We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient,very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed December 21, 2012

So convenient for Chester city centre.Very well placed and comfortable hotel-parking not so convenient and very pricey!!
Rooms large with excellent facilities
Breakfast time-not well organised-having to sit in bar area to wait for tables and then when finally seated-staff,running around,complaining to each other loudly-very unorganized and very unprofessional!

It would also have good been a good idea to warn residents about the fire alarm practice Friday mornings!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sttimmj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,526 - 1,532 of 1,880 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

You could not wish for a better location in Chester as it is just off the main street. The only down side is they do not have a car park. I thought the staff were very pleasant and the breakfast of a good quality. I had read the reviews about noise before we went and were very relieved when our bedroom overlooked the back of the hotel. No view but we had peace and quiet! The bedrooms were in need of reburbishment and were more 3 star than 4. I would stay there again, if only for the location, but would request a room at the back!

Room Tip: Definitely a room overlooking the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicheleK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Car park is a good walk away and you have to pay £10 for the privilege! Then the receptionist was on the phone making herself a reservation and we were kept waiting for her to finish her call to check in. Reception took ages to answer phone on a few occasions. Obviously guests are not important. Food wasn't as good as other Macdonalds we have stayed at. Bar and restaurant staff were very friendly and attentive in the evening though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were going away for the weekend for my sisters birthday. There were 9 of us in total including children. The idea was to surprise her by arriving early as she did not know we were going. When it was time for us to gather before she arrive we were helped out by a very attentive and friendly member of staff called Gabriel. He sorted us out with a room were we were allowed to pop some posters up and sorted us out with drinks.
The hotel rooms were lovely , and the food at the restaurant was fantastic.
The best service was to come at breakfast. They had set up a table ready for us at breakfast. We were served by Gabriel again who could not do any more for us. Breakfast was a cold buffet and then a choice of cooked breakfast to order.
All in all I could not fault the service and welcome we received from this hotel and will enjoy coming back in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel for our Anniversary, the hotel location is ideal to explore Chester. The hotel room was a bit dated but ok, breakfast was very good. Our package included evening meals, the food was ok, due to the location there was loads of very nice restaurants on the doorstep so I wouldn't have the evening meal option again.

the staff weren't that helpful, most of them look like they'd rather be somewhere else and didnt make us feel welcome.

I would stay here again but would look for a deal

Other stuff
You have to pay for Wifi
Rooms are noisy, vibration, staff banging doors
No draft BEER !!! only sell bottles
Hotel is very warm, to warm
No parking, nightmare, you have to park down the road

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

The room:

A well presented room, exceeding clean and tidy greeted me upon arrival. The usual refreshments were available to me along with a nice addition -a teapot!

The room was perhaps a little small, but how much room does one person really need. The bed dominated the room but was comfortable with plenty of pillows.

The TV as some have mentioned in the reviews was a bit hit and miss, but I'm not here to watch TV or gaze out of a window!

Nice to have the iron and ironing board in your room, what would have been nicer is a steam iron. The puny thing supplied couldn't cut the mustard when it came to crease removal. Even travelodge have steam irons!

Bathroom

The bathroom was spotless, spacious and well lit.

The usual bits and bobs were in there and there were plenty of towels.


Location:

Slap bang in the middle of the city centre, close to all the shops and entertainment.

It's probably not the most car friendly of hotels, but there is parking nearby. I came on the train and it was only a 10 min walk from the station, however if you dont fancy the walk, there is a shuttle bus that drops you off close to the hotel.

Noise:

I stayed at the back of the hotel and there was no noise whatsoever. I imagine the front would be a different story.

Staff:

Well mannered, pleasant, attentive and professional. Thanks to Kamilla on reception who was superb.

Overall:

True, it is a bit of a maze with the corridors but this is a building with a lot of history. Yes the lift is small, but it's not a problem. Yes, there may be some noise, but this is a city centre hotel.

If you are here for shopping or leisure, i recommend it highly as a perfect base.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slidingbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Ideal location for christmas shopping in Chester as only 2 minutes away on foot. A warm welcome and a lovely room. Didn't eat in the hotel as preferred to sample the city's many restaurants on offer. Clean & tidy but bar prices very expensive unfortunately so only had the one drink.
The only other negative point was the parking which was in the Grosvenor shopping centre and not ideally located as difficult to find the hotel at checkout due to the one way system.

Room Tip: Make sure you mention if a special occasion as they will find you a better room and provide a treat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,699 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,134 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
781 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $100 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing