We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good, but not Amazing”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Large, clean & well presented modern hotel with all the trimmings.
Could be amazing with a little extra attention to detail: front entrance to the hotel - the sign has letters missing & is covered in bird poo!.. that's a minor, but it all counts right?
The Spa was OK - but the steam rooms had some annoying high pitched ringing sound that didn't stop, the hydrotherapy massage waterfall thing was out of action in the outdoor pool, and the spa was veerrrryyyy busy - this was on a Saturday. No space for treatments, staff on the front desk were pretty rude (only in the spa, main hotel were very good). So that let it down a little bit. Oh, and the male showers were dirty - rubbish strewn on the floor, looked like they needed a good scrub!

Nice rooms, v spacious, great breakfast, good hotel staff.
The hotel is a 4.5* - the spa is a 3.5*, so im giving it a 4*. Overall we had a nice stay, but I wouldn't pay £175 for it again - look for offers, it's not quite worth that really.

That said, Chester is great - don't stay in the hotel/marcos - get out!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TP_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share a review with us in relation to your recent stay.

It is lovely to read that you had a good stay with us and found the rooms to be spacious.

Your feedback in relation to the spa is greatly received and will be passed over to the Spa Manager to look into.

We hope you are able to come back and stay with us again, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    869
    386
    153
    81
See reviews for
422
1,366
49
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Booked on the Stay and Dine offer! Great value for money.
The hotel is lovely and all staff were very helpful. The cookies on check-in were delicious!
Room was comfy and clean, although took a while to find the plugs!
The spa was great although very busy on the Sunday. people were reserving beds with their towels but not using them, which meant we gave up and went to relax in our room! On the Monday it was quieter.
Both dinner and breakfast was scrummy.
Can't wait to book again although will look for a spa deal so we know we have full access to the spa. On the Stay and Dine you only have from check in at 3pm until 12 noon on the day you check out, unlike most places where you can use the facilities all day.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank skijunkie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us on our Stay and Dine package and liked your DoubleTree Cookies on arrival.

We look forward to seeing you bcak at the hotel again soon for your spa break.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Our stay at the Doubletree was once again fabulous! From checking in to leaving it was a wonderful experience. Lovely rooms, friendly and helpful staff, great food and wonderful spa! The location is perfect and it was good value for money as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank MMacM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guesy

Thank you for sharing a review with us relating to your recent stay.

It delights me to erad that you had another fabulous stay with us.

All the team here at the DoubleTree look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHYL, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We use this hotel for the spa and dining experience. Only a short ride to Chester -its perfect! Shopping, Spa and dining..my favourite things! We have visited several times- as a couple and with a group of friends. Every visit has been perfect- no complaints at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing a review with us on your time spent here at the DoubleTree.

It is great to read that you always enjoy yoursleves at the hotel, especially in our Spa and hotel restaurants.

We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESTER, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had a great sunday night deal -evening dinner and B&B for 2 on travelzoofor £115.Lovely hotel, nice cookie on arrival, clean rooms and great spa.Tip!!!- Take your towel with you to the spa as you go from the changing rooms into a corridor and then a lift!I left mine in the changing room thinking I was walking straight into the spa so dripping wet in lift on way back!Only 10 minutes drive into CHESTER. Would defo use hotel again. Carol from North Wales

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments in relation to your recent stay.

I am delighted to read that you took advantage of our Stay and Dine package and had a great time with us.

We all hope that you get the opportunity to come back and stay again and we all look forward to welcoming you back with some more DoubleTree Cookies.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Double Tree Hilton In Chester was a lovely hotel in a convenient location. It was very clean, comfortable, and had a bustling atmosphere. We enjoyed our stay. All staff we dealt with were welcoming and very professional. The rooms were spacious, beds beautiful to sleep in, and clean. Our only addition would have been more sockets to charge devices - in a room for 4 only 2 sockets!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing a review with us.

It pleases me to read that you had a great stay with us and found our location close to Chester to be advantageous.

We do supply more plugs in all rooms through the power towers located in the desks.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I had to wait for 15 mins to check-out. There was a long queue and only 1 person at the desk - people were really complaining ! I would expect an easy, quick check-out, especially in the morning when people have to catch planes, trains, taxis,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Noella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It disappoints me to read that you had to queue to check out. We do offer an express check-out service, whereby you are able to sign the bill left under your door through the night and leave it at reception to be processed and forwarded on to you to avoid having to wait.

I apologise if this service was not of help to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,277 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing