We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Function but aged”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed here in a last minute deal when I was on a night out with work colleagues. It was functional and ok value for money but I would have been disappointed in it if I had been travelling with family as it could do with modernising but simply as a place for sleeping it was fine. Only part of the service that I was disappointed in was that I didn't get a receipt after pre-paying.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,380 - 1,386 of 1,894 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Together with some friends we stayed at this hotel for three nights over a long week-end, 28 Feb to 3 March. The hotel is well situated in the very centre of Chester, which was excellent for getting around the city centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is a very old building with all rooms unique. As a listed building they are unable to install air conditioning, but could do with secondary double glazing.

We'd read the previous reviews on Trip Advisor so took the precaution of phoning and asking for quiet rooms. Our rooms were on the first floor looking out over a building void. Our room (119) had a strange musty smell which persisted over the week-end. Our friend's room wasn't as bad. We also had the constant background overspill music from the Lush shop below during shopping times, but this went off at night. Our biggest issue was the en suite, which was tiny and very badly laid out. We had to squeeze between the open door and the wash basin to get in and knock our knees against the bath to sit on the loo. The hotel should replace the bath with a shower and reorganise the layout or only allow small slim guests to book into this room. In contrast our friends in 117 had a good sized bathroom and two windows, though they also got the Lush overspill music.

The breakfast was excellent and enjoyable with large variety and wonderful bread. We stayed in the hotel one night for dinner which was more ordinary. We opted for the set menu, which was a real disappointment to the vegetarians amongst us. Although the restaurant manager had previously suggested we could replace the three cheese gnocchi and beetroot relish with something else, the waitress on the night said no. We wanted some vegetables so had to order a side dish. We were a bit surprised to find the "seasonal green vegetables" consisted entirely of vegetables out of season. But eventually we did get some cabbage with our courgettes and calabrese. With hindsight we should have ordered from the a la carte. As vegetarians we do hate it when the vegetarian option does not include vegetables! So dinner was disappointing and below expectations.

Parking is not available on site, but you can get a discount at the Grosvenor centre car park through reception. We found we didn't need our cars over the week-end because there is so much to do in Chester. We had a very enjoyable week-end.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and check it doesn't smell and you can get into and out of the en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RuthandColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The new blossom hotel is one of the best hotels in Chester .I arrived a t at 9.30 am knowing I could not check in .so I arranged with the reception chap (Alex) for them to look after my bags while I went to Liverpool for the day. that was a great help thanks Alex .the hotel was spotless the .staff were very friendly and helpful all smiles .the food was 2nd to none .(now I know I say this on all my reviews but i am a fussy sod so when I say its good its good)the grand old staircase that greets you when you walk into the place makes you feel special as you walk down and up it.(could do with a red carpet for extra effect.)the hotel its self is in the centre of the village in johns street if you don't know Chester ask where is as Chester's a big place .if i had to mention members of staff who where above the call of duty then I think it would be unfair on the ones who I missed .there a great team and its a great hotel nice lift as well if like me you have a bad back and cant lift to many things up stairs..im now looking to returning to this hotel on day but next time it will be longer .thanks .all

Room Tip: look for the two market traders selling football stuff the take a left look for a window with steak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baggy4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We enjoyed a very comfortable 2 nights in this lovely old hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was not large but clean and comfortable had great character. Breakfast was very good. The coffee and croissants were delicious. It was a bit annoying that there was no parking but as it is in the centre of Chester this is not surprising.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

For the price you pay for it, it was brilliant! The beds were so comfy and the staff were very friendly. There was a great variety at breakfast and it was all delicious. The only fault I could find was the elevator was rather small - not big enough for 3 people plus luggage. Apart from that (which cannot really be helped) it was a wonderful weekend. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

A good, clean hotel in a central location however VERY loud noise from outside so really struggled to sleep, it really was constant so I wouldn't recommend it mainly for this reason. The hotel also lacks a car park and has a very expensive bar!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JD13Wolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the hotel as a Valentines treat. We were advised there was car parking. But this is on a multi storey car park a few streets away. We travelled light but it wouldn't have been ideal were this not the case. We unpacked and went for a snooze but struggled to sleep because of a very noisy family with children upstairs. We ate in the restaurant but were told when we arrived at 8.30 we were only just in time and they closed at 9pm. We felt uncomfortable. Before we had eaten starters the waiter came to take our plates away. We explained we hadn't finished. Food was lovely but pricey as were the drinks. On the plus side, although the room was very small, the bed was extremely comfortable. We explained at reception re the family upstairs and were told we could change if it was a problem later but hopefully the children would be asleep as they were going to the zoo in the morning! We slept OK during the night but unfortunately the family were up very early doors and consequently so were we! It would have been nice if the hotel and simiply offered immediately to change our room. Overall lovely hotel, had nice weekend but car park and restaurant let us down.

Room Tip: We didnt have a view but I think it was better than maybe a room overlooking the main street which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valente50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,732 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,485 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $93 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing