We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, beautiful view”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #9 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have just returned from lunch at The Pheasant Inn. The food was good and the view spectacular. They were very busy and I would certainly advise booking at the weekend. We shared a fish platter to begin with, which was delicious and very plentiful. We couldn't finish our main courses, we were so full! Very recommendable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dopeyhopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 655 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was our second visit to the PHEASANT , WE must say it ticked all the good boxes for us .
The room was clean and every thing we expected , The food was excellent . We were served by very friendly and attentive staff . WE would reccommend the Pheasant to anyone , It will certainly
not be our last visit. THANK YOU ALL THE STAFF AT THE PHEASANT
BRILLIANT !!!!!

Room Tip: WE had the CHESTER ROOM and found it very much to our liking
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ROBERT_CQ2715XN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Myself and my husband visited the Pheasant soon after moving to the area and hearing good things about it. It was a fairly busy Sunday and we hadn't booked so happy to wait by the bar - we were initially told it would be 15 mins but 30 mins passed which was still not a major problem as we hadn't booked but it soon became apparent that they had forgotten about us. For the rest of the time there we were met by one patronising comment after another and overall terrible service by senior staff who should know better. Although saying this, it was very apparent that more 'affluent' customers were served on hand and foot by the same staff with us 'poorer folk' left to sit without a menu and a dirty table and was made to feel like It was nothing but an inconvenience when I asked for it to be sorted. Unlike other customers who seemed to be having a better service we weren't told about the specials and had to wait to give our order although we made it very obvious we were ready. I must stressed that our problem was with senior / management staff and when one of the general floor staff attended to us she was great and very friendly.

Having just moved to the area we were looking for that perfect pub to dine in and take family and friends, unfortunately the Pheasant wont be it which is the great shame as the food was nice but we totally forgot about this and was left with a bad taste in our mouths from being treated so badly. From reading other reviews I can see others have had a similar experience - is it seriously so hard to take this feedback on board and to try and be nice and equal to all customers?

We did leave our feedback and contact details at the time and was giving them a week to respond before leaving the criticism on here. They obviously didn't care.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank MLR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Very strangely this place appears to have two tripadvisor review sites!Some obvious confusion between Pub and Hotel parts I believe. We went with friends last night 1st March.They wanted to take us as they liked it.Sadly we were all disappointed.The location is a delight the staff are all very pleasant and helpful but whatever was going on in the kitchen? I had soggy whitebait followed by a tiny duck leg which was OK but accompanied by a tiny and very tough piece of breast and a sliver of toulouse sausage all in a cassoulet which could very well have been made with a can of baked beans. My wife had beef bourginon with three raw shallots totally inedible.The other two meals were little better.The place wasn`t full so they couldn`t have been too busy.
This pub is a member of the Nelson Inngroup which includes the recently opened Fishpool near Delamere.our experience there has been good though it too has some poor reviews.Perhaps Senior Management has overstretched itself.I am going to the Fishpool again in two weeks so maybe we`ll find out. If it is no better then we have plenty of choice in the area so needn`t darken the doorstep again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harveyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Myself and 4 friends went for a drink and snacks after a walk along part of the Sandstone Trail.

Pros:
-Great views over the Cheshire Plain towards Liverpool.

Cons:
-Understaffed.
-Long queue at bar.
-Tables not cleared - we had to move the cups and plates from the previous visitors onto an empty table.
-Poor customer service - I revisited the bar to order a second round of drinks and was bluntly told that, "The table is needed from 6 - just so you know".

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank jonotennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Amazing place, great location, beautiful views and outstanding food - must see. There is a candle workshop close to and beeston castle worth seeing. If you like walking perfect too - many different options to spend your time

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ania151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Our 1 night stay at The Pheasant Inn was ideal. We checked in during a very busy lunchtime service on a Sunday afternoon, and the Car park was fully to bursting, which made this process a little stressful (we were on route to a wedding at the castle, so time was limited) However we were able to check our bags into our room early, and collect our key. We had a very comfortable nights stay, and a yummy breakfast the following morning. We would definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
9.3 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
9.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,237 reviews
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,758 reviews
9.9 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#24 of 45 in Chester
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Higher Burwardsley, Tattenhall, Chester CH3 9PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $112 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pheasant Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some the most magnificent panoramic views across the Cheshire plains. Delightful 300 year old sandstone buildings, open log fires, a flower-filled courtyard for drinks as the sun goes down - they all add up to magic. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's and hiker's paradise. A relaxing country retreat to escape from the hustle of city life or for a romantic weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing