We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Clean and Friendly Hotel / Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Devonia Lodge Guest House
Ranked #6 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Id like to say what a pleasure it was staying with such friendly people.
The room was Spotless and despite being on a Main Road, surprisingly quiet.
The Bar is Well stocked and Breakfast was fantastic.
I would recommend The Devonia to everyone wanting to stay in chester as its literally 10 Minutes walk from Town Centre.
Excellent Value !!!!!
Hope I can stay there again soon

Room Tip: You will have a grest stay whichever room your in
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G12EGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely comments Greg, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Everyone says how good the double glazing windows are so like you say even at the front by the busy road you'll get a good nights sleep. We hope to see you next time you are in Chester. Kind regards, M&M Devonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Devonia Lodge Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 238 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Hi Just to say thanks for a lovely stay, as soon as we arrived we knew we had picked the right place to stay as the welcoming by Mark and Maree was very friendly, The rooms were spacious and clean. We arrived to attend Chester afternoon Races. We got changed and it was lovely to be able to have a drink at their bar and the prices were very reasonable and Mark even had special offers on the beer which was an added bonus. We were given a a key to the front door and told there was no time limit on coming in but it would be appreciated if you could be quite if we were very late due to other guests. We didn't have to adhere to that request as I had to practically carry my husband in about 9.30pm as he had over indulged at the races but we all had a fantastic day.
The next morning we went down to a lovely full english breakfast with plenty of toast and a lovely jug of ice cold water which was just what we needed after a heavy drinking session the day before.
An added bonus to the Devonia is the private car park at the back with CCTV so you know your car is safe.

Excellent value for money lovely friendly staff and overall absolutely no complaints what so ever we intend to definitely book here again next time we go to Chester.

Thank You

Room Tip: We had a back room which I would prefer as I think a front room maybe a bit noisy as it is on the ma...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicky11069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

To Nicky and the gang.....thanks so much for taking the time to write a great positive review for us, it means a lot to us. So glad you liked our new bar area and even though you didn't win at the Races remember its the taking part that counts (apparently)....we look forward to seeing you all next time, if you let me know at the time of your booking I can pre book a table at the Shanghai for you all and maybe this time your husband might get to join you!!! Thanks again. M&M Devonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on raceday weekend. Good value for money, not far from Chester centre, about £6 in a taxi. The owners were very friendly and cooked us a lovely breakfast. We would stay here again. Added bonus was plenty of car parking spaces at the rear of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBFROMSTOKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Many thanks for all the positive feedback Rob, so glad you enjoyed the Races too....even if you didn't have too many winners :-( haha..... All our guests say that the taxis are reasonably priced in Chester, they are even cheaper on non Race days, approx £4 to the city centre from here. Hope to see you at next years Races. Kind regards, M&M Devonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed for 1 night for a stag do, room was clean and comfortable. Owners really friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was really good, highly recommended. The price was very reasonable compared to other places in Chester and short walk into town and to train station.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stokieben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Manager at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Many thanks for your review. Great to hear all your positive feedback, so glad you had a great weekend in Chester and hope to see you again sometime. Kind regards, M&M Devonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I found Devonia Lodge to be a really nice place, the staff couldn't be more welcoming and accommodating.

We stayed here for one night while attending a friends wedding, I can't recommend highly enough.

Really clean rooms in a good location, close to the town centre and the train station and really good value for money, especially with the full English breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aandcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and thanks for your kind comments. So glad you were made to feel welcome by everyone as we try to make our guests feel at home. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast! Take care and see you again soon. M&M Devonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here for one night while visiting family, the room was very clean and comfortable and I slept really well despite my room facing the main road into Chester. My only criticism was the water pressure in the shower, it was not very powerful - sorry Mark!. There is a small, very friendly bar and the hotel is a short walk into Chester town centre. Breakfast was great and plenty of coffee!

Mark and Maree were fantastic hosts and I would definitely stay here again. Thank You!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diddlydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed staying with us and enjoyed Chester. We're sorry that the shower pressure wasn't up to scratch, we are in the planning process of renewing all the bathrooms/shower rooms as we are committed to keeping on top of maintenance etc.....it just seems never ending haha. So hopefully next time you come you will see the improvements. Kind regards, M&M Devonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Devonia Lodge. On arrival we were met by Mark the owner who made us feel extremely welcome from the moment we arrived. Soon after we met Maree and again we were greeted with a real warm welcome...immediately it felt like home from home!!!...( fantastic people ).Devonia Lodge is in a perfect location for the town centre. Only a 10 minute walk. The room was comfortable clean very spacious and breakfast was yum yum!!.On the Saturday having had a fantastic meal at Istanbul bbq in town and numerous drinks in some great bars we headed back to Devonia and had a superb night with Mark Maree and their friends. The atmosphere and fun will never be forgotten! We will most definitely return to Devonia Lodge..Thank you Mark and Maree for making our weekend so special, its certainly one we wont forget!!.Ian and Lisa

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

We've just received your thank you card in the post, we were so chuffed!! So glad you enjoyed your weekend with us and that you found your room really comfortable and that Chester's bars and restaurants lived up to your expectations, there are so many good places to go in the City that you can feel spoilt for choice sometimes!! Anyway thanks for taking the time to write a review for us and we hope to see you again next time you visit Chester. Many thanks, M&M Devonia Lodge xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,444 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#18 of 44 in Chester
262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 44 in Chester
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonia Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonia Lodge Guest House

Address: 33-35 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $106 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonia Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomeDevonia dates back to 1856 and uniquely Devonia Lodge is the first guest house on Hoole Road in Chester both in time and location, Hoole Road (A56) is principally the main accommodation area of Chester, popular with visitors from all over the world due to its excellent location.Of all the guest houses on Hoole Road, Devonia Lodge is closest to both the city centre, (which is approximately 8-10 minutes walk), and 5 minutes to the railway station. The same family has run the Devonia since 1964, we offer you tremendous value for money and a homely welcome.Excellent ValueDevonia Lodge prides itself on offering you the customer comfort, service and highly competitive rates, our staff is largely made up of family and a competent morning team, each with their own personalities to make you feel at home.Stuteley's Cafe BarDevonia has been trading as a guest house for nearly half a century so we recently decided to open a medium sized licensed bar, (October 5th 2012) for residents and non residents alike. Stuteley’s is an idea put together by us to provide a Cafe Bar for all to come and enjoy, We feel that Stuteley’s is in a well located position for Mums that do coffee, Ladies and Gents that do Lunch to folk that like a relaxing drink in nice comfortable surroundings anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Devonia Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing