We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another excellent stay”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have stayed here before at the same time last year and i booked an executive suite as there was only £40 difference, it was worth the extra. The suite had lots of room and a seperate sitting area. there was a queen sized bed and although we could here a little noise from late night revellers, it didn't wake us as we were at the back of the building. The staff were completely attentive to our needs and changed my room from a romantic 4 poster double bedded suite to a queen bedded suite at 2 minutes notice (I know were friends but we need a bit of room between us in the bed :-)) The bed was soft and squashy and very comfy pillows, complimentary water, tea coffee in the room as well as slippers and fluffy robes to use. Nothing was too much trouble, we dined out at la tasca a fabulous spanish resteraunt 5 minutes walk away and had breakfast at the hotel which was included in our package, the full english breakfast is lovely, the black pudding is fabulous !! not a bit of fat in it. They held onto our bags for us while we shopped and we nipped back for our aftenoon tea with scones and clotted cream which we should have had the day before but we asked to have it on our day of departure. I couldnt recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Its worth paying that little bit extra for the suite if you want a little more space and luxury and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0tsuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    557
    349
    175
    111
See reviews for
171
1,115
40
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I first stayed at this lovely central hotel in 2012 with my partner for a night away. The hotel is in a great location, you just step out of the front door and find yourself instantly in the heart of the city amongst great Restaurant's & Bar's. I have just re-visited with 9 friends weekend 5 April 2013 for a girly weekend and to say we were a large group the hotel staff were fantastic - each morning they had reserved a large table for us in the breakfast room and the service was still excellent. The Macdonald signature breakfast was delicious as always. The bedrooms are traditional and have a lovely cosy feel about them. I would definately recommend if you're visiting Chester, a lovely hotel in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great Staff great hotel, Could not fault it would highly recommend it for all ages and all trips. staff really could not do enough for you and i will definetly return. Eveniing meal was brillaint and thoroughly enjoyed, as was the breaksfast in the morning. We stayed in the rose suite and this was worth the upgrade. We did not drive though so i cannot comment on parking

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just come back from a night in Chester. It is in a brilliant location slap bang in the middle of a very beautiful town.

I travelled up to Chester on business and our whole group was very well looked after by the staff. It is very close to lots of bars and restaurants.

My room was comfortable and well appointed and the food, both for dinner and lunch was very good.

I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to visit Chester.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffa1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

For me Macdonald Hotels are a preferred place to stay. I note some people have complained on this site regarding the noise from the city centre especially at weekends. Its not the hotels fault and you must consider this if you wish to stay centrally in Chester as with any other city as you will most certainly have noise. If you want total silence then its the countryside for you. New Blossoms is a presentable hotel with friendly and efficient staff, I would agree that the room we stayed in is looking a little tired and the bathroom could do with an update. THERE IS NO NIGHTCLUB BENEATH THE HOTEL There is a cocktail bar which does play music but it could not be heard in the Hotel when we stayed there. Breakfast is excellent standard. We will most certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Back facing are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeforliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Paid for my parents to stay here overnight for their 50th wedding anniversary,they were disappointed.
Greeted by a rude receptionist,had to swap rooms at 1am due to a noisy radiator,then were accused of making it up!!
No atmosphere in bar/lounge.
Definitely not a 4 star hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

we have just got back from a weekend at the Macdonald New Blossom hotel, I booked this hotel after hearing good things about Macdonalds Hotels in general and the location was right in the centre of Chester. The location however turned out to be the only good thing about our stay at the hotel.On arrival the hotel looked the part from the outside but the inside was very tired and dated. The room we were given was very small and cramped the bathroom was ridiculously small, both nights we were there we were kept awake by the very loud music being played at a nightclub situated directly under the Hotel.
We complained about this only to be told that a lot of people had complained about the loud music and that 9 out of 10 people who stay in room 110 (our room) don't complain of the noise.
for the money this place charges i would expect better quality, definitely 2/3 star nowhere near being a 4 star. we have stayed in far better hotels for half the cost and much higher standard.
Car parking was £24 on top of the hotel cost which made it quite an expensive couple of days, will never stay there again

Room Tip: if you get room 110, ask to change immidiately
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,613 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#20 of 44 in Chester
2,056 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,077 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Property: Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing