We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay in Chester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the very warm and friendly staff.

The hotel is period, so if you are expecting high tech and super modern this may not be for you.

The restaurant food was very good, slightly pricey but worth at least one visit.

The rooms were adequate for a short stay. Everything you could possibly need was supplied and the water bottle was a lovely touch as were the chocolate brownies on arrival.

One thing: no draught beer in the bar!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hoofergp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Dear Hoofergp

Thank you for placing a review on trip advisor, we love to hear our guests feedback which helps us improve our offerings.

I was delighted to learn about the staff being warm and friendly and this will be shared in our staff meeting to which I know they will be very pleased to hear.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Macdonald New Blossoms hotel.

Kind Regards

Ian Griebenow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,313 - 1,319 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

This hotel was recommended to us by friends who have stayed here before and I now know why!
The hotel is right in the centre of Chester only steps away from the Main Street and all the local historic sights.
The room we stayed in was large, very clean and comfortable. We heard no noise in the evening that others have mentioned.
The Manager Ian warmly greeted us and took our bags to our room - a lovely gesture.
All the hotel staff seemed extremely friendly and helpful - Jennifer on reception was very knowledgeable on Chester's local history and provided us with lots of information.
We ate in the restaurant a couple of times - once in the evenings and once for breakfast both were freshly cooked and delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilverVoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Dear Silver Voices

Thank you for placing a review on trip advisor, hearing kind words like you have written is the ultimate reward working in the industry.

I have shared your comments with Jennifer, our chef and all the other staff who were delighted to hear.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Macdonald New Blossoms in the future.

Kind Regards

Ian Griebenow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit to this hotel in the last few months and I will definitely be returning again. Such friendly staff who always seem happy and willing to help ( such a refreshing change to some others I have stayed in)
The room once again was lovely and clean. The hotel is so close to the centre of chester you don't need to use your car.
I definitely recommend this hotel to any travellers to chester.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OllieDood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Dear OllieDood

Thank you for placing a review on trip advisor, we at the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel constantly work on out customer service and I delighted that this has paid off.

I have shared your feedback at our staff meeting and they were delighted to learn of your comments especially our housekeeping staff who take so much pride in their rooms.

Once again thank you for the kind words and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdoanld New Blossoms Hotel.

Kind Regards

Ian Griebenow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We thought the hotel room was average, clean and basic. The hotel is in the perfect position to visit Chester. We had our breakfast in the room, I can honestly say it is one of the worst breakfasts we have ever had. The bacon was so hard you couldn't cut it, the black pudding fried so much when you cut it it broke up into crumbs and the smell of old fat was overwhelming, the smell made you feel sick, so tray had to be placed outside the door immediately. Apart from that everything else was alright.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 347md196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Dear MD

Thank you for writing a review on trip advisor, we encourage all types of feedback to help improve our offerings.

I was dissapointed to learn of the breakfast quality, this is an area which Macdonald hotels pride itself in. I have discussed the matter with my head chef and food and Beverage manager who have both given me their commitment to perform immediate remedial training to ensure that the same situation will not reoccur.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss the matter further and I do hope we have the oppertunity to welcome you back to the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel.

Kind Regards

Ian Griebenow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The room was very small but it was beautifully decorated. The theme was carried throughout the hotel and really did look elegant. The staff where very friendly and helpful.
It was really clean .
Really close to the city centre. Its only literally takes less than a minute to walk to the high-street.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tasha a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Dear Tasha A

Thank you for writing a review on trip advisor, feedback is invaluable to us.

I would also like to thank you for your kind words regarding the staff who were delighted to hear. I understand your comments with regards to the size of your room, due to the age of our building all of our rooms differ in size and shape however as you have mentioned with the same theme of decoration.

I look forward to being able to have the oppertunity to welcome you back to the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel.

Kind regards

Ian Griebenow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed two nights for my partners birthday. The room and hotel is lovely, great central location (although noisy at night but what can you expect from a city centre)

During breakfast on the first day, my partner politely asked if there was an alternative butter for the toast as the butter they put on the table wasn't to his liking (i think it was unsalted, he thought it was margarine). So the waiter went off to the kitchen. The next thing the restaurant manager comes marching out the kitchen grabs the margarine off the buffet, throws it down onto the table and says the only choice is this or their expensive butter, he then proceeded to bring out the butter packet to show us from the kitchen, and talk to us in such an aggressive loud manner. It was so embarrassing, all the people on the other tables were starring. I'm not fussed about the butter at all, I mean really, who cares!! But I was mortified that he caused such a scene, for a simple answer to a simple question. I would expect a lot more professional service from a restaurant manager of a four star hotel. All the other staff were absolutely lovely. I felt so anxious about going down for breakfast the following day, who wants to stay in a hotel were you are made to feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LoztheLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Dear LunareB

I would like to thank you for writing a review on trip advisor, as our guest feedback is of the utmost importance to us.

I was very concerned to learn of your experience and I can fully appreciate your comments, I have tried to investigate the matter and I would welcome your imput further clarifying some points. I would like to apologise for the situation and that you were left to feel uncomfortable. I was however happy to learn of the costomer service from all the other staff.

I hope that we will have the oppertunity to welcomt you back to the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel.

Kind Regards

Ian Griebenow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Very nice little hotel with chester centre were you step outside and your in the city centre. staff were nice hotel was nice and clean. qiet and traditional with mice staircase. nice lounge and restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheHonestExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,747 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,535 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $98 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing