We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service - nice hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent service - nice hospitality”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Thought it was a lovely hotel - friendly and charming staff and very clean - would recommend. Had pork chop in the Brasserie as teh Marco Pierre White restaurant was full. 10 minute taxi from Chester station.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyfulljoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments relating to your recent stay.

I am pleased to read that you had a nice stay with us, and found our staff to be welcoming and friendly.

We hope you are able to come and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    890
    392
    156
    87
See reviews for
432
1,394
49
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Upgraded to a Junior Suite and it was very good. Bed was huge and extremely comfortable. Nice seating area and workdesk if required. Very good breakfast and service. Had a good relax in the giant jacuzi and the steam rooms were all very relaxing

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank babaloo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary here with us at the DoubleTree Chester.

It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your upgrade to a junior suite, and managed to find some time to relax through in the Club and Spa.

We all look foprward to seeing you back the the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Room was impressive and disabled facilites were second to none! The hotel staff were friendly and the spa was great experience and well worth a visit. The food was great and we had breakfast in the room which was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank debrapauli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.

It is pleasing to read that our accessible facilities were suitable for you and our staff friendly throughout your stay.

How nice that you were able to enjoy breakfast at leisure in your room.

We hope that you get the opportunity to return to stay with us again soon, and we all very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were here for a birthday weekend with the girls. This is not a relaxing spa type hotel but is very good for a party weekend. On arrival I felt the reception needed a bit of a spruce up, stained seats are never a good look and dirty white faux leather sofas not good. I can not fault the staff, reception were fantastic and the cookie is an added treat. The Spa was like my local pool on a Sunday morning, so many people and very noisy, there is no where to sit and to be honest £17 was a bit steep, my local pool is £4.50 and has a sauna and a steam room. Charge double and keep the numbers down and it would have been fantastic. The Spa itself is lovely, very modern and clean, just far far to busy. Afternoon tea was lovely and the staff once again were good. Sandwichs were a little stale but the cakes were good. The cocktail class was brilliant and Jack and Rick were superb! We ate at the Marco restaurant which was good, that's all just good, nothing fancy. We were in a side room which was lovely for our little party. I slept like a log but I wear ear plugs others in my party said they were woken by a Hen party coming back. The rooms are great, clean, tidy and have everything you need. Breakfast was very good, full English, tea, OJ and all help yourself and once again the staff were very good.
This is a good hotel thats needs to think about the Spa area its poor but on the whole a great party Hotel and I would happily go again for a party weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share a review with us.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your weekend with us, especially the cocktail masterclass.

It is great to hear how all the staff, in particular Jack and Ricky, enabled you to all enjoy your time spent with us, I will make sure your feedback is relayed to them.

We hope you are able to come back and stay with us again soon, and we all look forward to wecloming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My 4 daughters and I had a great spa day using a
Living Social Deal. The spa was very welcoming although quite busy for a Friday. We had treatments each followed by a two course lunch. The treatments were performed by experienced professionals and we left feeling very relaxed. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysSeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing a review with us relating to your recent spa day.

I am delighted to read that you all had a great day here at the Club and Spa Chester, and left feeling relaxed after your treatments.

We all look forward to seeing you at the hotel and Spa again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night to sample spa facilities. Great location and spa facilities. Friendly staff. Great service and food in the Marco restaurant. Only letdown was the leather bacon provided at breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased tp read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the use of the Spa facilities and your meal in our Marco Pierre White restaurant.

We all hope you can come back and stay again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire, England
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Booked a dinner, bed and breakfast package. Room was very nice and the meal in the restaurant was lovely. We planned to breakfast then enjoy the pool/sauna/steam room facilities. However on returning to our room after breakfast there was a letter pushed under our door informing us that due to the spa being oversubsribed the pool area was closed to hotel guests after 10am that day. They would have known this the previous day yet did not tell us to allow us to use the faculities the night before. With nothing else to do in the hotel we had no choice but to leave. This hotel markets itselfs based on its pool/spa and yet you arent allowed to use them. NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveholiday04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share a review with us in relation to your recent stay.

It is lovely to read that you had a relaxing evening with us and enjoyed your meal in the hotel restaurant.

Please accept my apolgies in relation of the closure of the swimming pool to hotel guests. It was brought to our attention in the morning that the pool was going to reach capacity due to the number of bookings arriving and the number of guests in the hotel. We had to make a decission to inform our guests by letter, as opposed to them being turned away from the Club reception, that access from 10am would be denied to all hotel residents. This is not common practice for us, but we do have a duty of care for our guests and their safety is our priorty, therefore on this occassion we did have to take this option so as to not overfill the pool area. I would like to once again offer my sincerest apologies, please feel free to contact our Spa Manager, Catherine, should you wish to discuss this any further.

We hope that you will consider coming back to stay with us again, we would all like to welcome to back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#26 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing