We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full day out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chester Zoo

Chester Zoo
Ranked #1 of 92 things to do in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We're the UK's number one charity zoo, with over 20,000 animals and 500 different species, including some of the most endangered species on the planet. With 1.6 million visitors every year, the zoo is an all-year round, full-day visitor attraction for everyone. We're open daily from 10am, except for Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Car parking is free and on site. Facilities for disabled visitors, including self-drive electric scooters and wheelchairs.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Chester
Level Contributor
174 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Full day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

So much to see and do, it's a full day. Not cheap but certainly vfm. Overhead railway a disappointment as it's expensive, slow and just not vfm. Should be free

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,227
    2,082
    654
    273
    145
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Zoo visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

I am a member and go about 4 times a year. For a family day out its great especially if the weather is good. There is lots to do and see. Plenty of talks and information, childrens play areas picnic places cafes and loos All set in spacious grounds

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the UK's best zoos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Chester Zoo is, as the title says, one of the best zoos I have been to in the UK. Most people seem to have children with them, but it is a great day out for adults too. Get there early as it takes all day to see everything properly. I prefer to take a picnic but there is food for sale too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank brewdogfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Serious Zoo.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

just a brilliant zoo & went there as a kid when we used to phone people saying we were Mr.L E Fant from Chester Zoo, great fun,
but my sister who wasa teacher took her classes there, and a few years ago we were in the States, when they asked us where
we were from, they saidstraight away, theres a great Zoo there!
amazing!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BellandBatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“cool day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

it was a typical drizzly english day out but thankfully the zoo made up for the weather. i thought it was reasonably priced and thought the variety of animals was great. unfortunately the bbq wasn't on but the food was ok, much better than the fast food burger n chips i was expecting. recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank scott j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chester Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Chester Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing