We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book this hotel if you want to sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Chester
York, UK
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't book this hotel if you want to sleep!”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stayed overnight on my 30th birthday as a treat and initial impressions were good - the reception area is attractive and check in was quick and friendly.

We were put into room 302 which is on the top floor and as far as you can possibly go - no problem. The room was small but clean and tidy. However after we returned from our meal out, the room had become unbearably hot so I opened the secondary glazing on the windows and called reception for a fan. Reception called back after 15 minutes to say there were no fans available.

From 12.00 midnight the noise from Cruise nightclubopposite really began to kick in and continued until around 4.00am. In the meantime I had tried closing the windows but then the heat became oppressive so I resorted to wetting a bath towel and "sleeping" under this instead of the duvet. As a couple used to a kingsize bed we also really struggled to get comfortable in the standard double so in general it was a very uncomfortable night. After the noise subsided I risked opening the windows again, only to be woken at 6am by the beer delivery at a nearby bar.

I won't go into the other problems in detail but we had to prop the ironing board against the curtains to keep light out at the sides, and the bathroom sink leaked water all over the bathroom floor.

The staff member on check out was very sympathetic and offered to reduce our bill by 20% and pass on my comments onto the GM, however when I checked my account later in the day the full amount had been debited.

Avoid!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    563
    353
    180
    112
See reviews for
174
1,122
41
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

we booked this hotel through the tesco clubcard vouchers (plus a bit more once we found out the prices !! ) we stayed for 3 nights for a small family break there were 3 of us myself , husband and 17 month old .
Upon arrival we were told the room wasnt ready and we had to wait so we went for some food and came back as our daughter needed a slepp .. still not ready .. they told us to wait in the bar .. not a bad idea except the bar was deserted it had no drinks in sight and no staff .. very disapointed the hotel isself seems half done and very errie since there are next to no staff around or other guests
the lift up to the room is the smallest lift i have ever been in and i have traveled the world you could bareley fit a push chair and 2 adults in there it was rediculous also there is no wheel chair or pushchair access to the hotel itsself its steps all the way
the car park is another issue as you are told to stay in the ncp car park at a whopping extra £10 per night charge making this a rather expensive 3 night stay for us :(

The rooms isself on the 3rd floor executive room was nice and large however it was SO HOT unbelievable that they dont have aircon lord knows they should charging the prices we paid !
We got no sleep as it was to noisy to open the window so the room got unbearably hot not good with an infant who kept waking because she was burning up !
They did provide us with 2 tiny fans .. they really didnt help
i honestly wouldnt stay here again i am shocked they charged us what they did considereing it is more of a 2 star hotel than a 4
it is in a good location with the main high street a minute away but i would rather have been out a little bit and walk in to town than stay here
the breakfast was the only saving grace but even then the surroundings just didnt live up to my expectations from a macdonnalds hotel
my advice stay well clear and book somewhere else

Room Tip: not at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank taintedtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lothian
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We arrived on a Saturday for one night on the way back home. Would confirm that this is not the hotel for you if you want a quiet night. Great that it's in a central location but we struggled with luggage from the nearest car park with no hotel parking, despite my husband having a disabled badge for the car. I would agree that this isn't the usual MacDonald's standard.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LothianPinklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This Hotel was probably once a 4 Star hotel, but I would now rate this a 2-3 Star with 4 star prices, the most annoying thing is that if you arrive by car there's nowhere to park, you have to park in one of the local NCP car parks, so a stay of two nights cost us £20.00 and we had to struggle with our bags for a few hundred yards from the car park to the hotel.
We were given Room 306 at the side of the hotel on the top floor, the room itself was clean and tidy but rather small, the bathroom was tiny (about the size of a large cupboard).
The room was oppressively hot with only two small opening windows that did not give enough ventilation, we found it impossible to sleep due to the very high room temperatures and the incessant noise from the two night clubs within 20 yards, the noise from the all-night revelers did not stop on the Friday night until 04:45am on the Saturday morning, and the next night went on until 02:00 am.
Breakfast on the Sunday morning was a fiasco, everyone arrived at 09:45 and they were unable to cope, we had to wait for 20 minutes until a table was free, however the full English breakfast was good.
This hotel has an amazing location for visitor to Chester, it is literally 10 yards from the main shopping street and within walking distance from most of the main restaurants.
Would I go back to this Hotel? - Maybe, if they gave me a bigger room with aircon, away from the noise.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etypejag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryncrug, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Noisy
Dirty.
Expensive for service and food provided
Restuarant had 12 light bulbs not working. No bottled water None of the wine we wanted off the wine list.COULD GO ON BUT DEFINITELY DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU Do not stay here if you want a quiet break as the noise from outside nightclubs goes on until way past 5.00 a.m.
Our room was thick with dust on the furniture, light fittings and curtains. The whole place was uncared for. Such a shame as we have stayed here before and loved it.
MacDonalds have a lot to answer for.
We complained about the cleanliness at reception but were given a frosty 'I will tell housekeeping'
Needless to say we checked out a day early and then booked in elsewhere

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynnie062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

To start on a very positive note my partner and I have stayed at numerous McDonald hotels and have never had cause to complain, to the contrary, we love the chain and continue to use them (Bath Spa booked for next year already!) but found the New Blossom to be truly awful. It was the third McDonald we stayed in on this particular trip having already enjoyed the Roxburgh (Edinburgh) and Gisborough Hall (Yorks) so the bar was very high as both were excellent. The New Blossom is located in the centre of Chester very conveniently located for the shops, bars, eating places and sight seeing venues but is quite tricky to locate due to one way systems and the pedestrian area. Problems strat upon arrival as you cannot park outside the hotel (double yellow lines) and have to struggle with luggae while dodging traffic and parking wardens; this being the case the hotel should provide a conceirge service to help guests upon arrival. The hotel is very busy and does not have the normal 'cut above' feel we have come to expect from McDonalds (a large 'hen party' booked in when we did!), overall the premises are tired, grubby and in need of a refurbishment. The staff, although generally helpful, seemed very young, inexperienced and too busy to provide an individual service. Our room was ok but was at the front of the hotel overlooking the pedestrian precinct - we did not get any sleep on our first night due to the incredibly loud noise of rowdy crowds outside enjoying the nightlife; silence finally fell around 4 am! We complained the following day and were moved to a much quieter 'inside' room with views of fire escapes and drainage systems, but at least we got some sleep that night. Breakfast was chaos, very very busy and disorganised - empty tables were few and far between and uncleared whcih meant lengthy waits each morning. The breakfast itself was ok but served in a dining room that looked more like a bar by staff in uniforms that were absolutely filthy dirty and far too busy to deliver an acceptable standard of service; more down at heel motorway servcie station than up market hotel. The staff were friendly though and did try to help when they could; although skimmed milk was not available for my partner?! We complained to a very helpful duty manager who took herself of to a local supermarket to purchase te milk we needed!? We had a great time in Chester, truly a very beautiful city but, despite the best efforts of some staff, our stay at the New Blossom was a huge disappointment as it fell well short of the standards we have come to expect and enjoy from McDonalds Hotels. So awful was our experience that the same helpful Duty Manager waived the parking fee.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the pedestian area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DenningHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

This hotel has definitely gone down hill over the last few years. We’ve stayed there before – but never again! There was no tea and coffee out when we arrived (found them in the wardrobe) The room was small and shabby (thought we’d been put in the servant’s quarters) and you couldn’t fully open the door to the bathroom because the bed was in the way. The windows looked like they hadn’t been cleaned since the place was built, and the stay was broken.


The bathroom was small and windowless. The “shower” was a fine mist that took about 5 minutes to get you wet, and 10 to wash off the soap. The shower screen was jammed up against the sink so the bath taps couldn’t be turned on without getting into the bath.

BBC1 and 2 didn’t work on the television, and the phone wouldn’t connect to reception (wise!)

The first night (Monday) there was so much noise in the street from drunks until 4am that we missed breakfast catching up on sleep. The next nights were better – noise stopped about 2 am.

Parking arrangements are a nightmare.

This hotel has been refurbished – they should get their money back and you shouldn’t waste yours by booking a room here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManofKent2051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,075 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Property: Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Address: St. John Street, Chester CH1 1HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, part of the AA Hotel Group of the Year 2013/14 is a classical boutique hotel in the heart of the historic City of Chester, situated on the famous City Walls and near the Eastgate Clock Tower, said to be the second most photographed clock in England. First opened in 1650, you won't find another more historical hotel in Chester but you will find our hotel's period charm blends perfectly with modern luxury, creating the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our elegant stylish and flexible function suites teamed with a city centre location, provide the perfect environment for a wedding, conference or event with free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud for every delegate. Our Meeting and event promise will make sure you get the environment and dedicated team to meet all of your needs. When the business day is done, there's no better place for you to retire to than the new 1650 St Johns Restaurant where you'll dine on sensational food using fresh, quality ingredients, topped off with an excellent wine selection and friendly, personal service. Aiming to be one of the coolest new restaurants in Chester, enjoy our personally crafted 2-4-1 cocktails every evening between 5pm-7pm. The hotel has the perfect location to sample all the delights that Chester has to offer including shopping, Chester nightlife, Dee River cruises, the famous Chester Racecourse along with historical attractions such as The Rows and City Walls. A 15 minute trip will take you to the Chester Oaks Designer Outlet or Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald New Blossoms Chester
Hotel Macdonald New Blossoms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing