We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always enjoyable”
Review of Atina Kitchen

Atina Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Atina Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enjoying & sharing great food, drink & conversation with family, friends & even strangers (at times) is where we take our influence from. It's how we grew up. Although our roots are firmly in Italian cooking techniques, we love all cuisines & cooking styles at Atina Kitchen & this is reflected throughout our menus.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Have eaten here several times now - both food and service have always been excellent and reasonably priced. Menu always has excellent standard dishes plus several interesting options for the more adventurous. It's sometimes a bit quiet in the evenings, probably because of the location, but don't let that put you off - and it's also a good call if you need a last minute booking on a Saturday night! One of our favourite places to eat in Chester.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffè A, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you, glad you always enjoy your time with us! See you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    100
    24
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Pleasant Meal but Nothing Spectacular”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We called in to Caffe Atina at about 7.30pm on a Saturday evening, and had the whole restaurant to ourselves. This was a worry, as we had just come from another establishment nearby which was full and could not accommodate us.

We ordered vegetarian dishes for ourselves, and our little one had cheese & tomato pizza with chips (alas all too often, chips are served as children's meals...not really a healthy option). The mushroom and thyme soup was very tasty, made from fresh ingredients and generally wholesome. The main courses (vegetarian lasagne and spinach & lemon risotto, and indeed the pizza slices) were ok but nothing to get too excited about.

Apparently the menu changes seasonally and had just changed that day, so the waitress could not advise on the new dishes (such as the risotto). The excessive lemon in the risotto was overpowering and took away any of the flavour generated by the other ingredients. For a family-run restaurant such as this, I would expect everyone to be involved with deciding on and sampling menu changes, so that customers can be given full information on each of the dishes by the waiting staff.

I suspect, based on the other reviews, that some menu items are made very well, and customers are impressed by them. However, to move from being average to excellent, every item on the menu must be worthy of praise. Our experience is that the soup was good, but some main dishes are average at best, and this is not really encouraging for an independent family restaurant.

This view is borne out by the total lack of customers on what should be the busiest night of the week; one other couple came in during the latter part of our meal. Perhaps a greater focus on traditional Italian flavours and dishes would provide diners with a more enjoyable, authentic Mediterranean experience.

Helpful?
Thank Techexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffè A, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Sorry you didn't enjoy your time at Atina.

As an independent restaurant it is difficult to get your name 'out there' especially in the quiet month of January, so can only apologise about the lack of other diners...

You can have salad, apple slices OR chips with the children's meal...
We didn't receive any feedback from you about the risotto dish on the night unfortunately so couldn't attempt to rectify any issues you had with your meal...i'm glad you enjoyed the soup though.
If you go to our website or facebook page you will be able to read about where the influence for our food comes from...its not all about Italian & mediterranean flavors at Atina.

Many of our customers enjoy or food and service but sometimes we cannot please everyone so I can only apologise.

The Atina team hope you do try us again in the future and you will thoroughly enjoy your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely night out”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I took a trip around North Wales and the North West. Our stay in Chester was greatly enhanced by finding Caffe Atina. We had the fixed price menu with a glass of prosecco. The atmosphere was just perfect; relaxed, friendly yet efficient. The food was delicious and it was remarkable value for money. We hadn't been there before, but we would gladly return the next time we are in Chester.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffè A, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Hope to see you again on your next trip ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always great!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We've eaten here for years and have never been disappointed. Generous portions of delicious food, excellent, friendly service and great value.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffè A, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarleton
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good value small restaurant near Chester centre”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had a perfect fixed price meal ;3 courses Prosecco all for £24 each. Good choice on the menu, efficient service and all prepared freshly. A pleasant family atmosphere with adults of all age ranges and some children.Attentive and chatty staff.Try the sea bass it was divine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris4julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffè A, Owner at Atina Kitchen, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks you! Always great to pass on great feedback to the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atina Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Atina Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing