We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place for a Work Party”
Review of Chester Racecourse

Chester Racecourse
Ranked #12 of 91 things to do in Chester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chester is the oldest racecourse in the UK and possibly the world, the first recorded race was held on February 9th 1539. We have 15 race days a year and host numerous other events throughout the year. The company is responsible for two racecourses and all catering and conference facilities at Bangor on Dee and Chester, along with an on course hotel - the Holiday Inn Express, restaurants 1539 and The White Horse on site and Commonhall Social in the city of Chester. The company also provide external catering services for third party events.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Place for a Work Party”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had a belated work Christmas party at the Pavilion. Food was average (buffet) but made up for by the free bar and the staff that were great. Decent size dancing floor and a DJ that catered for all ages and preferences of music. Worth considering if you are organising a work party or some form function that requires food and dancing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Priti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    279
    88
    55
    65
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Deeside, Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A good day out”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We went with a group of friends to a race day in July and were at the centre of the course. We were able to take our own food and drink and had a great time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JollyHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool,england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“race course”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

we have been here a couple of times the course is fantastic and the food outlets are really good too

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizzypool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Nice racecourse with a reasonable entrance fee. There were activities to do whn I went there in June 2012 though, Im not sure if this is always the case.

XtReMeS

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1HolidayExpert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Went for my birthday with friends and despite having tickets (won in a raffle) we opted to spread blankets and set up camp in the middle. Fantastic fun, great atmosphere and easy to get to from anywhere in Chester. Only downside is you MUST book a table if you want to eat in the city centre, the town is always crazy busy on raceday.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedders901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chester Racecourse also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Chester Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing