We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #10 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Country Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

5 star country inn high on the side of a sandstone ridge in rural Cheshire with superb views across the Cheshire plain to Liverpool and the Welsh hills. Room in converted stable/outbuildings adjacent to the hotel. Comfortable room; modern fixtures; excellent breakfast and dinner; conveniently located (c600m) from the Sandstone Trail for those who wish to walk the trail from Frodsham to Whitchurch. No public transport, so visitors need car, taxi or ability to walk here. Great to start to another day's walking to be so close to the trail and have such an excellent breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingScot_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    131
    62
    46
    16
See reviews for
115
283
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

5 star rating well justified. Enjoyed 3 night stay recently having stayed there twice before and this time was better than ever. Accomodation and food could not be faulted. Staff were extremely pleasant and efficient. The Pheasant is a little out of the way but well worth finding.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had eaten here on several previous occasions and all in all we enjoyed this reurn visit.

We were glad we booked a table foir six, although the place didn't seem as busy as on previous visits. It took almost 40 minutes for our food to arrive after four of us placed our order, but when the the other two arrived somewhat later the wait was only 10 minutes: obviously we had originally hit the peak service time.

Food was good when it came - excellent home produced burger, Spicy Caesar salad, two deli platters (pate, pork pie, cheese, roll mop etc) and two very good childrens meals, one pasta, one a burger with beans and chunky chips.

Bill for four adult main courses, two childrens meals, drinks for all and coffee for the adults came to £80. Beers were excellent.

Service was rather slow and impersonal.

The location is special and the offering was good, but lacking in charm. We'll return some time and hope to be greeted with a smiling swift service rather than just dogged effciency.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peridor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Visited restaurant on 9/6/12 for mum's birthday. Great table with amazing views of countryside. Fantastic 3 course meal - delicious food and big portions (sticky toffee pud unbelievable)! Good children's menu too. Service great - friendly and attentive. Would recommend to anyone who likes good food in a beautiful setting with a great atmosphere. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We meet annually for a walking holiday with my brother, his wife and our dogs. 2012 was our turn to arrange the venue and walks. As a result of "Google search" and "Tripadvisor" we booked in at "The Pheasant Inn" for three nights commencing Tuesday, May 8th.
What a stunning situation, on the top of the hill looking out over The Cheshire Plain! Friendly staff welcomed us, showed us our rooms and explained that our dogs were welcome in the bar area. Lunch that day was just a taster for the high quality breakfasts and dinners we experienced. One morning the chef even baked more croissants for us, which merely reinforced the dedication of customer care given by the staff at "the Pheasant Inn".
We can't recommend "The Pheasant" more highly.
Incidentally and unusually we discovered our dogs were welcomed in the pubs we chose for our lunch stops, so we can also recommend the area to other dog walkers looking for a lovely walking destination.
Ken and Pat Headley

Room Tip: Ask for a room with aview over The Cheshire Plain
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

I met my partner for the evening at this lovely pub last Wednesday. My booking had been taken only a day or so before and I was looking forward to a mid-week break in the country. We couldn't have asked for more .. our room was absolutely lovely and the weather was surprisingly good so we could take in those amazing views. The telescope is a lovely touch !
We chilled out for a while and then went to dinner, we had a really cosy table and the place was buzzing.
We had a lovely bottle of Mirror Lake sauvignon, I had the confit breast of salt marsh lamb and my partner had the cottage pie from the specials board, the accompanying red cabbage was delicious ! We shared a side of French beans with bacon and Blackstick blue cheese, everything was really good.
Incredible location and views, gorgeous bedroom, lovely staff and great food. This is a Cheshire gem that I can't wait to go back to.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Spent a Friday night here with my boyfriend. Couldn't believe the value for money and excellent service we received. Having spent a fortune staying at the Crowne Plaza in Chester a couple of weeks previous i would never stay there again and will keep returning to the Pheasant inn in future!

Room Tip: Rawhead Room was beyond a 'standard' room. Full marks from me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
9.3 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
9.2 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
9.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Property: The Pheasant Inn
Address: Higher Burwardsley, Tattenhall, Chester CH3 9PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pheasant Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some the most magnificent panoramic views across the Cheshire plains. Delightful 300 year old sandstone buildings, open log fires, a flower-filled courtyard for drinks as the sun goes down - they all add up to magic. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's and hiker's paradise. A relaxing country retreat to escape from the hustle of city life or for a romantic weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing