We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent accomodation but long walk to centre”
Review of Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dene Hotel
Ranked #43 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We were in the chalet lodges which were brilliant because you can park your car right outside the door of your accomodation. the room was comfortable and the en suite good. Lovely breakfast and good service. Would recommend for a good value place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenBianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 511 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2010

i found this hotel to be dated and old, the furnitur at reception was filthy and i did n't want to sit down as i would have slid off. i would never recommend this place to anyone never mind my friends. the hotel inspector would have a field day with this place!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodeyBode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Been going to this hotel for 10yrs, decide to go for a midweek break, went to the bar in the evening full of workmen some had`nt even bother to change still in dirty clothes, and sweaty, we where having a meal and the language was disgusting,was in bed room by 8-30 , second night went to eat somewhere else, but decided to have a drink back at the hotel it was even worse with the language drank up quickly and went to are room, if that the guest they are going to get in the hotel will not be going back again.the food was excellent and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billavic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We had a lovely stay, staff very friendly, aproachable and willing, yes it's in need of an update, but most people only stay 1 or 2 nights and the most important thing for me was a comfortable bed and lovely clean sheets. 25 min walk to city centre 10 min (in car) from zoo, what else could you ask for. If you have high expectations from a 2 star pay £80 a night and stop somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Bar area a bit small , lots of 'stains' on seats , dining area a bit small too, doors firmly SHUT 'til proper times , at breakfast , they could have opened it to let in folk who wanted a 'cold' breakfast, or eat same, while waiting for 'hot' meal to be ready. Evening meal was a bit late I thought, at 7.30 ..... by the time it's finished - it's getting on for 9pm or more, the serving of meals was a bit higgldy-piggly, in that some had one preferred main meal, way before the rest, instead of dishing it out in variety .... resulting in some us waiting and watching ..... The other main complaint was the annoying pop 'muzak' blaring out of the bar's CD player , which is also 'piped' into the dining room .... more, i think, for the staff's consumption than the guests !

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pierre34th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We travelled from Scotland to Chester last week for a reunion weekend. We were allocated the disabled room which was OK but the bathroom left a lot to be desired. Luckily my husband is not confined to a wheelchair because whilst there was every conceivable handle, there was no room to manouvre a chair over the toilet and it would have been better if it had been a shower only rather than a bath with shower. We hardly had any water coming through the shower head and the maintenance guy tried to fix it but said we needed a new shower head which he didn't have. Given the glorious weather at the weekend this was most unsatisfactory.
All the chairs at the reception and bar were dirty and many had stained seats as did several chairs in the diningroom.
The food was OK although the hotel ran out of marmalade and tinned tomatoes on Sunday morning. Our trip had been planned for months so there was no need for this.
The fire alarm went off several times during Saturday evening and when we got back to our room at about midnight the red indicator in the ceiling was flashing and eventually a member of staff came and covered it with a black bin liner and cellotaped it to the ceiling. The central heating was still on and there was a musty, mouldy smell.
I think the English Tourist Board should pay a surprise visit and remove their rosette until drastic measures are taken to refurbish the whole hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank chavgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

My overnight stay was OK, didn't book breakfast so cannot comment.

Checking in was smooth and my room on the ground floor looked clean but shabby. The bathroom window was rotting away but as only staying one night and the price that was paid, I didn't expect much.

As we arrived about 9pm on a Saturday night we grabbed some food from the bar.
Warning!! Don't bother. Everything is microwaved or fried. I guess the very low price should of given it away. If I was in charge of booking I would not of stayed.

This hotel seems to be geared towards the male travel, cheap & cheerful. If you are thinking about a romantic weekend away book somewhere else, you will not earn any brownie points here.

There are lots of B&B's and motels/hotels in Hoole Road where this hotel is located.

For the money it's OK if that's what you are after.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelmanBasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
0.6 mi away
Belgrave Hotel
Belgrave Hotel
#41 of 45 in Chester
202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#33 of 45 in Chester
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
5.6 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#34 of 45 in Chester
533 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#24 of 45 in Chester
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dene Hotel

Address: 95 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: $37 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dene Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing