We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$121
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ABode Chester(Chester)
$141
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$148
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$208
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$88
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$106
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Oddfellows(Chester)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$177
$146
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,961)
Filter reviews
1,961 results
Traveler rating
662
599
383
190
127
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
599
383
190
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkcentral locationlovely hotelexcellent locationon arrivalcooked breakfastblack puddingreception staffearly hoursevening mealcity breakbreakfast was excellentexecutive roomafternoon teasaturday nightfull englishmy birthday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,643 - 1,648 of 1,961 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Me & my Wife stayed at the hotel over the August Bank Holiday Weekend. The room was slightly small but not a problem for us as we dropped bags & went straight out. The location of the hotel is perfect & central to all shops, bars, restaurants etc. The staff were pleasant & helpful during our stay. We would stay at this hotel again & recommend to friends & family.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Albundy_Robson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I recently stayed in the Macdonald New Blossom Hotel in August for 2 nights as a group of 9 ladies as part of a hen do. All of the staff were more than happy to help and accommodate in any way they could to help make the weekend even more special. The hotel is superbly located, close to all the shops, bars, restaurants and clubs and I genuinely cannot find any faults in the place. I genuinely do not usually write reviews but I was so impressed with the New Blossom Hotel that I had to share the experience. If you are going to Chester to stay over you really will not be disappointed - I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to the hotel. Both times we were very pleased with the bedroom and bathroom - very spacious, beautifully furnished, lovely and clean. The choice at breakfast is excellent - cereals, porridge, fresh fruit, cheese, cooked meats, cooked breakfasts, pastries etc etc.
As the hotel is right in the heart of the city we found it ideal for exploring Chester and handy for dropping shopping bags off or having a cup of tea before heading back out.
We had not been overly impressed by some of the staff on our first visit in 2010 but we were very pleased to notice a big improvement the 2nd stay. The staff were friendly and attentive and when my husband mentioned this, as we checked out, we were told there had been a change of management and the focus now was very much on excellent customer service!

Room Tip: Request an internal room to avoid street noise
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redkite99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We decided to spend the night in Chester and searching through last minute deals came across room only at this hotel. Booked it the day before and landed on the Wednesday. No problems booking in, friendly staff who explained the parking arrangements well. Room on the top floor and OK/adequate for our needs. All Ok until come the time to get ready. Attempted to get shower originally and found was stood in shower with cold water coming out of the nozzle, and not at a great of knots either. After a minute gave up and tried running a bath, this did get hot water eventually and once this had been done, the shower had hot water, but the pressure was poor. Other than this everything was fine. Spoke with the staff who stated that the hot water had to come from the basement and therefore took time, albeit the manager was attempting to persuade the council to allow some upgrades which as it is a listed building isn't been successful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kw3068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We thought the Restaurant was quite nice and the two girls serving us were lovely. Food was good too although not cheap we enjoyed it. We both had steak which was tasty and lovely and tender. We couldn't manage dessert as we were too full !!

Room Tip: Sorry, we didn't stay we just had a meal.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank antibesforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews