We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informative and fun, whatever the weather” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Sightseeing Chester

City Sightseeing Chester
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.97*
and up
City Sightseeing Chester Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #5 of 19 Tours in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Walsall, West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Informative and fun, whatever the weather”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

My sister and her partner found out new information about Chester and short-cuts that they had not seen before, even though they have lived in Chester for five years. We intended to take the Vintage Bus tour but felt very let down when we arrived at the stop to find the tour advertised and the bus waiting, only to be told that the bus was not running because it was hired out for a wedding. We were glad that we decided to take the City Sightseeing Tour (big red bus to my three-year old nephew) as it was great fun and really informative. We took a combined bus and boat tour and feel that the live guide on the bus was much better than the recorded commentary on the boat tour. The guides swapped over during the bus tour and it was interesting to hear that they brought their individual experience and local knowledge to their commentary which makes it far more interesting and different every time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    39
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A unique shopping experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Chester has a number of covered walkways on two levels, "the rows". A number of boutique shops on two levels. Worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Past and present in harmony”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Chester City must be one of England's most beautiful cities with a wealth of things to see and do. History sits comfortably with the modern trappings and visitors will adore the historic Roman walls, remains of amphitheatres, archaeological digs, cloisters and Tudor buildings - including the famous 'rows' where modern shops abound. There are plenty of places to eat and coffee shops and tea rooms to please your rumbling tummy.
Beyond the city is Chester Zoo which is exceptionally good: Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet which can easily eat up a good half day, plus your money, if bargain hunting is for you; for both of these a car is essential for access. The River Dee can be found in walking distance from the city walls and is lined with bars etc or you could buy a loaf of bread and feed the swans and ducks or you may like to take a boat trip, but be warned it isn't cheap! There are many hotels to choose from within the city or just outside if you want to spend a few days taking in the sights. It has become a favourite destination for me for a wander and a coffee as I live within 15 miles now.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wished I had done the walking tour!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Having just done the Red Bus tour of Liverpool the day before (which was great) this was disappointing. A lot of the interesting buildings are within the pedestrianised area so the guide was often pointing out things that were in the distance. Felt like the tour had been put together just because Chester itself is lovely but it doesn't work well there.

Helpful?
2 Thank kernow20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“lots of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

the place is just stuffed with history so easy make a long weekend here
from the race course to the river
the modern shpping mall , to the old shops lots to see and do
great places to eat and drink too

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank chas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing Chester also viewed

 

Been to City Sightseeing Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing