We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service from a good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great service from a good value hotel”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a handful of times in the past twelve months and have never had a bad visit.
There is plenty of free parking and the hotel is in a pleasant rural location even though it is just off a major road. As I drove in there were rabbits and squirrels on the front lawn which is not a sight you see everyday!
The reception staff are genuinely friendly and engage you in conversation whilst checking you in quickly and without fuss.
The rooms are pretty much standard with nothing outstanding but they are clean and comfortable so no complaints from me.
The bar service is also very good and the outside seating area is pleasant if the weather is fine.
Breakfast has a good selection of hot and cold food though you do sometimes have to queue to get a hot drink from the machine as it is not served to your table.
The only negative I would have is that it is 10 minutes outside of the City centre by taxi which is not ideal as there are hotels closer to the centre comparatively priced.
Overall I would recommend this hotel as a good value hotel with great service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 429SteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,359
    901
    398
    157
    88
See reviews for
442
1,410
50
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel.we stayed in a suite. Clean and modern. The bed was so comfy. Marco 's restaurant was smart and the food was gorgeous, better than the marco's in birmimgham. The staff on the reception were helpfull. Breakfast was a good variety of food and hot. 5 mins from the chesire oakes designer outlet.Definitely reccomend it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank slickchick69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My partner brought me here for my birthday and booked us in for a couples massage and a trip in the thermal area. It was lovely and extremely enjoyable. The rooms are quite basic but comfortable and clean. Chester is easy to get to but you do need to drive there. Breakfast was lovely in a really nice room that you can access outside from.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julieanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foulridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
660 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

WE stayed for 2 nights for the races weekend. The hotel was busy and full with a wedding, football event and plenty of people, like us, staying for the races. On check-in we found staff helpful and we were provided with their famous cookies which were very tasty and warm which pleased my partner. The room was clean and tidy and had a very comfy bed with clean linen. Breakfast was he usual mix of continental or cooked and was a good start to the day. The hotel in general was very clean and obviously kept to a high standard. The location is close to the motorway but on the outskirts of the town situated in it own grounds which again were kept well. A taxi ride into town, however, was only £6 and could be booked via reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_MrsBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
200 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed at the Doubletree by Hilton Chester hotel for just two nights.
The check in was smooth and I must say that the staff is really warm and friendly.
The room is very basic, do not expect to be blown away - it is just basic.

I had the Continental Breakfast. The coffee tastes exactly like an industrial coffee machine tastes like. the croissants were not fresh.

On the other hand, we had dinner at the brasserie and it was just great although our wine too warm like a wine soup.

Good points: The cookies are delicious and WiFi signal is excellent.

Unfortunately, I heard that the gym is wonderful there and that it is the highlight of this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed on a Friday night on a stay and dine package which included a 3 course meal at MPW's. First room was fab large with his and hers sinks unfortunately next door was a group of very loud foul mouthed young lads who were running a rave from 5pm until we moved rooms at 8pm - goodness knows how the other guests on the first floor slept if they continued all night! The reception staff were helpful, readily agree to our request to move and offered to help us to move our luggage. The room we moved to on the ground floor was smaller but still better sized than the average hotel - only problem with the room was chocolate finger marks on the cream curtains. Very clean, a massive bed and a really hot powerful shower and big fluffy towels so no complaints from me. At MPWs we could choose from the set menu or use £23.50 each allowance towards the standard menu - hubby had T-bone steak and I had steak and kidney pie food was fab (if a little expensive) staff very attentive and the atmosphere in the restaurant was lovely. Used the spa in the afternoon and again no complaints. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and we were seated in the conservatory which is a little less busy. Went home feeling indulged and relaxed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PassionatelyStroppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NESTON, WIRRAL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Booked in a day spa package with my wife for our 10 wedding anniversary. Package was £180 which included full body massage, facility use and light lunch. Have been on many spa packages at various places around the UK, we know what to expect and what hotels shoulder deliver.

First good points, gym facilities are very good, latest technogym equipment and lots of it. The Spa, well the actual massage for both of us was really nice.

Now the issues, in places like this it's the small details which can make or break a spa. Firstly biggest issue, the light lunch is awful. Heard other guests say it was disgusting, and it was. A very poor attempt at a buffet salad, very poor. Motorway service stations do a lot better. Only item not a salad was some dire pasta or the worst quiche in the world. If this lunch is made in house the chef needs sacking. The deserts are cake slices covered in cling film, honestly it is so awful.

Next, the pool / thermal areas some will like, some not. As there's very little natural light, it feels very Claustrophobic. There is also a lack of loungers, but that's probably as it's not a big space. There are notices for people not to reserve loungers but while we were there a lot if people in an aqua class were actually doing that. So staff not checking as the notice says they will. There was a couple who has brought a baby into the pool area, and constantly left it by itself in a carry cot unattended whilst they went off, out of sight into the outside thermal pool area. Unbelievably these days that people can do that, but again no member of staff challenged them.

Then there's some picky thing, not heating the towels in the treatment rooms, the young spa desk staff chatting about personal things and giggling really loudly, no area to nip for a coffee or drink and so on.....

I would definitely not recommend the Spa, go to Chester Grosvenor, Pullford, Thornton Hough Hotel and Spa, Craxton Wood, all are so much better than here,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GYP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,073 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,332 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing