We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal again”
Review of City Spice

City Spice
Ranked #172 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: http://www.chester.com/foodanddrinkdetails/377
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent meal again”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Yet again City Spice delivers a high quality meal that most others can't come close too. I had a tandoori chicken with a madras sauce and it was excellent. The Barji starter was great. As usual the red sauce for the popadoms is lovely. The staff as so friendly and helpful.

Beware, some of the negative reviews are clearly written by the competition. Looking at where they have reviewed it's clear to see they are not genuine reviewers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    35
    12
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“RAY KIDD”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wentt here on a visit from Liverpool .Noticed the afternoon deal outside.Starter and main for£9.Have been to many a Indian restaurant over 30 odd years but can honestly say this is the best food iv'e had.Fresh with amazing flavour.My favorite is tandoori chicken and there's is in a league of its own.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluerayliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Called here last night with our son, he had been here a few times and recommended it. The onion bhagies were good, not oily. I had Kashmiri chicken, son and husband had chicken Jalfresie. All of us said we enjoyed the meals and would come again. The waiters were very attentive and friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank evilcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I been to the restaurant on Friday 14 June and the service was very good even 2 people was there and served drinks and food in right time. The food was very good as well. I will visit again soon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John_hallmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Food poisoning alert!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Awful experience tonight! The food was not fresh. Sliced sausages served up as kofta. Very very oily food that caused heartburn. Whoever runs the place is not interested in providing a good service just making a quick pound! The staff refused to offer us anything else when we told them we couldn't eat the food. It would have been the decent thing to do. Instead they maintained that the food was fresh when it clearly wasn't.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank indiansaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Spice also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to City Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing