We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Excellant Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devonia Lodge Guest House
Ranked #6 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Excellant Service”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here for one night while visiting family, the room was very clean and comfortable and I slept really well despite my room facing the main road into Chester. My only criticism was the water pressure in the shower, it was not very powerful - sorry Mark!. There is a small, very friendly bar and the hotel is a short walk into Chester town centre. Breakfast was great and plenty of coffee!

Mark and Maree were fantastic hosts and I would definitely stay here again. Thank You!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diddlydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed staying with us and enjoyed Chester. We're sorry that the shower pressure wasn't up to scratch, we are in the planning process of renewing all the bathrooms/shower rooms as we are committed to keeping on top of maintenance etc.....it just seems never ending haha. So hopefully next time you come you will see the improvements. Kind regards, M&M Devonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    83
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
46
95
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Devonia Lodge. On arrival we were met by Mark the owner who made us feel extremely welcome from the moment we arrived. Soon after we met Maree and again we were greeted with a real warm welcome...immediately it felt like home from home!!!...( fantastic people ).Devonia Lodge is in a perfect location for the town centre. Only a 10 minute walk. The room was comfortable clean very spacious and breakfast was yum yum!!.On the Saturday having had a fantastic meal at Istanbul bbq in town and numerous drinks in some great bars we headed back to Devonia and had a superb night with Mark Maree and their friends. The atmosphere and fun will never be forgotten! We will most definitely return to Devonia Lodge..Thank you Mark and Maree for making our weekend so special, its certainly one we wont forget!!.Ian and Lisa

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We've just received your thank you card in the post, we were so chuffed!! So glad you enjoyed your weekend with us and that you found your room really comfortable and that Chester's bars and restaurants lived up to your expectations, there are so many good places to go in the City that you can feel spoilt for choice sometimes!! Anyway thanks for taking the time to write a review for us and we hope to see you again next time you visit Chester. Many thanks, M&M Devonia Lodge xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Lovely clean and welcoming B & B. Nothing was too much trouble. It was lovely having a bar, and the owners were very friendly. I had a single room which had a tv and tea/coffee making facilities and was right next to the bathroom.
There is a bank and local shops right on the doorstep and Chester City Centre is a few minutes by car and on a regular bus route.
Breakfast was delicious
Will definitely be going back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the room comfortable, it means so much to us that our customers feel at home when they stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again in the near future. Many thanks, M&M Devonia Lodge :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

My 2 friends and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Devonia lodge. We shared a family room and it was perfect for us. We were very pleased with how little it cost us, just £50 each for the 2 nights, including breakfast - bargin! The b&b is close to the town centre, which is walkable, but we chose to use taxi's which the owners kindly rang for us and they were there within minutes. It didn't cost more than £5 to get into the centre. The b&b is large and bright with a super bar and breakfast area. The full English breakfast was lovely and the owners were very kind and helpful, even making me a large pint of water with ice cubes to help with my hangover this morning! There's a nice outside seating area to the front of the property and at the back. We were given a key and were able to sneak back in even at 4a.m in the morning! We had a wonderful stay and felt very well looked after by the owners. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseasandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuteley1961, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we really appreciate it. Glad the 3 of you enjoyed your weekend, a bit of R&R away from the kids is always a winner.....even if it does lead to a bit of overindulgence haha and the dreaded hangover!! Hope to see you all again soon. Thanks again M&M Devonia Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This place had a real feel good factor about it. Really close to town, the bar is like being in your own living room, room was really spacious and clean, the place still has character but with a modern twist, the hosts make you feel very welcome and the breakfast was fab. Even the handyman was really friendly! Lovely stay with my family at a great price. Wouldn't hesitate in returning!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nattyp1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuteley1961, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us, we really appreciate it. So glad you all enjoyed chilling out in the bar with all our regulars, and that R & H enjoyed the ice-cream farm! We are always trying to improve the rooms and plans are underway to start refurbing the shower rooms so hopefully next time you come the rooms will be even better. Thanks again, M&M Devonia Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent one night at the Devonia Lodge in Chester and can not fault it at all. The welcome was friendly and the room was perfect for what we wanted. It is clean and comfortable with a lovely breakfast and the parking was a massive bonus. Thank you for a lovely stay, it was just what we needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyPeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuteley1961, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. So glad you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast!! Hope to see you again some time. Thanks again, M&M Devonia Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here as was Meeting friends and was an extremely competative price. Did not expect the level of quality and attention throughout. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel is situated a short Walk from the town centre, has complimentary WiFi and very friendly hosts. The breakfast was huge and i struggled to finish it off, but mánaged. To summarise, a wonderfull Find, welcomming hosts, great value, good location and fantástico breakfast. Will definately stay again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jirish78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuteley1961, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hi John, Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, we really appreciate it and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and feel we are excellent value for money. We hope you'll look us up next time you are in Chester, take care......M&M Devonia Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#16 of 44 in Chester
250 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,613 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonia Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonia Lodge Guest House

Property: Devonia Lodge Guest House
Address: 33-35 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonia Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomeDevonia dates back to 1856 and uniquely Devonia Lodge is the first guest house on Hoole Road in Chester both in time and location, Hoole Road (A56) is principally the main accommodation area of Chester, popular with visitors from all over the world due to its excellent location.Of all the guest houses on Hoole Road, Devonia Lodge is closest to both the city centre, (which is approximately 8-10 minutes walk), and 5 minutes to the railway station. The same family has run the Devonia since 1964, we offer you tremendous value for money and a homely welcome.Excellent ValueDevonia Lodge prides itself on offering you the customer comfort, service and highly competitive rates, our staff is largely made up of family and a competent morning team, each with their own personalities to make you feel at home.Stuteley's Cafe BarDevonia has been trading as a guest house for nearly half a century so we recently decided to open a medium sized licensed bar, (October 5th 2012) for residents and non residents alike. Stuteley’s is an idea put together by us to provide a Cafe Bar for all to come and enjoy, We feel that Stuteley’s is in a well located position for Mums that do coffee, Ladies and Gents that do Lunch to folk that like a relaxing drink in nice comfortable surroundings anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Devonia Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing