We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't treat us like Monkey's”
Review of Chester Zoo

Chester Zoo
Ranked #1 of 93 things to do in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We're the UK's number one charity zoo, with over 15,000 animals and 500 different species, including some of the most endangered species on the planet. With 1.9 million visitors every year, the zoo is an all-year round, full-day visitor attraction for everyone. We're open daily from 10am, except for Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Car parking is free and on site. Facilities for disabled visitors, including self-drive electric scooters and wheelchairs.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 663 helpful votes
“Don't treat us like Monkey's”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

It is years since we last went to this zoo, and we were really impressed with everything except the eating facilities - but more on that later.
First of all watch out for the sat nav directions, as it takes you the wrong way. The advance booking works really well and helps with speeding you through the entrance, so I would recommend this. Parking is easy, but of course it was mid October went we went.
The Zoo is well laid out and mainly on the flat, making walking quite easy although we noticed that mobility scooters were available.
The animals are kept in good surroundings and are obviously well cared for. The elephants were great, but someone really must have a word with them to keep certain activities to the elephant bedroom !!!!
The whole of the grounds are well kept and the whole place is very clean.
There are plenty of toilets throughout the zoo.
We had a great day out, our only gripe was the atrocious service that we received in the Jaguar coffee shop, the two men serving are a total disgrace and really let the zoo down. All they did was to lark about behind the counter, but did not offer an ounce of customer service to anyone, someone needs to inform these two jokers that there are over two million unemployed people, some who would like a job at this prestigious zoo - to the management I strongly suggest re training these two employees so that they stop treating the paying visitor as Monkey's. the prices of the food are also a bit steep an example being nearly £4 for a simple tuna salad sandwich, little wonder that a lot of visitors had taken their own food.
All in all, we had a good day out and I would recommend visiting this attraction - just take your own food and drink and enjoy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravellers222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterZoo, Manager at Chester Zoo, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your day out with us. We’re delighted that you had a good day with us however we’re disappointed to hear that the service you received at the Jaguar Coffee Shop was below expectations. We’re looking into why this might have happened as we try to ensure that all staff provide a high level of service at all times. We’re sorry that our standards fell short on this occasion but hope that you will visit us again in the future.

If you have a moment to spare please could you drop an email to guest.services@chesterzoo.org and let us know the date of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,956
    2,265
    703
    291
    162
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Zoo”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Chester zoo is a beautifully maintained zoo outside of the tourist center of Chester. I suppose I expected a smaller 'petting' type of attraction, but instead was surprised to find that Chester is a full-fledged zoo. Animals appeared to be well treated & had large enclosures that were similar to their natural environment. Although a bit on the pricy side, the zoo is a good way to spend a day away from the busy shopping district of Chester.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank H-B_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friends from the south”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our friends loved the zoo, they are wild-life lovers and have been to Kenya last yr and going again next year. They have also visited many other zoo's but definately agree the Chester is the best zoo they have ever been to.Only niggle was having to pay to go on the mono-rail,they thought that would have been included in the admission price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank chestercrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
2 reviews
“Loved it”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Enjoyed my experience here the restaurant was a little old fashioned though but overall I would recommend a visit

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank steph a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Herradura, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Never fails to delight all ages”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have previously reviewed Chester House as I go every year at least once but this time we took my niece who was over from Canada so we were seeing almost from a different perspective. However, she agreed with us that it is the best zoo around and she had the most amazing day out - better than anything she had ever seen she said!
I can't speak highly enough of Chester Zoo; even though I have been visiting for more years than I care to remember, I never tire of it. It is the best zoo in the UK, if not Europe and every time I go there seems to be more to see. They are always improving their facilities and the conservation and breeding work they do is second to none. Over the last few years they have added two amazing new exhibits: the world of the jaguar, a huge indoor and outdoor set- up for these amazing animals and the incredible orang utan enclosure.
Lots of opportunities to see animals including baby versions of many species including the cutest baby rhino, three bay cheetahs, baby elephants and giraffes and many more. It's an amazing place and is one of the best days out for all ages. Free parking and lots of picnic areas inside the zoo which you don't always find in some attractions. A full day is never long enough to see everything - a return visit is essential.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rollergirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chester Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Chester Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing