We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dene Hotel
Ranked #43 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Requested quiet room, double bed and bath. All requests satisfied. Breakfast excellent. No longer doing evening meals. Went next door to Oaklands Hotel, very good.

Room Tip: Rooms to back are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 511 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

We booked this hotel for an evening away whilst visiting Chester Races. It was the only hotel we could get into within our price range which was close enough to Chester City Centre and that would allow us to book one night only. After reading some of the reviews on here before we travelled we were slightly apprehensive, however, we were pleasantly surprised. We paid £75 for the night including breakfast which seems quite a lot after finding it cheaper on other websites however we cannot complain about the standard of room we recieved and think it was well worth every penny. The room was nicely decorated, comfortable bed, both room and bedroom were very clean and even though we had a front room it was very quiet.

The only negatives we could find were that the room/facilities information was not offered to us upon arrival and we had to ask when and where breakfast was. Also the service at breakfast wasn't very organised.

We would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sessi321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

On arrival the greeting wasn't the warmest i've ever encounted the ice cold shower the morning after was warmer. After parting with our money we arrived at our room once in the room we were greeted with a wordy letter about the substanded room were would be staying in. Bathroom - I've been to better public toilets no toilet lid the seat was hanging off there was mould all in the bathroom. in the main room there was damp patches on the walls and carpet also paint flaking off the walls safe to say i will never be returning to this hotel again

Room Tip: dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

the room was bit small,we booked double room but were given 2 singles bed instead double.

Room Tip: ''higher floors have better rooms''
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Walked into reception, and was just greeted with a very uncomfortable stare from receptionist, was given 2 keys as we had booked 2 rooms. Was'nt told any information had to ask about every thing. Room is dirty and tatty, and to top it off, we were walking all around chester that day,went for a nice meal and came home to bed. Went on 17 sept. Got up next morning, ready for a nice shower, water was stone cold. Had to boil 2 kettles of water for a wash. I was,nt expecting Hilton, but please. Susan Morris.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Thank SheffieldSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Even though the staff were reasonably friendly they didn't give any information on arrival, for example, check-out times, breakfast costs, etc. We had pre booked a Double room but were given a family room with no double bed (2 singles pushed together). It was a very old fashioned room and not very clean, the bed had a massive coffee stain down the side, the bedroom window was cracked, the bathroom window didn't lock and there was a very squeaky door on the hallway directly behind our bedroom which kept us awake both nights. The shower was small and took ages to heat up.
The hotel itself was in an ideal position for Chester City Centre and Chester Zoo but was on a busy road so could be noisy if you end up with a front room. The car parking was free but the spaces were small and we struggled to get back in the car park on the evening. There was free wifi in the hotel (one of the only good things) but when asked for a password I needed to ring reception from the room and wasn't given a number to call and had to guess. This certainly wasn't worth over £60 a night.

Room Tip: Don't book a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We as two couples stayed for the recent race meeting,had 2x double rooms both ensuite,for what we paid £30 a night,cannot fault it.Rooms where clean,beds clean,showers fine,hot water,clean towels, kettle,what more can you ask for this price?Staff at reception very good bar chap fine,no food ie breakfast included,but we paid a fiver each,wasnt brilliant,but not bad and worth a fiver.Ask for rooms 18&19 on a budget well worth it.Dont expect the Ritz and you will be fine.I will go again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bacupboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
0.6 mi away
Belgrave Hotel
Belgrave Hotel
#41 of 45 in Chester
202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#33 of 45 in Chester
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
5.6 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#34 of 45 in Chester
533 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#24 of 45 in Chester
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dene Hotel

Address: 95 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: $37 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dene Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing