We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas Lunch 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Xmas Lunch 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Decided to eat out on Xmas Day and after a little research we settled on the Doubletree, Chester.
Arrived at 2.45pm for a table booked for 3.30pm. The staff were attentive upon our arrival and our coats were soon in the secure cloaks area and we sat at the bar with a drink in a warm, convivial atmosphere awaiting our table. Once seated at our table the staff could not have been nicer and nothing was too much trouble. It was cold and raining outside and the soup starter was excellent,
we were then offered a choice of 4 meats for our main course with lashing of roasties, mixed veg,
and all the trimmings. Xmas pud and creamy custard followed by coffee and mince pie. It was a cavery style meal but even so the staff served at the table with a smile. Good food, excellent staff and no washing up afterwards.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_C186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for choosing to spend Christmas 2013 here with us at the DoubleTree Chester.

I am absolutely delighted that you had a lovely lunch with us, and all our staff were friendly and attentive, even better that you had no washing-up afterwards!

We hope you are able to come back again next Christmas, if not before, and all the team look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,330
    871
    387
    153
    82
See reviews for
422
1,371
49
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Lovely hotel with respect to overnight accommodation. Service was excellent and room extremely comfortable and contemporary. Catering at Christmas do was poor unfortunately and not value for money. Hot dogs, burgers and food which deviated from the menu.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank donna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Just had a lovely meal at this hotel. We were a party of around 60 and our Christmas lunch was held in the large room near the spa, perfect for our party. I thought it might be chilly in there as the ceiling is very high but the heating was efficient and in fact some were complaining that it was too hot! The food was very good and the service was very efficient and the room was attractively decorated for the Christmas season. We are already looking forward to going back next Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chesterhappydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments in relation to your recent Christmas lunch here with us at the DoubleTree Chester.

It is lovely to read that you all had a great time with us and are already looking forward to coming back next Christmas.

We all look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We attended the Doubletree on Saturday night for our work Xmas do. We have been there previously and it was great but this time it was awful. We had a sit down meal and was told to be there for 7pm as dinner was served 745 Prompt ! Well that was a joke as we got our stater at 840, the bread was stale and the soup cold, the bowl was hot thou ! It did taste nice but was cold and we didn't enjoy it . There was no choice , unlike the previous year . Then we waited over an hr for our main , it was chicken breast with a bone in it , no roast potatoes and on a small plate and not presented nicely ! Then pudding was 45 mins later , that was weird but nice chocolate and chrisas pudding cheesecake ! The bar made up teir prices as we went the bar on several occasions and the prices varied ! The lights in the bar were too low and the dance floor too small , a real shame really as we won't be going there again ! Not wasting £40 per head . I can say thou the best part of the night was the fish and chips , served around 1130 ish !! As we hadn't really eaten our dinner they were just what we needed !

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeyandem2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback.

It disappoints me to hear that you didn't enjoy your Christmas party with us. This is certainly not the lasting impression we endeavour to create with any guest.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss anything further. My email adress is kirsty.martin@doubletreechester.com

We hope that despite this, you will consider coming back to us and we would all look forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had a last minute 3 day getaway to this lovely hotel. It was so relaxing. Really friendly staff, wonderful food and very comfortable room. We left feeling refreshed and ready to get back to work with renewed vigour.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rejuvenator2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out some time to share your review with us.

I am delighted that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us, and left feeling refreshed.

We hope that you get the opportunity to return and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Arrived late and when I got to the room the cover on the bed looked like someone had vomited on it - appealing. Door wouldn't shut properly and the air con unit was so noisy it kept me awake. I'm hoping for a better stay next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.

I am disappointed to learn that you experienced difficulties during your stay and would like to offer our sincerest apologies.

We hope that you are able to return and stay with us again, and give us the opportunity to prove that is is not our normal standard of service.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Mratin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed with some friends to go Christmas shopping in Chester along with an afternoon tea at the Grosvenor Hotel (see my seperate review - fabulous!). We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast package which was such a good deal. Lovely greeting on arrival with warm cookies which was such a nice touch. Room was great, superking sized bed and a double sofa bed in an annexe room. Lovely toiletries, clean towels, robes and slippers. There was some dust behind the door in the bathroom and a few hairs but nothing really major. More tea and coffee would have been nice rather than one tea bag each but that wasn't a problem. Dinner was in the Marco Pierre White restaurant - it was nice however I have had nicer meals elsewhere but we weren't complaining as we were moved there out of the Brasserie for dinner. Bar prices were quite high but to be expected for a Hilton Hotel but the cocktails were really nice and the service was excellent. We were disturbed in the middle of the night by rowdy guests (presumably from the wedding party there) and we were on the brink of complaining, however they seemed to settle down and we managed to get back to sleep. Breakfast was a let down. Buffet style but very slow to replenish the food, impossible to find a clean cup for tea/coffee, coffee machine needed emptying frequently so slow to get a drink, orange juice was very concentrated and sweet - not very nice and some of the cutlery was dirty. There didn't seem to be enough staff available to clear away plates quickly. This was a shame as it lets the hotel down. On checkout, there was an issue over the amount charged - relating to a supplement for eating at Marco Pierre White, however this was quickly resolved without issue. In all, a fab weekend in a good hotel but improvements needed.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator as it can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exvoguemodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your thoughts with us in relation to your recent stay.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your time spent with us.

Please accept my sincere apologies if there was some shortfall in our breakfast service. Your feedback is vital to us in improving our service and facilities and will be relayed to the restauarant manager.

We hope that you get the opportunity to return and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing