We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!”
Review of Chester Zoo

Chester Zoo
Ranked #1 of 91 things to do in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We're the UK's number one charity zoo, with over 15,000 animals and 500 different species, including some of the most endangered species on the planet. With 1.9 million visitors every year, the zoo is an all-year round, full-day visitor attraction for everyone. We're open daily from 10am, except for Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Car parking is free and on site. Facilities for disabled visitors, including self-drive electric scooters and wheelchairs.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Strathcarron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Loved our day trip to Chester Zoo, This Zoo has everything, lots of indoor attractions as well if the weather isnt good. Would reccomend to animal lovers and family groups alike

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nightfireuk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,636
    2,187
    684
    282
    154
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales,UK
2 reviews
“Day trip to Chester Zoo”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I took my 2 children (1 with wheelchair) arrived at 11am. I expected the boys to have had enough by 2/3 o'clock. They couldn't get enough. It is well spread out giving lots of different views of the different animals. I had to drag the boys out at closing time on the promise to go again. It is a well packed day for children. Next time however I will take a picnic as the food areas are either very expensive or not well ranging in variety.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great family day out. No complaints about the Zoo. Food prices are high but I suppose that is to be expected with a captive audience, so to speak. Son loved watching the Lions.Tigers/monkeys etc. Shame it rained for us but thats didnt spoil our fun.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MummyMunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Arrived at 10am , left at 4pm and walked all day! Leaflet says there are 11 miles of pathways at the zoo and I felt like I had walked them all. Great day out, so much to see, lots of unusual animals as well as the favourites and they do so much for conservation. Animals looked content and happy, big interesting enclosures. One of the best zoos we have been to.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ODP_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely place to visit”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I must say Chester Zoo is a great place to visit, seeing the Elephants, Camels oh and my personal favorite Meerkats close up made my day.. The mono rail was also handy to use aswell. Price reasonable also.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Akball46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chester Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Chester Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing