We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Chester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my wife for one night on the way back home from a short break in Scotland. The hotel is ideally situated as it is in the centre of the town so if you don't want to walk far to the shops and attractions then this is ideal. It's been a while since my last visit to Chester and must admit had forgotten just what a lovely city it is.
We found the reception staff to be very pleasant and helpful. The room we were given on the third floor was lovely. It was spacious, well appointed and comfortable. Previous contributors have commented on the noise and there was some from outside but nothing that spoilt our stay.
Breakfast was nice with efficient service.
Looking at the negatives then as there is no on site parking so this could be an issue for some people. We parked in a nearby shopping centre car park which was a bit of a hassle and cost £10

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulharrison58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    540
    334
    159
    103
See reviews for
161
1,078
38
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have stayed here on a number of occasions ...each time there has been a problem to do with noise of one sort or another but as it is now the New Blossoms I gave it another chance because it is the only hotel in the City walls that is not ridiculously expensive. Still drab, a dirty bathroom and still noisy. The bar wasn't open until we found the barman to open up (we were not the only customers).We will not return again

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank climber92013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were quite pleased with the location of this hotel but a bit disappointed with the rooms, both public and private. The staff at the desk was good, and food service was pretty nice, but the whole facility is tired and "off." Service in the bar was incredibly slow. The elevator was literally the smallest public elevator I've ever seen--two person capacity. We resorted to the stairs, but that was a hike. Our room was an odd mix of upscale and not: lovely drapes and ratty carpet. Very up-to-date bathroom tile with mildew in the corner. We were on the back of the third floor, so there was no noise, but also no view. Wi-fi was free, but only worked in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

the hotel cost us £160.00 per night - room only but at it was a special occasion decided to stay somewhere of high class - that's a joke.

there was noise from the local night clubs all night until 4am. The one night club was under the actual hotel and the noise was terrible it kept us awake all night, we had the window open as it was summer and we were unable to close these sue to them being brocken.

the TV had 4 channels and 2 of these were the same and the picture was very poor.
the shower - the water was hot one minute and cold the next.
the only thing that was nice was the actual bed.

Room Tip: don't book at this hotel unless you don't want any sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alison t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badgworth
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel on a Sunday night and our welcome was very positive, we were shown to a lovely suite at the top of the building, which was spacious. It was very clean, but had scaffolding outside the windows, which spoilt any view we may have had. We dined at the restaurant, which I would say was adequate, however our waitress was excellent and nothing was too much trouble.
From about 12.45 a.m. we were kept awake by loud noises and obvious drunken behaviour right outside the hotel and underneath our window, this must have continued until 4.45 when the group must have stumbled elsewhere.

We were asked if we had a pleasant stay the next morning and I have to say we told the receptionist that we were not happy as we had not slept at all and asked to see the Manager.

The Manager duly arrived, we explained the situation and he had obviously had this problem before as he mentioned it had been highlighted to the Police previously. The Hotel is a lovely one and the staff good, however it was known that at the weekend there would be a lot of noise outside the Hotel until morning from customers of a pub closeby and this should influence the positioning of guests away from the road. Having said that the Manager reduced our bill as a goodwill gesture, but this did not help with our tiredness the following day.

I would stress that this Hotel is very noisy on Saturday (apparently) and Sunday nights so ask for a room away from the road

Room Tip: see above for choice of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxBadgworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights for our anniversary weekend, the hotel is quite tired in places and the room we had was no more than average especially at £147 a night for b&b.
we had no bath, I found this disappointing and our room over looked the Main Street and was noisy on a Saturday night and the market man setting up his stall shouting at 7am on a Sunday morning was not much fun!
I the plus side fab location for shopping, restaurants, etc. we wouldn't stay here again but would come back to Chester and stay out of city a bit!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fudge6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for my 7th wedding anniversary. Unfortunately whilst we were there someone had helped themselves to my wifes Boots Advantage card, which was in her purse.
Not only did they take the card but they actually went to the Boots store at the Foregate and purchased some items to the total of £10.40!!! Wiping the card entirely of its points! Quite unbelievable!!!
I have stayed in various hotels around the world and have never experienced anything like this before.
We have contacted the hotel directly and are still waiting for their response.
I know it wasnt a large amount of money that was taken but it is the principle. Even if someone had found the card in room, surely it should have been handed in to reception not used.
It certainly has spoilt our Anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAZA MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Blossoms, General Manager at Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on trip advisor following your recent stay at the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel. Delivering the highest standards of service to all our guests is at the heart of our core values. As a Company, we always welcome feedback both positive and negative as this allows us to assess whether our guest’s expectations have been met, and would like to thank you for assisting.

As discussed we have read the lock and discovered that the only key used in the lock over the time scale you provided was the guest key you we given upon arrival. I have also welcomed the fact that you have mentioned that you have reported the matter to the police, we will support them fully in their investigaton.

Should you wish to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Kind Regards
Ian Griebenow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Property: Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing