We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding value and tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Atina Kitchen

Atina Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Atina Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 554 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoying & sharing great food, drink & conversation with family, friends & even strangers (at times) is where we take our influence from. It's how we grew up. Although our roots are firmly in Italian cooking techniques, we love all cuisines & cooking styles at Atina Kitchen & this is reflected throughout our menus.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding value and tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited with some old work colleagues (Trudy and Emma) for a chat and catch up in Relaxing atmosphere but the food has to take the spot light as some of the best food eaten out for a while. Will definitely call again to good not to and the value just added to the night.
PS the trifle was a nice treat at the end of a excellent meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffè A, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
So pleased to hear you had an enjoyable evening with us at Atina! We have just launched our spring menus...hope to see you again soon ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    95
    23
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Our visit for Sunday lunch was our first to Caffe Atina. I ordered the manwich, my wife the steak sandwich, and pizza for our son.

The food was great and the service quick and attentive.

On ordering our food we asked if the offer of a free childs meal during half term still applied as per the flyer on the table with the menus. The waitress checked and came back to confirm it did. On receiving our bill we were disappointed to see we'd been charged for this. Hopefully just a mistake and quicly corrected.

This didn't detract from what was a nice meal with big portions, in pleasant surroundings. I'm sure we'll return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mallory52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffè A, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi, thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your time at Atina and the small issue you had was quickly resolved. See you again soon ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Popped in for soup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

It is amazing that when you are walking around looking for an independent cafe which isn't one of the over priced chains it can be quite hard to find therefore this place was a welcome find. Just wanted soup and a cup of tea. Lovley service and nice place. Can't comment on the rest of the menu but the coup was perfect

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Wiced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffè A, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. See you again soon ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A tasty breakfast had.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

First time here and had a lovely breakfast. The service was very good.
It would be nice to see on this menue and others locally sourced produce.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mexicanlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffè A, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review!

I couldn't quite make out if you would like to see more local produce on the menu or were saying it was good to see local produce on the menu.
If it is the latter, we do use local produce where we can. Our suppliers are all local or within the Northwest, from our eggs from down the road in Huxley or to our bread from our artisan bakers just outside Liverpool, that gets delivered daily.

Hope to see you back at Atina soon, maybe book an evening meal :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Caffe Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was up in Chester last month visiting my daughter, and chanced upon this gem of a cafe/restaurant. Tried the Eggs Benedict, one of those deceptively difficult benchmark dishes I've enjoyed all over, but particularly the US, where it's a staple item (I travel a lot, including fancy hotels). It was excellent, as was the attentive and friendly service. I was there for some while, another latte, reading the Kindle, a stressless environment. Pass with merit, then.

Noticing they had a Burns Night supper offer the next night, I convinced my daughter and her partner we ought to try it, so on that very snowy night we trooped in for an excellent supper - a tasty modern take of haggis, neeps and tatties with a wee dram thrown in (that's the spirit). Pass with distinction!

I don't often write these things, but this place was so good, so I thought it was time to share the experience, with a bit o' Burns to boot:

"O wad the gift the giftie gie us, to see oursel' as others see us"?

A review by: Dr. Thomas (no, not Scottish, Welsh!)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffè A, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi, thank you for your kind & entertaining review. Really glad you had a great time on both your visits to Atina. See you again soon! ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atina Kitchen also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Atina Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing