We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing and poor value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The D Hotel Chester
Ranked #59 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 21, 2007

May 2007

My husband and I visit Chester regularly and usually stay in the city for one night, however on this occasion both of our usual hotels were full, and so we searched the internet and called The Hotel Roma directly to enquire about accommodation for the night of My the 18th and were told rather abruptly that rooms were available and that the rate was 72.00 UK Pounds which we guaranteed with a credit card.
Upon arrival there was nobody at the reception desk and we had to go through to the restaurant to locate a person and then we were shown were to park and directed towards an upper room at the back of the property in a separate block.
The room was very dated and had a generally unkept and dirty feel to it.
The carpet was stained and the bed sheet looked far from white, the sideboard was sticky and whilst there were tea and coffee making facilities in the room you would not have wished to use them. The window was open and would not close properly due to the fact that the foliage had begun creeping through the gap.
The floor in the bathroom did not look ike it had been properly cleaned in ages and the water did not fully run from the shower and there was old used soap left at the side of the bath and the supplies of shampoo inadequate for two guests.
Granted this hotel is superbly located and has secure free parking which is also a plus, however it provides very poor value for money in what is a beautiful City.
Upon check out the bill was presented to us and we paid but there were no pleasantries, the receptionist did not enquire how our stay had been or even say thank you or wish us a good onward journey.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 67 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2007

We booked in to stay at the Hotel Roma after a mishap with our previous booking for the Holiday Inn on Chester Racecourse. After feeling blessed to find hotel at such short notice, we quickly began to wish we had not!! The Receptionist looked like Medusa with her hair style, and after being rudly spoken to about the possible behaviour of the group we where sent to out rooms(well some of us) We where sent to room 12 which in no uncertain terms smelled like the sewers, still two of the group had no room!! We then tried to go for our showers before going out but the drip from the shower and the smell from the drains was off putting enough. When using the sink the shower would bubble which was again off putting.
After going for a meal in Chester we returned for the last two of us to be given our room. On first inspection our room was very clean, comfortable and acceptable, howver after going to the bathroom we dicovered that the toilet did not work, and had not been cleaned since the previous guest had stayed there.
I would never recommened that anyone stays at the Hotel Roma and i will be passing this to my friends. For £40 per person (4 in one room) I would advise no one to stay in this hotel. I am still awaiing my response from the tourism board

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank MaddenLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2007

We were on a stag night and due to stay in the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse. Upon arrival, they had no confirmation of our booking and had to find another hotel. After phoning several hotels, the one we finally got through as having availability was the Hotel Roma. The eight of us arrived hoping to be checking in to 3 twin rooms and a single. They were unable to accomodate this - instead they gave us 1 room on the top floor (room 12) which is the worst, smelliest room i have ever encountered, We were only in there 5 mins before having to go the shop to purchase 3 bottles of air freshner (even the apple smell failed to dampen the horrific smell!!!). The shower was not a shower - it was drips that evapourated by the time it would have touched your head. When the tap was turned on for the sink - the shower plug hole would bubble!! Room 2 (No. 29) was situated in a different block - despite the room not smelling - the toilet was broken and had not been fixed (or emptied of its content!!!!! The other room in comparison was luxury!! DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2006

We arrived at this hotel after a four hour car journey only to be told that our room would not be ready until after four pm.This was not a good start as we felt that having booked well in advance the room should at least have been ready on our arrival.The room left everything to be desired in the way of cleanliness.The carpet had not been vacuumed and the vinyl floor in the bathroom had obviously not been mopped for some time as there was a considerable layer of dust around the sides and the outside of the toilet was grubby and soiled.To cap it all we found one bedspread was actually damp and the other duvet cover was a grubby white with a lipstick stain.We asked on three separate occassions for the problems to be rectified.The damp bedspread was replaced fairly promptly but the bedroom was not properly hoovered and the bathroom floor was ,after 2 days,given a cursory clean but this just meant the dust was pushed further to the sides.I cleaned the toilet area myself with disinfectant and anti-bacterial wipes as there seemed to be no hope of any domestic input from the hotel.The carpet in the entrance hall and stairs leading to our room had not seen a vacuum cleaner for a considerable time judging by the very visible dust and grime.We were totally unimpressed by this hotel and will not stay there again.It is a real shame because the location is really ideal and there is room to park the car which is a real bonus in Chester.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DGMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2006

On our arrival we were shocked by the poor standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel. The stairs did not look like they had seen a hoover this side of the millenium and the rooms were covered in dust. We hired three rooms, two of which were decent in size, although the furnishings and decor in all the rooms were well overdue a refurbishment.
The hot water tap in one of the rooms did not work. When this fault was highlighted, an apology was received. The mattress on one of the beds in this room had a hugh indentation, resulting in an comfortable night sleep.
On a positive note, the hotel is in an excellent location and the breakfast, albiet early, was very good. The hotel's restaurant was our saviour for our evening meal, after having an abysmal experience at the Italian "Vitos" (a few doors down from the hotel.) I strongly recommend, that should you be visiting Chester you avoid eating here. We had to walk out disgusted and violated by the way we were treated.
To summarise, if you are looking for a centrally located hotel and are unphased by a bit of dust and dated furnishing, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank FeFe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2006

Hello,
We had a meal at this hotel on a previous trip and it was so so.
My girlfriend thought the location was good and suggested next time in chester we would stay there ,i emailed booked 72 pounds a night etc.We arrived on saturday were given the key told to go to the car park eventually found an extension with rooms ,it was more than grubby much more went back they showed me another room it was more tired than the first so we left with nowhere to stay the day before the races ,
we would have prefered to stay outside luckily after trying 3 hotels found one near the station was ok "and clean" we laughed about it ,it is a dive one of the worst hotels ever to be called a hotel and i've stayed in a few.
Avoid it stay anywhere else YMCA if need be but if you can live with grubby stained sheets laminate bathrooms and wrinkled filthy carpet ,enjoy :-)

Stayed: July 2006
5  Thank homer.sim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Windsor U.K.
12
Reviewed July 13, 2006

We booked in last minute for the weekend, then read the reviews and were somewhat discouraged! We were pleasantly surprised at the staff, the accommodation and the food. The staff were friendly and helpful - we booked out on the Sunday and asked about where to park the car for the rest of the day - leave it here we were told - no charge! The food though not cheap was excellent and I have never seen so much drawer space in a hotel double room! All in all well pleased - I have a feeling we'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#19 of 45 in Chester
298 reviews
6.7 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
5.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarvin
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
403 reviews
8.6 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The D Hotel Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The D Hotel Chester

Address: 51 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England (Formerly Chester Bridge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $56 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The D Hotel Chester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The D Hotel Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing