We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The quintessential English pub”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #10 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

The pheasant inn is always a delight to visit on a sunny day; the beautiful views over the Chester plain are always a good start. They have planted flowers everywhere, which is a nice touch; the pub has a well looked after beer garden, which is ideal in the sun. Food is consistently top notch; do book ahead and enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank johnbuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
There are newer reviews for The Pheasant Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 634 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a much deserved rest at The Pheasant Inn, Burwardsley. We booked an executive double room for £100 per night on ‘late rooms’. We were in luck, weather wise, as when we arrived there it was lovely and sunny and warm and the views were clear and we sat out immediately for a drink on the patio area at the front of the pub for a relax. Pinot Grigio and Cider came to exactly £10.

The room we had was sufficient and comfortable with a door leading to a flat roof which had been fenced off out of view from everyone else which would have made a lovely terraced seating area, if the chairs and table had been provided but sadly hadn’t been. We noticed in the bathroom, the floor tiles were cracked in places and the bath mat was frayed. Whether this could be deemed rustic charm or just plain tatty, I guess is down to personal opinion. It wasn’t something that would spoil our stay but I felt a bit like the room was slightly overpriced given the lack of attention to these details. Because it was such a beautiful day, we took the 2 chairs out of the room and put them outside on the flat roof but they weren’t at all comfortable and we soon gave up that idea and went for a walk.

The Pheasant is directly on the Sandstone Trail which is a 50 mile walk through the Delamere Forest and past other places of interest, such as Beeston Castle and Peckforton Castle and estate. We went for an explore and found some really nice spots. I don’t think you could beat it for location if you are looking for somewhere to wander about on foot paths. It is out of the way, yet near enough to Chester and other places in the car to make it convenient.

We spent a short amount of time that day in the beer garden which was lovely and had shades over some tables so you could escape from the sun if you wished. Dogs were allowed in the beer garden also and there was water for them. There was also a little footpath going through a wooded area in the grounds which led to a lane which in turn, took you back to the Sandstone Trail.

The dinner menu we felt was a little restricted to red meats and fish (out of 11 main dishes, excluding the pasta/rices, 4 were beef, 4 were fish and the others either lamb, pork or offal). Because I usually enjoy chicken, I opted for the char grilled chicken rigatoni, mushrooms and crème fraiche, my husband had the steak burger with goats cheese. You can see from the photos the portions were more than sufficient and although mine lacked in any real flavour and my husband said his burger was just “too meaty” i.e. had no onions or herbs in it, we were happy with it. For the meal, a garlic bread and bottle of wine, we spent £43 which we felt was good value. There were no wines cheaper than £15.50 for the bottle, however, which we were a bit surprised to see. But seeing as we were there to enjoy ourselves, we didn’t mind paying the extra for the chance to unwind.

We both enjoyed a sound night’s sleep until we were awoken by a delivery vehicle at 6.45am banging it’s doors. Our room was situated next to the kitchens (one of the windows looked onto the car park) so this was unfortunate. We were in the room called the Tabley.

The breakfast, we couldn’t fault in the slightest. It had everything we could want and filled us up all day. The waiting staff were attentive and friendly and always had a smile for us. Again, it was lovely and relaxing and we didn’t feel under any pressure to rush off, even though we were the last ones in, at a couple of minutes to the time they stopped serving breakfasts!
It was a bit of a shame the deliveries were being made at breakfast time of all the food and beverages to the kitchen, which was up a short ginnel from the front of the hotel, so we had to watch men loading trollies and wagons blocking the view that we’d paid to come and see! It’s a shame the delivery at 6.45 that morning hadn’t thought to go to the same place!

We spent all the day walking the trail which was just lovely.

For dinner we were again short on things to choose as the menu, although they say is changed daily, has all the same things on it, however, the specials menu gave a bit more choice but unfortunately, still no chicken and maybe we’re just a bit uneducated, but one was an assiette of fish with samphire! We couldn’t guess at what it might be and yes, we could have asked but with not having had it before and not wanting to spend £16 on a meal we wouldn’t like, we had picky bits instead. We had marinated olives and mixed breads (which you got loads of and was excellent), followed by sticky chicken wings and a fish board to share.

I must say, we were a bit disappointed with this. There wasn’t really enough to share so we got some chips as well. We had just 5 chicken wings which seemed to have more feathers on them than meat. The fish board was a pickled roll mop, smoked salmon, a few prawns, a small piece of smoked mackerel and a small fishcake. There were some salad leaves as well, so we made the most of it but it was £9.95 for the fish board alone which left a bit of a bad taste.

Feeling a bit ripped off with the meal, we ended up taking a bottle of wine of our own up to a bench we had discovered during the day and finished the evening off watching the sun go down which was perfect.

All in all the Pheasant Inn cost us £345 for a 2 night stay, bed and breakfast, evening meals and drinks. Although some of it wasn’t to our taste, I don’t think we could criticise them for quality and we enjoyed everything about our stay, although there were minor things (like the lack of patio furniture, menu and the cost of the drinks) that I thought improvements could be made on.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biscuitchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Fell upon the pheasant between hefty may showers and it was timing that counted.
It was quiet when we arrived but very rapidly filled.
Menu was fab, local, fresh and seasonal.
Service great without being intrusive
Gorgeous view and fabulous food but I can imagine it being massively crowded in mid summer

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Foodfanatic65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The outside of this building is quite unique and looks more like a small cottage than a country pub. We decided on here despite having to travel 30-40 minutes to get here and the Sirloin steak really was worth it. Gristle free and perfectly cooked provided a pleasurable experience and the potato stack that came with it was absolutely superb. Fantastic views of the countryside and i can see this place providing an excellent base on a hot summers day. Definately return within the near future.
P.S. better side orders would be good such as asparagus or spinach.

Room Tip: not applicable
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Went to The Pheasant for my birthday lunch a couple of days ago, the pub has one of the best views of the Cheshire Plain and their food is some of the best served by any pub in the county, will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank jonh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We returned to the pheasant for 2 nights after staying here last August and left disappointed. We were given a different room which was much smaller than the last one we had and cost £115 for the Sunday and £85 for Monday and apart from the view it was very average with the bed being small and uncomfortable. The most disappointing aspect though was the food. To be honest I could have done a better job of cooking myself! Roast pots as hard as golf balls, a plate full of red cabbage with sunday dinner, dried up mash, stringy beef. £14 for a small fillet of bream served on a salad of tinned anchovies, olives, tomatoes & green beans all sitting in a pool of oil & vinegar. The battered haddock was ok but the chips were warmed up and stale and the mushy peas luke warm. The Pheasant is in a stunning location but they need to drop their prices or/and vastly improve the quality of their furnishings and food. On a plus side the staff were excellent, always smiling, friendly and happy to help.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed for one night in a standard double. The room was full of character if a little on the small side, but it did have wonderful views over the Cheshire plain and more than adequate storage. Bathroom was a decent size and adequately equipped.
Breakfast the next morning was excellent with friendly, efficient service.
The pub is on the Sandstone Trail between Frodsham and Whitchurch, and there are some excellent walks from the pub (which was the reason for our visit). There are a number of local attractions worth visiting with the Candle workshops on the doorstep, and Cheshire Ice Cream farm and Beeston Castle nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the block overlooking the Cheshire plain for great views.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
9.3 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,907 reviews
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
9.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,327 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Higher Burwardsley, Tattenhall, Chester CH3 9PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $112 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pheasant Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some the most magnificent panoramic views across the Cheshire plains. Delightful 300 year old sandstone buildings, open log fires, a flower-filled courtyard for drinks as the sun goes down - they all add up to magic. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's and hiker's paradise. A relaxing country retreat to escape from the hustle of city life or for a romantic weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing