We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, great location, friendly service, overall a brilliant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Devonia Lodge Guest House
Ranked #7 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Me and my wife came to Chester to celebrate her birthday. We stopped at the devonia lodge guest house and could not fault our stay there. A really nice place, great location to get in to Chester, lovely clean and spacious rooms, a nice clean friendly bar and a cracking breakfast!!! If you wanted a perfect bed and breakfast then this is the place. The hosts were two lovely people and made us very welcome. Thanks for making our stay a very enjoyable one, we shall definitely be coming again! Nick and Leanne Hudson.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huddo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hi Nick & Leanne, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. We hope you had a good drive home and look forward to seeing you next time you are in Chester. If you decide to bring the children next time let us know and we will of course give you our best rate on our family room, I'm sure they would love the Zoo! Kind regards, M&M Devonia Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 238 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

just had a lovely weekend at the devonia lovely hosts mark and marie nothing was to much trouble nice room lovely breakfast great location for everything would definately stay there again if you are looking for value for money plenty of good restaurants and 5 minutes from the train look no further

Room Tip: if you are looking for a friendly place good service give this a look i did and i wasnt dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Michelle, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, it's very much appreciated. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime. I hope your son enjoyed Cheshire Oaks on the way home and he didn't spend all your money!! Kind regards, M&M Devonia Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We arrived to a very friendly warm welcome. Not knowing the area at all the owners were fantastic. They told us everything we needed to know and made us feel right at home
The room was large very clean and plenty of storage space.
The room was also lovely and warm making it feel very cosy.
Breakfast was delicious plenty of choice and an amazing full english breakfast.Served with a smile.
There was also a cosy bar area fantastic if you want to relax somewhere apart from your room.
It felt like staying at a home from home and will definitely stay again next time we visit Chester.
over all a lovely stay and looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsay a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Lindsay, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, it's very much appreciated. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed Chester itself. We hope to see you next time you visit Chester. Kind regards, M&M Devonia Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed at Devonia from 18 March for 4 nights in room 3. The room was a good size and nice and warm. I spoke to the owners before I booked about the negative comments as they did make me nervous and they were quite open about each situation. I have stayed at other places before where there were negative feedback but I found them to be good.

I believe the owners are refurbishing the bathrooms shortly which will improve the rooms even more. I had a comfortable nights sleep and found the owners very nice. Upon booking you get an email which confirms the guest house rules which I feel is fair. The main one I was unsure of was not taking takeaway into the rooms, however, when we talked about it they confirmed this was so the other people staying were not affected by take away smells because things like curry and fish and chips could make the upstairs smell which I think was fair enough.

Would I stay here again YES. Is it value for money YES.

The location is good plenty of shops around and I would say around 1.5 mile from the city centre.

Thanks again for your hospitality and anyone thinking of staying dont be put off by the negative comments, or atleast email/call the owners to hear their side.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoMattPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, it's very much appreciated. We feel that we offer good value for money and we are pleased to hear that you would be happy to stay with us again. Thanks for your balanced views and opinions. We hope you managed to get the job you were after, all the best.
M&M Devonia Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I prebooked by telephone and left my card details to secure the room. On arrival i explained due to work i wasn't sure how many nights i would be staying that week and i would let them know asap. Two nights later i explained i would be leaving in 2 days and would be back the following week. I wanted to settle the bill, but was told by the landlady she had taken 7 nights money (even though i was only there 4 nights). I tried to contact them for 2 days for refund of my money which i eventually got but not for the full amount. The room was shabby outdated and the shower either froze or scolded you. In the 4 nights i was there my room was not cleaned or towels changed. Do yourself a favour steer clear

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debra2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Devonia Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

The guest quite rightly informed us by telephone that he could be called away to work on another job at a moment’s notice, we informed him before he came to stay,( as we do with all our prospective guests) that he must be made aware that there is and always has been a 5 working day cancellation policy in order to offer a cheaper rate, (not including Saturday and Sundays) to cover our losses if we rent the room out, preventing someone else from taking the room for a longer period, this is made clear over the phone, on our website and in our e-mails.


We offered him a reduced rate for staying more than 7 days, this customer had a triple en-suite room, (consisting of 1 double bed and a single bed) at the time for £30.00 per night! The guest was instructed by us that the payment must be paid on arrival in full for 7 days for that week via confirmation e-mail then a £25.00 per night would be applied therein after the 7 days throughout his stay with us, he then instructed us that he would be leaving after 4 nights and would be returning the following week we told him that the 5 day cancellation policy was in place which he reluctantly accepted he knew about, we offered him a long term discount as he maintained he anticipated staying for 4 weeks or more, hence we have a policy in place for such promises as the generous discounts could be subject to abuse to our detriment.


The three nights were refunded to the guest in full minus a £10.00 admin fee, our rooms are perfectly acceptable, warm, safe and clean, far from shabby with defective showers we provided spacious room with flat screen digital TV, en-suite facilities, tea and coffee making facilities and the provision (in this case) of 4 towels, maid service is stood down while we have long term guests in, to a weekly basis (Friday) towels are available on request anytime.


The guest surprisingly asked for either a blank or an inflated receipt for his stay to present as expenses to either the Inland Revenue or his employer, in front of the owner and staff, which was declined, we wonder that if his request was successful would his spurious comments have ever reached TripAdvisor? We now have an in-house policy and an absolute right to respond to any feedback on TripAdvisor or others, favourable or otherwise to offer our account of a guests stay and any comments relevant to their stay with us, that could not be addressed face to face at the time so that other prospective guests have an honest two sided balanced account.


Here below is a cut and paste copy of this customers confirmation e-mail:

“Hi XXXX,
Thank you very much for your enquiry, we have now reserved an en-suite room for you for SINGLE OCCUPANCY on the 10th February 2013 for approximately 4 weeks. Total reduced cost is £30.00 per room per night for room only for the first 7 nights, then £25.00 per night if you are staying 6 nights or more each week, otherwise the £30.00 rate will apply.
We have taken a £30.00 non-refundable deposit from your Visa debit card as agreed on the phone/by email. Please kindly pay the balance on arrival in UK pounds sterling (card or cash), and then in advance for the following week every Sunday.

We look forward to seeing you around 7.00 pm on the 10/2/13 however if you are going to be much later or indeed earlier please let us know on the above number.

T&C's

*Please note *
That deposits are non-refundable & we would need 5 full working days (not Sat & Sun) notice by email for any cancellations or 100% cost of the room/s will be charged to your card* (sorry no exceptions).”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Our stay at Devonia Lodge on 23 September was very pleasant. We arrived late but were received in a very friendly manner and everything was explained very clearly. There was a stack of information on what to do and how to get there. Devonia is very conveniently situated for bus and cab transport into the city. It was very easy to find on entering Chester. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the breakfast was really hearty. I shared a bathroom with other guests and that is usually a yardstick - it was always spotless. It was great not having to look for parking and a treat having a bank auto within sight. We felt very safe at all times walking up and down Hoole Road. I would recommend Devonia to anyone as it is very good value for money. I do not agree with the negative comments - you need rules as many people are inconsiderate and have no respect for what does not belong to them.

Room Tip: If you take a chance you will be perfectly happy with what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for one night when in Chester for a work's night out. Owner's were really helpful and welcoming and lovely full english breakfast next morning. Room was large and clean at front of house and really good value for the price we paid. Will be staying again on our next night out! Thank you

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M155EEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,422 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,476 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
1.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonia Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonia Lodge Guest House

Address: 33-35 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonia Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomeDevonia dates back to 1856 and uniquely Devonia Lodge is the first guest house on Hoole Road in Chester both in time and location, Hoole Road (A56) is principally the main accommodation area of Chester, popular with visitors from all over the world due to its excellent location.Of all the guest houses on Hoole Road, Devonia Lodge is closest to both the city centre, (which is approximately 8-10 minutes walk), and 5 minutes to the railway station. The same family has run the Devonia since 1964, we offer you tremendous value for money and a homely welcome.Excellent ValueDevonia Lodge prides itself on offering you the customer comfort, service and highly competitive rates, our staff is largely made up of family and a competent morning team, each with their own personalities to make you feel at home.Stuteley's Cafe BarDevonia has been trading as a guest house for nearly half a century so we recently decided to open a medium sized licensed bar, (October 5th 2012) for residents and non residents alike. Stuteley’s is an idea put together by us to provide a Cafe Bar for all to come and enjoy, We feel that Stuteley’s is in a well located position for Mums that do coffee, Ladies and Gents that do Lunch to folk that like a relaxing drink in nice comfortable surroundings anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Devonia Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing