We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly reccomend. Very attentive but not intrusive staff.”
Review of City Spice

City Spice
Ranked #172 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: http://www.chester.com/foodanddrinkdetails/377
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly reccomend. Very attentive but not intrusive staff.”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Was torn between this and a restaurant nearby. Chose City Spice. Was not dissapointed. Tasty food, great service and reasonable prices. Shall be returning next time i am in town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank markstables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    35
    12
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liberia, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful service, average food.”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We were left in a corner, waited over an hour and a half for our food without being spoken to, or even asked if we'd like to order more drinks. When we tried to ask about our food we were brushed away rudely and told 'it's coming'.... highly unimpressed. Brought it up to the manager who was the rudest of all and to make amends simply said 'I'll get you a drink' I said' its ok actually we'd just like to leave' so to cover our drinks (family of 4) he offered us a measley £4 off the bill. Honestly the worst service I've encountered in a popular tourist destination. Definitely not worth a visit- try the one next door!!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank RElgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food - careful with gluten free”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

First, they told me they have no gluten at all and then they offered me bread. When asked what type of bread they told me no gluten just "flour". Obviously there was some confusion with what gluten free is if they are offering bread with "flour". It took time to explain that regular flour has gluten and that gluten is not an ingredient added to food. If you are willing to explain what gluten free is I recommend the place, if you are not in the mood to explain, skip it. It has good food and they do their best to help (even when they think they know).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Diaa32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful service, mediocre food”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Ordered a takeaway from City Spice which arrived missing items, when called to complain the staff member was rude and surly and denied all knowledge, saying that we hadn't ordered the items. We had obviously paid for them, seems a good way to make a bit of extra money.
The food was nothing special, there are much better Indian Restaurants in the area, I would save your money if I was you.

Helpful?
2 Thank Chester_girl_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Still the best in Chester”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Yet again a great meal from City spice.
As usual an excellent curry.
Top quality service.
Good value.
Red Sauce is brilliant.
The Chef is fantastic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Spice also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to City Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing