We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad end to a good day in Chester”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #177 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: You will find The Red Lion in Northgate Street Chester within a short stroll of Chester Railway Station, Chester Cathedral and Chester Cross - however you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality.
Galway,Ireland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Bad end to a good day in Chester”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We arrived in the RedLion just after 835pm and asked if food was still being served and were told yes until 9pm but be quick, we ordered a steak and burger. The food came out by about 850pm and looked poor, a scattering of chips of chips accompanying my burger on which the cheese didnt seem to be melting. I took a bite of the burger only to find it completely burnt beyond recognition, crispy was the texture, the chips were also cold, luckily i dont mind cold chips. Other half had the rump steak which in fairness was good but again her meal was lukewarm at best, i told the staff the burger was overdone and they offered to refund it which was fair. All in all as bad experience but at least the staff dealt with it well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rojo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    53
    16
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good pub food.”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Good quality pub food, really good and friendly service. It was a shame (for the pub) that it was so quiet but it shold not be. The haddock fish and chips was great and the all day breakfast was just too much. We would visit again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big screen television in restaurant with football on!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Went to the Red Lion on Saturday the 15th February for their advertised Valentines Special meal for 2. I was looking forward to a romantic meal with my partner. We were aware that sport is shown on, not one but two large screens in the bars, but were horrified to find that a television set has now been installed in the restaurant as well, and that some drunk and rowdy football fans had moved into there to watch the football. We were told that the football was due to finish and that music would then be put on. However, although the sound of the television was turned off the huge screen was still on, dominating the room and totally inappropriate loud music put on. the football fans lingered on getting drunker and drunker and the language was not really what you want to hear when out with your partner for a meal. It totally spoiled the experience, which was a shame as the food was excellent and very good value for money, and the service was good. We would not go again, and several friends we have spoken to who live nearby have said the same thing, as they have had similar experiences. Why on earth would anyone think it's a good idea to have football blasting away in a restaurant? Especially when the fans were well catered for in the bars? Madness

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margareta53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldmeldrum, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Final Meal in Chester”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

After a disappointment with our meal on our first evening and a good, albeit slowly served, meal on our second evening, we thought we would try the Red Lion on our final evening. Good choice. The food was excellent especially the deserts. As a bonus, very good real ales. I am not used to these and always enjoy finding them and sampling different beverages. The staff were friendly and efficient and helped me with advice on their ales. I would certainly rcommend this etablishment to visitors.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brianpostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good burger!!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We visited yesterday this lovely pub we had a very very nice 8oz beef burger well cooked with chips and coleslaw. Between 12pm and 3pm lunch deal with good price (you pay almost half price food+drink included) Nice atmosphere and polite staff. (small negative point..missing soap in the men toilet) We will come back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank giulia_krys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing