We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Missed the last train back to wales so was forced to find a hotel for the night. Having tried the Travelodge found this hotel. They didn't have a standard room available so I had to take a suite. The room was of high quality, lovely furnishings and a four poster bed too!. The service was good and the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    557
    349
    175
    111
See reviews for
171
1,115
40
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Good location right in centre of Chester. Helpful reception but no mention of discount on parking which we discovered when checking out because people checking out in front asked about it & a reviewer on tripadvisor had mentioned it. Parking in multi storey at nearby shopping centre. Room small & at front of hotel - secondary double glazing kept most of noise out but there was a crack in one of the outer panes of the window. Biggest let down for us was that we'd expected to have breakfast in restaurant but were taken to a conference room off the lounge and had to sit at a large round table with strangers & we felt like naughty schoolchildren being taken to see the headmaster! We were latish down for breakfast but were down before the 10.30 cut off. Breakfast was hurried although staff were helpful enough - my partner ordered poached egg on toast but only got the poached eggs. When he mentioned this the waitress said would sir like chef to make some toast (the implication being 'before he goes home')? Very fawlty towers!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is right in the heart of downtown Chester and great for seeing the sights. Rooms were clean and comfortable however no air conditioners. We were in Chester during the heat wave in July 2013 and the room was very hot. Service was good, all hotel staff very friendly. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant as expensive. Try some of the local pubs, great food and lively surroundings. Careful what room you take as we were right above the hotel's pub, Red Door and were kept awake till past 2 a couple of nights with all the loud people standing outside the pub. Chester is a great place to visit. We plan on visiting again but would pick a different hotel.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room above the Red Door Pub which is open only in the evening...too much noise espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A great location in the centre of Chester. Staff very pleasant and helpful. If however, you have a disability, be aware of the many steps to your room. LIghting is dim throughout the hotel and the decor is totally depressing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Location, Location, Location, This Hotel is situated right in the Centre of the Town, Service & Food are Good, Rooms are clean, comfortable & functional. There is free Wi-Fi, albeit you have to collect a Metre long connection cable from Reception, the downside of this is you can only use your Laptop within a metre of the Wi-Fi Socket, located in our Room by the desk. We ate in the Restaurant on the One Evening of our Stay & had Room Service the Other, both Meals were Very Good, as Indeed was the Breakfast - my wife tells me McDonalds do the Best Scrambled Egg off any Hotel Chain we've stayed with, so kudos to them
On this visit we had a Room at the back of the Hotel, which was 'quiet' previous visit we had a Room at the front which overlooks the Pedestrian Roadway, there was some noise that Night from passing revellers. Whilst the Hotel doesn't have a Car Park they do have an 'arrangement' with a local Car Park so you get a preferential rate for your Stay
By way of a Tip, if you have a couple of Hours to spare, take a stroll down to the nearby River, go on One of the River Dee Cruises & then have Lunch in One of the numerous Bar Restaurants along the River side

Room Tip: If you want a 'Quieter Room' ask for One at the Back of the Hotel. While we were there, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidCraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very well located, hotel was clean, historically fitted, we had a room with a view, found out the hard was that it was double glazed, noisy first night, but sound proof with the double glazing!! Staff were very helpful, changed our room to a higher one with no hesitation, only issue was there was no Internet in room, but available downstairs in the foyer!!!

Room Tip: Would stay here again!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moxa1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a gorgeous room with a complimentary tea tray, plenty of tea and coffee. The room was large, clean and very quiet. The bed was massive and very comfortable especially the pillows. We were on a room only basis so didn't eat at the hotel. Staff very friendly and the hotel is just a stones throw from the centre of Chester. Extra touches in the room are trouser press, iron and ironing board there was also a large fan which was handy as the room was warm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,613 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#20 of 44 in Chester
2,056 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,077 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Property: Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing