We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent property in a good location.”

Review of Oak barns

Welcome to the Oak Barns, Farndon - approximately 7 miles from Chester
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the Oak Barns, Farndon - approximately 7 miles from Chester
Enjoy a relaxing night's rest in the comfortable, king sized bed in double bedroom Enjoy a relaxing drink on the terrace after an enjoyable family day out in Cheshire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Welcome to the Oak Barns, Farndon - approximately 7 miles from Chester
Enjoy a relaxing night's rest in the comfortable, king sized bed in double bedroom
Enjoy a relaxing drink on the terrace after an enjoyable family day out in Cheshire
The owner's family enjoying the stunning countryside
Breathtaking country views
Excellent restaurants in the area and in the village
Oak Barns with fabulous views of the Cheshire countryside
Lounge with comfy sofas and flat screen digital t.v.
Spacious family accommodation sleeps 6
Lovely countryside views whilst relaxing on the patio
Spacious dining area with a fully equipped modern kitchen
First floor twin bedded room with comfy beds
Ground floor twin bedroom with adjoining family bathroom.  Ideal if you cannot manage the stairs.
Bright and sunny dining area
Plenty of fresh air and space for the children to explore
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
P W
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent property in a good location.”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The property is deceptively spacious and easily accommodated 6 adults and 2 small dogs. On arrival the cottage was immaculately clean and we were very pleased with the layout and standard of presentation. The kitchen was well equipped. Jayne the owner was very welcoming and helpful. It was a short walk to Farndon where we enjoyed a quiet drink and good food. Well placed for visiting Chester Zoo and other attractions. We would certainly consider a return visit in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you found the Oak Barn clean and spacious enough to accommodate your family. Rob and I love the village life and regularly wander down on an evening for a drink and a meal. I look forward to maybe accommodating you another time. Jayne Wilson, Property Owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmullo
1 review
“Modern, spacious accommodation”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in Oak Barn No1 which was modern and had ample room for 4 adults and a dog. Great having two full bathrooms too.

No secluded area for the dog to be let out to sit etc which was a shame as he is used to being in his garden off the lead.

The accommodation is set in a secluded area at the bottom of the lane which is very tranquil and peaceful.

The barns lack soundproofing but it didn't bother us too much as in the next barn were two couples. We did hear the dogs barking in the third barn though!

It is a great location for visiting Chester, Cheshire Oaks, Liverpool and Bridgemere.

The owner Jayne is very welcoming and the shortbread on our arrival was a nice gesture. She also popped in with some home grown veg mid week.

Shame we didn't get the weather to make use of the BBQ and sit out on the patio.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you liked the location. It is nice to visit Chester and the surrounding area and have somewhere tranquil to retreat to each evening. I am glad you liked my home grown vegetables and the shortbread as well. It is always good to receive positive feedback. I am sorry you were disappointed that there was nowhere for your dog to sit unattended outside. I try not to encourage this in case a dog should escape into the nearby fields and disturb the livestock or children playing nearby. Thanks again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back another time. Jayne Wilson, Property Owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth_F...
Acklington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great family holiday home!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We went to Car Fest at Oulton Park for 3 days,I am so pleased we did not camp, the rain was torrential! We walked into No3 Oak Barns and it was lovely! We managed to get dried out and ready to go again the next day! Everything we needed was there, the washing machine came in very handy to wash all the muddy jeans.When the sun came out, it was great to sit outside and watch the kids playing safely. Plenty of room for extra vehicles. Just a short walk into Farndon, for a drink, meal or money. Have already recommended this to another family member.
Thank you!
The Forsyth Family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt very homely! Home from home!
Liked least: Would have been great to have some light bulbs in the fire, for a bit of ambiance.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2014
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one of the Oak Barns and that it had everything you needed. Thank you also for taking the time to write a review and for recommending my Oak Barns to your family. Thanks again, Jayne Wilson, Property Owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah an...
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Hosts, great accommodation and great views!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I was staying at the barn with some friends for the weekend, I arrived late and Jayne came out to meet me in the car park to show me to the barn, she was really friendly and attentive, offering to leave some breakfast provisions in the barn kitchen as I was going to leave early the next day. I had a great night's sleep and in the morning sat outside with a cup of coffee looking at the fantastic views, I would highly recommend this property!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent value”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Stopped for 3 nights. Quality of the lodge was first rate, and great value for the money. Location was rural enough to be very quiet but only a five minute walk into Farndon. Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2014
Many thanks for your review. I am delighted that you found the location suited your needs. The village is very accessible and offers local shops, pubs and good places to eat. Many guests enjoy the walk into the village. Thanks again for the review. Jayne Wilson, Property Owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol w
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful location”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our extended family (3 generations) had a wonderful Easter Break here. The location is perfect - panoramic views and peaceful surroundings, but only a 10 minute walk to the village. The barns are immaculately clean and everything is laid on, even a barbecue - (fantastic butchers in the village too). Jayne, the property owner, was extremely helpful and catered for all our needs - e.g. Non-allergenic bedding! We did a park and ride into Chester (Wrexham Road) and a train ride into Liverpool (park at Bache station and its a 45 mins journey). Excellent holiday - I would recommend it to any family group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your Easter break and thank you for the great review. As you mention the village is very convenient to the Oak Barns and very handy if you need to pop out to the local shops. It is also nice to have local pubs available if you want to wander out on an evening for a drink with the family. I am glad that I was able to meet your family's needs. Thanks again, Jayne Wilson, Property Owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandazebr...
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a lovely place”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Our family group of five adults stayed at Oak Barns for a week's get-together. The accommodation is lovely with a large open-plan lounge/kitchen/dining room, 3 large bedrooms and two bathrooms. The decor is smart and uncluttered, but still has a cosy feel. The owner, Jayne, has thought of everything you could possibly need for a self-catering holiday, and the whole place was immaculately clean. We were lucky to have good weather to make use of the outdoor seating and barbecue, and Jayne kindly delivered some home grown vegetables to our door. (She lives on site).
The barns are only a 5-10 minute walk away from the lovely villages of Farndon & Holt, where there are good places to eat and a very friendly village pub, the Greyhound, where we were made most welcome at the quiz night. Chester is about a 20 minute drive away, and we visited the city (the guided walk was good), the zoo, Chester races and Cheshire Oaks shopping village.We also took a day trip to Liverpool on the train from Bache (free parking at the station) for under £5 return - a bargain!
An excellent place to stay - we would like to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well appointed and very clean
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this super review. I am so pleased that I was able to meet your every needs and your comments are very much appreciated. It makes all the hard work that goes into making my guests feel at home so worthwhile. Look forward to accommodating you another time. Jayne Wilson.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing