We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #10 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We took our dog away for New Years Day we went for a walk in Delamere forest and then we all had a great evening at the Pheasant Inn. We stayed in the annex which was lovely and quiet with beautiful countryside views. Our dog was made as welcome as we were and the staff seem to work really hard to make sure we had everything we needed. The food was fab with a great choice of wine too. Our Dog enjoyed basking near the open fire which was great after a big walk. The breakfast the next morning set us up for another day and if we had the time we would have taken one of the many walks from the door.
It was great to be able to bring our dog with us and him be allowed to stay with us whilst we ate our evening meal and breakfast ( it's horrid having to leave him in the room or car whilst we eat)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiganAshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    131
    62
    45
    16
See reviews for
114
282
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2012

we recently stayed at the pheasant inn and have say everything about the place is first class.from the moment you enter the hotel the staff are extremley friendly,they are very efficent and nothing is to much trouble,the food was very nice and the wine even better.the room had fantastic view of the cheshire countryside and was very comfortable,we will be staying again and would recommend it to everyone.SUPERB

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulloch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The setting is stunning and the Pheasant Inn is delightful. It is beautifully decorated and most comfortable. Our bed linen was of the very highest quality and the bed was so comfy. Dinners and breakfasts were delicious. Every member of staff was pleasant and very efficient. Their manner of behaviour is outstanding, We would love to return to this special place in its splendid location.

Room Tip: Our room in the annex was quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Took a date up there last week. I've been a few times before to enjoy probably one of the best views around. Unfortunately it was thick fog that night. Had the steak on a skillet. Excellent steak, although the steak continued cooking because of the hot skillet. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Thanks again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveyDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed here in Dec 2012 on business. I travel extensively and can honestly say I have payed much much more for far less value. The staff were attentive and friendly, especally the waitress at breakfast, who was outstanding. The food was delicious and the room was very comfortable. As for the view, it is hard to beat. The true test of any pub is repeat business. I'll be back and i will bring my family. Strongest recommendation.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a killer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank des C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at this lovely hotel, friendly staff and great views, excellent food, especially the breakfasts, evening meals are a bit pricey but a nice treat, stayed in the superior rooms, the ones over the bar area are quite noisy so ask to avoid them if its a quite night away you are looking for, only downside of the last room we got over the restaurant was there was no where to hang your clothes except for a hook in the bathroom where as the other rooms we have stayed in there have had wardrobes, beds are really comfy, and bathrooms a good size, some nice walks around and the candle factory is worth a visit

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

What a delight it was to stay at this inn!
My husband & I have a business interest locally and this inn was recommended by a good friend.
As usual her judgement was impeccable! This place was everything we had been told and more.
Set within the most beautiful countryside the inn is very picturesque and atmospheric.
Our bedroom was within a converted barn sitting adjacent to the inn itself. Spotlessly clean and well appointed, complete with original arrow slits in the wall, it is clearly a listed building. As our room was immediately overlooking the beer garden I would avoid this one in summer as given how lovely a place this is I can imagine it being very busy in the nicer months.
We ate an evening meal in the restaurant which was also excellent, both opting for steak pie which has to be one of the best I've ever been served, and eating that in front of the log fire was just the ticket on a cold winters night!
The breakfast was fantastic. The fresh fruit salad was wonderful. An array of fresh fruit juices, cereals and several cooked options. were also on offer.
The staff were great. Friendly and welcoming which is exactly what you want after a long day.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank numptieheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
9.3 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,573 reviews
9.2 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
624 reviews
9.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Property: The Pheasant Inn
Address: Higher Burwardsley, Tattenhall, Chester CH3 9PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pheasant Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some the most magnificent panoramic views across the Cheshire plains. Delightful 300 year old sandstone buildings, open log fires, a flower-filled courtyard for drinks as the sun goes down - they all add up to magic. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's and hiker's paradise. A relaxing country retreat to escape from the hustle of city life or for a romantic weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing