We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ 'Perfect Wedding'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“ 'Perfect Wedding'”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Me and my NEW husband had our Wedding at the Doubletree on Saturday 9th November in the Abbey Suite. From start to finish it was everything we could of wished for.
Eric was our dedicated toastmaster for the day, he and is team were outstanding! The food was amazing both in the day and evening. Our guests gave great feedback about the quality of food and they said 'The staff have done you proud'
They all made us feel special and I truly had the most amazing day thanks to the brilliant staff.
We cannot recommend this hotel enough if you are looking for a Wedding venue or for a break away.
Thanks once again to all the staff at the Doubletree who helped in giving me my dream Wedding.
Mr and Mrs Maddison

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank catherinemaddison88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to spend your wedding day with us here at the DoubleTree Chester. A massive congratulations to you both from all the team here.

It is fantastic to read how you had the perfect day with us and that our Conference and Events Manager Eric ensured that the whole day went smoothly for you. I will pass on your personal thanks to Eric.

It delights me to read that you had excellent feedback from all of your guests, in particular regarding the food and the staff, all of which played an important part in making your day so special.

All the team at the DoubleTree look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon, and we wish you all the best for your future together.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    924
    414
    168
    92
See reviews for
462
1,457
52
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Travelling on business I stayed from Monday to Friday for 6 weeks at this hotel innvarious different rooms. The hotel isn't spectacular but it's my favourite hotel in chester. The spa is great, with its open air jacuzzi room type thing. Rooms are clean and big enough and they all seem to look about the same (or at least the 8 or so I stayed in were anyway). Sky sports in the rooms is a nice touch (you have to change the source on the remote) as is free wifi and speakers in the bathrooms. The staff are freindly and made me feel welcome. The menu got a bit samey, but then again I was there for 6 weeks! Having said that they did start doing weekly specials in the last few weeks I was there which was nice and the MPW restaurant was good every time I went.
Overall this hotel had everything I needed as a business traveller and is my first choice for accommodation in Chester.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommytwonames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the DoubleTree during your recent time in Chester.

It is lovely to read that we are your favourite hotel in Chester, and that all staff were friendly and welcoming during your stay.

It is great to hear that you had some nice meals in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse and also enjoyed the new introduction of our specials menu in the hotel Brasserie.

We hope that you get the opportunity to come back and stay with us again soon, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The good points are the hotel is set in great surroundings and is close to Chester town centre. The bed was comfortable and shower was strong. But being honest the room felt a little too much like a travelodge and was not particularly clean (evidence of previous occupant and mould on window surrounds) and we really did not want to spend time in it. Perhaps one of the larger rooms may be a better bet. It just didn't feel as immaculate as a Hilton should.

Bar was also a little soul-less but fine if you like that sort of thing (ie lights on full).

Overall OK but I can't really recommend.

Room Tip: Not room 24!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay.

I am sorry to read that you left the hotel feeling less than satsisfied, this is by no means the lasting impression we wish to give our guests.

I am pleased that you liked our setting and found the lcoation close to the city centre to be advantageous.

We hope that you will return to stay with us to see that we are capable of providing the relaxing and comfortable stay you are looking for, and we would all like to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Booked a spa day for four to celebrate my daughter's 21st birthday. Mother & daughter spa day( both lime and ginger body scrub) and a spa day for two with facials. Lunch was included, robes slippers provided. On booking the lady did her best to accommodate our appointments as close together as possible, as we obviously wanted to have lunch together. She managed to accommodate us so we could have an early afternoon lunch together. Two of us have been before, with an overnight stay for New Years' Eve( highly recommended). Chose this location for a treat as we know how lovely the facilities are, especially the Watsu pool, (if I win the lottery,I want one in my garden)!

Arrived around 1030am, made our way to the relaxation room,as instructed and we were given an unexpected glass of bubbly, which was nice. We made out way down to the spa / pool area, to find the Watsu was closed for the day, it was a huge disappointment, as I had been "raving" to my daughter about how fantastic it was. As the watsu pool was closed, so were the jacuzzi/underwater loungers as they were all part of the same pool area, and the lap pool had an aerobics session going on. I spoke to a manager who informed me it had been closed at 930 a.m. for health and safety reasons. I didn't have a problem with this, more that we could have been informed on arrival, forewarned is forearmed as they say. The manager agreed we could have vouchers for a return visit for 4 to use the spa facilities, so all was not lost, and it didn't spoil our day.

The lime and ginger body scrub was a lovely treatment, although as it was only 40 minutes or so, felt a little rushed in that time, as part of that time includes you showering the scrub off. I would suggest a different treatment if you want something a little more relaxing. Post treatment we were taken to the Dreamwave room, huge bean bags on the floor with soothing wave sounds and lovely lighting. My daughter drifted off quite easily, itwas very relaxing The other two in our party had facials and couldn't speak highly enough of their treatment, and almost ""floated" over to us, post treatment. Maybe one to book for a future visit.

Lunch in the Terrace Restaurant overlooking the walled garden was lovely. Quite a decent buffet lunch, (cakes even)! We were greeted by the lovely Tiffany, such a pleasant young lady, who quite honestly helped make our day. She obviously enjoys her role meeting and greeting people.

There are cheaper options for spa days etc, but I think you get what you pay for, the facilities are lovely. I'm looking forward to using our complimentary vouchers,given as a gesture of goodwill for the "lack of facilities" on the day we visited. We will certainly have it on our list for future bookings too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillhouse8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review on your daughters birthday celebrations with us at the Club and Spa.

I am so pleased that you all had such a lovely (and relaxing!) day with us, and enjoyed the dreamwave room along with your treatments.

Please accept my apologies for the closure of the watsu area and lack of communication on arrival, I am glad however that the spa manager rectified this by giving you all vouchers to return to use the facilites again.

We all are looking forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I did not stay overnight in this hotel, but I booked a spa afternoon which included a treatment. The treatment was a massage and it was very nice, the staff are all very polite and professional. The facilities at this hotel are wonderful and there is a lovely pool of a decent size as well as a very large jacuzzi, sauna, and steam room.

The spa was not that busy considering it was a Sunday afternoon, but I suspect it is often frequented by people not staying in the hotel, so it will never be fully quiet.

We also ate at the lounge bar and I found the food very good and they had large portions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out some time to share a review with us on your recent visit to our Club and Spa.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful afternoon with us and enjoyed your massage along with the faclities in the spa area.

We hope that you can come back to us, and all the team look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was our 2nd stay and one of the only uk hotels I have been able to sleep in ! we Stayed for 2 nights , a wedding did take plac but did not create any noise. very close to city centre, great staff, service and quiet rooms.

Room Tip: above reception was quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I am pleased to see that yet again, you had a lovely stay and a good nights sleep!

It is geat to hear that the staff were all friendly throughout the stay and despite there being a function taking place, you were not disturbed.

We hope that you can come back and stay again soon, and all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Mratin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LL18 2TE, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

A returning visit. Excellent service. Fantastic facilities. Lovely pool and steam rooms. Highly recommended for the quality and value with in the area. A little out of the city center so a car or taxi needed for commuting.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,660 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,235 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,403 reviews
9.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing