining kitchen. This was where we spent most of our time! Having unpacked we followed one of Melanie's suggestions in the information email we received and went to Hickory's (An American smokehouse style restaurant). This place was only a minute's walk from the house but the food and atmosphere was amazing. Feeling rather full we ambled back to the house and sat in the peaceful back garden polishing off the organic cider that had been kindly included in the welcome pack we were greeted with on arrival.

The house is only a stones throw from the Center of Chester and within easy driving distance of many attractions plus the cities of Liverpool and Manchester.

The riverside area provides some lovely walks and there are a number of pubs and restaurants along the way where you can sit and watch the boats, canoes and pedalos pass by.

Overall I couldn't fault the stay and within hours of arriving at The River House the four of us were consulting our diaries to check when we could come back again!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location and character of the house
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 20, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing