We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have just arrived back from 2 nights at the new blossom to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary, I cannot fault a single thing about this hotel, the location is perfect the beautiful town centre, river, bars, restaurants are on the doorstep, our room was beautiful, we stayed for bed breakfast and evening meal, the food was beautiful, I have never stayed anywhere with such friendly staff they made sure from the moment that we checked in to the moment we left that we were happy and enjoyed our stay, nothing was too much trouble, we were greeted with a beautiful plate of brownies and strawberries decorated with happy anniversary in chocolate on a plate, at dinner we received a complimentary course from the chef and a glass of champagne ,a huge thank you to all the staff for making our anniversary weekend just perfect, we will definitely be back xx

Room Tip: Front rooms can be quite noisy due to the surrounding bars but the double glazing does block out the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckiwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,872)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,351 - 1,357 of 1,872 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

My comments are based on the price I paid for the room.
Room very very small. I was told it was their cheapest package. Paid £130 plus an extra £10 each for breakfast. Room had recently been decorated but it had stains on carpet. Water marks down the wall and mould in the bathroom with the seal hanging off the shower divide. Bathroom exceptionally small. Shower head been replaced in a totally different metal. The noisiest extractor fan I've ever heard. 2 chocolates in our room with a quarter of 1 strawberry. Location fantastic. Right in the centre. Complained but only the same sort of room available

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jaynechad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

From the moment we arrived at Reception to checking out the next day we received smiling, helpful and courteous service from charming staff. We were most favourably impressed. They seemed to really want to help and for our stay to be a pleasant one.
We were also pleased with our room and the restaurant food was of good quality and nicely presented. Full marks all round well deserved.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at the New Blossoms Hotel on a busy Saturday night in Chester and the Hotel was also hosting a wedding party. Despite this, we were warmly welcomed and throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. All staff were welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Our room on the first floor was spacious with a comfortable seating area and the bathroom was larger than expected for an older building and well planned. The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was a real treat with plenty of choice including speciality bread, individual yogurts with compote and the cooked options were prepared freshly to order. I overhead a lady on the next table who was visiting from Ireland also raving about her stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VMLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Never visited Chester before. We stayed in the blossoms hotel great location in the centre of a first cc lass city. We travelled to Chester by train and arrived to find a beautiful hotel in Chester. The staff were very welcoming, spacious bedroom, very clean bathroom, tea and coffee. Comfortable bed. Wonderful breakfast every morning. The bar staff and facilities were a bonus. We have booked again later in the year to stay here again and have a flutter at Chester Races. The town is welcoming and there are some first class restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and had a very comfortable stay. We booked a suite which consisted of a bedroom with a four poster bed, separate lounge area which was very spacious and also had a TV (in addition to the one in the bedroom) and a bathroom which had both bath and shower. We booked using the hotel's own website and it cost less than £100 per night including breakfast which I thought was very reasonable.
There were some nice little extras in the room including the chocolates on arrival and the Nespresso coffee machine. However, it would have been nice to have some cotton wool and cotton wool buds as part of the bathroom toiletries.
I liked the fact that breakfast was ordered and freshly cooked unlike so many hotels these days where you have to queue up and help yourself to hot food that you don't know how long has been hanging around.
The hotel is right in the centre of Chester so everything is on your doorstep.
All in all I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

been here before, always a good stay, lovely hotel,excellent staff, had dinner both nights in the hotel, food was great, the sun was out, walked the walls, all in all a good weekend. recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter, rooms at the front overlook a night club
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clwyd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,687 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,120 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 44 in Chester
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $99 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing