We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with friends (but with better cooking!)”
Review of Greenlooms Cottage

Greenlooms Cottage
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenlooms Cottage
Ranked #47 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just a lovely stay. We were travelling with our 7 month old son, and Peter and Deborah couldn't have been more helpful - poviding a cot and high-chair and being very patient with ever shifting meal times and a fair bit of baby mess. The warmth of the welcome here is outstanding - you sit down to a superbly cooked dinner or breakfast and feel you are catching up with old friends. Rooms are cosy and having access to your own little lounge is very useful too. Peter even helped us jump start our car in the morning after the battery ran flat overnight.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tayls77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The bed was warm and cosy and we might have slept in longer if we didn't want to get up and spend more time with Deborah and Peter. They made you feel right at home, almost part of the family! Chatting with them over a tasty cooked breakfast was one of the best memories of our visit. Poached eggs were perfect, home made lemon marmalade was delightful. Deborah cooked a lovely meal the night we arrived (I shall add celeriac gratin and roast beef to my own menus!) and it was complimented with very tasty wine.
The location was convenient for our excursions to The Wirral and North Wales. Port Sunlight alone was worth the visit!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This delightful B&B is an eclectic mix of french farmhouse, kentish farm and tumbledown cottage from our childhoods. Deborah and Peter are fantastic hosts who could not do enough for us. We arrived late, and they had held dinner, lovely roast chicken and all the trimmings, delicious puddings, but I thought a tad expensive, althought there is no where else to eat within a few miles.
The bedroom was very comfortable with lovely cotton bedding, comfortable beds and a large wet room.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a really relaxing break with superb hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nolongerreviewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We would highly recommended this B&B. It is in the beautifully restored home of Deborah and Peter two remarkable people who made us welcome but were wonderfully interesting and eccentric in the nicest possible way....it takes one to know one.
Our room was lovely and overlooked gardens at the front and back. It had a wet room and deliciously luxurious down quilt and pillows in soft soft cotton.In the guest sitting room there was the most exquisite art deco fire. In the gardens are two wonderful wooden creations created by Peter.
I can honestly say it was one of the best and memorable Sunday breakfasts ever. It was served in Deborah and Peters kitchen, a veritable hive of activity. Jars of home made preserve, my introduction to quince jelly. Porridge, eggs (however you wanted them), bacon , sausage etc all cooked to perfection in this country cottage kitchen.....the conversation was equally satisfying.There are two castles and Chester nearby and the Cheshire Plain is perfect for exploring by bike. We shall return.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms. A double and a twin. We had the beds pushed together in the twin which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManchesterSango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

The cottage lights glowed invitingly when we turned into the driveway. Deborah came out to greet us and showed us to our rooms. After we distributed ourselves and baggages in the rooms, Deborah told us "dinner in ten mins" and we caught up with news and papers in a cosy lounge before going through to eat with Deborah and Peter in their lovely kitchen. What a glorious dinner, succulent roast pork with shards of crackling and a delicious compote of spiced apples and all the rest! A more than decent Rioja and organic free range conversation.
As titled, a truly wonderful stp for pudding that makes me drool at the thought; so light, so delicious. Coffee and then off to very comfortable room, fresh and cosy with a bed that had a really good mattress. Great sleep!
Next morning, after shower, back downstairs for breakfast of scrambled eggs, toast and ashet of bacon and mushrooms. Really good coffee, freshly squeezed orange and cereals, cherry compote and yogurt before heading on our way, rested and restored.
Other important points, lots of lovely books available and really good reading lights next to the bed, simple shower gel in shower, lovely thick towels.
Deborah and Peter were lovely hosts, I hope that you enjoy this as much as we did!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
3.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
421 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,434 reviews
6.8 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarvin
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenlooms Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenlooms Cottage

Address: Greenlooms Martins Lane | Hargrave, Chester CH3 7RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Greenlooms Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing