We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while on a business trip.

I phoned the hotel ahead a few days before hand as I wanted to get booked into some local fitness classes before & after work. The reception was very helpful & gave me a list of places I could contact.

I arrived earlier than check in allowed so concierge took my bags which allowed me to head straight to the office for a days work.

My room was on a corner which made it a funny shape but quite spacious. The bed was very comfortable & I slept great both nights.

The hotel location is right in the town centre with all the local shops, bars, restaurants & banks etc on your door step.

It took me about 10mins to walk from the station to the hotel.

The only draw back was the price of rooms service. I had a bowl of pasta with a side & once tray service was added it came to about £22- not including a drink!
i would recommend walking round the corner & going to waitrose or M&S.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,353 - 1,359 of 1,881 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Macdonald hotel for one night. The staff were all helpful and friendly. We had breakfast in the morning which was included in our booking, fantastic food!
It is in a great location just off the main street, although there isn't any parking there is a car park round the corner which was cheap, secure and close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrjorzuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Having just moved from one hotel of the Fawlty variety, this made a welcoming difference. And we arrived at Happy Hour for half-price cocktails. Just the start we needed for an evening of wall walking. This hotel, one of the oldest in town but full of 21st century comforts, is just a few yards from the clock tower entrance to the wall and just a short stroll to the river. Good-sized room and bathroom and a good breakfast, immaculately served.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryanedwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I took my partner here for some R&R. The hotel is located in the pedestrian zone in Chester centre and as such we couldn't find it at first due to road closed no access signs saying I couldn't go where the sat nav was sending me. Tell the wardens where you're going and they'll let you through the barriers. Checkin was ok but slow ( language barrier). The room was nice. Warm. Huge bathroom but a naff view of a roof covered in pidgeon guano. Water lukewarm. Didn't really see any staff except front desk. Instructions for the car park were not clear and as such we ended up in the expensive one. Good points are because it's in the pedestrian zone the shops are just outside. Plenty of nearby pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0798anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Tiniest bathroom. Knees touch the bath when you sit on the loo. Toilet didn't flush. View of a brick wall from the window A bit like prison with nice sheets cocktails £9.50 each. Dessert £8.50. Eat out!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vmcke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We booked via Late Rooms and had a third floor room. The lift was rather small but understandably in a hotel that was built in 1605!!! The room was PERFECTLY clean and of an adequate size. There were the usual amenities but a lovely touch was a welcome plate with a chocolate, small cake and a strawberry. We chose not to eat in the hotel but decided to visit the bar for a cocktail as it was 2 for 1. Although they were quite pricey the bar tenders made me a cocktail that wasn't on the menu. They were chatty and polite with nibbles on the tables. Beds were comfy, linen spotless and pillows super soft.
You have to park in a The Grosvenor Shopping centre and it is £10 for 24hours. At the hotel desk you pay for this and only pay £9. It is a struggle to get into collect your car before 11am so just ask the hotel staff.
One main let down was the night club on the street which attracted late night revellers. I'm glad I had ear plugs as late night stragglers were still waiting for taxis at 3:30am. It is to be expected in a city but it might be worth asking for a room on the main street.
The staff were very courteous and check in was faultless. We did have an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Lovely hotel staff really nice in particular thanks to Fern for making us so welcome and to pleasant and efficient breakfast staff. Couple of points down on the booking in......Given wrong directions to car park as a result was more expensive, given no breakfast times etc when booking in, on arrival at allocated room found this not room requested although this was very quickly changed for us but given no help with luggage which would have been nice even to have been offered.

Room Tip: Room at back of Hotel looked out on to a brick wall.......Room at front much nicer but be aware nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,701 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,135 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
781 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $100 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing