We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay at the Pheasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #10 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the Pheasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

What a beautiful place to stay and unwind. This place is out of the way, but that's one of the reasons we keep going back. Service superb, from the welcome to the check out. All staff were very attentive and the food excellent, including a hearty breakfast with loads of choice. Room clean and spacious, offering good value for money. If you are into your real ale, you won't go wrong here with a choice of four casks on offer, to enjoy in front of a real fire. Just superb!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyMcKinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    131
    62
    46
    16
See reviews for
115
283
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Just spent a lovely weekend at The Pheasant. The surrounding area is idyllic and the inn is ideally situated in the absolute middle of nowhere. Food and service was excellent. Room needed some updating, particularly the bathroom, which was a bit grubby! This place is not in the same league for the standard of accommodation as its sister pub, The Bear's Paw. However the complete silence you get in the dead of night was awe inspiring.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essbee2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Went for lunch on a wednesday afternoon and immediately struck how busy it was.
Good choice of food, finally opted for the salmon fritters from the specials board to share with my daughter, an excellent choice, should be a permanent choice. I chose the starter size moules for my main, and my daughter had the curry. Both were well presented and hot!

Next time will make a day of it with the family and visit the Candle factory situated across the way, and a visit to the Cheshire ice cream farm. Excellent views too, unfortunately the weather wasn't kind to us on our visit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dawn2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

It was one of those last minute booking as we were picking up our kids from camp in the Shrewsbury area and we chose Chester to spend our last 2 days in the UK. Unfortunately - they only have one night available at The Pheasant Inn but the reviews were great so we decided to take the one night availability.

We were not disappointed! We we're given this room that was attic-style room that opens ro the garden! And then, the food was excellent and the staff was very accommodating. We didn't even check out another place to eat - we just ate there for lunch, breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children, get the room we got - I believe it was the Amber room. The wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJTEBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Been here 3 times now and find that it's quite consistent. The first time was last year when we stopped whilst walking the whole of the sandstone trail in a single day. The staff were very accommodating and found us a table for a quick beer and food before we carried on walking. We've also beer here with family and taken our dogs in the restaurant too (nice that a country pub lets in dogs as indeed they should do).

Also went here in sept 2012 for a birthday treat. Had oxtail broth and cauliflower soups for starters and cheesy risotto and roast beef mains. Service was good, with staff attentive and aware of where we were upto and whether we needed more drinks etc.

I would strongly advise booking on a Sunday as all 3 time I've visited I've seen people randomly turn up and be turned away disappointed.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RoundtheWorldChad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here on a Thursday night on return journey home. Spotlessly clean, amazing shower, fab location, excellent food, beer and atmosphere. Bed was so comfortable, feather duvet which was fab. Lovely breakfast. Nothing too much trouble. Good value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in Delamere, which is small but apart from a slight lack of storage space for clothes (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100gremlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Ok it's the location that we all go here for. Great views and lovely walks near by. I have stayed several times and like the rooms too and think they are not overpriced. The choice of drinks is better than most, especially the wine. Food is normally fine and can be excellent but can somewhat disappoint. It's a gastro pub/restaurant with an interesting menu that varies in execution. There is room for improvement in the kitchen but the ideas and design are right on the nail. Last time we went in August we thought the food was good actually (7.5/10). Please don't expect fine dining but expect food that is much better than what most pubs serve. If this place improved the food you'd never be able to get in. That being, I am
Fussy and trained in cooking so do get disappointed when corners are cut. I will continue to go back here with friends though as the overall experience is very satisfactory and positive.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gastronaut2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
9.3 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
9.2 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
9.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Property: The Pheasant Inn
Address: Higher Burwardsley, Tattenhall, Chester CH3 9PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pheasant Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some the most magnificent panoramic views across the Cheshire plains. Delightful 300 year old sandstone buildings, open log fires, a flower-filled courtyard for drinks as the sun goes down - they all add up to magic. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's and hiker's paradise. A relaxing country retreat to escape from the hustle of city life or for a romantic weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing