We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing break”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We chose this hotel for several reasons: proximity to Chester old town as we wanted to explore, and for its spa.
Drive to Chester town is easy - 10/15 minutes or so, so if you wanted to travel by taxi, cost shouldn't be prohibitive.
Staff were welcoming and attentive (and the warm cookie provided at check in was most welcome!) and nothing was too much bother. Breakfast is good - self service buffet and has all you could possibly want. If you are booking in on the 'dinner, bed and breakfast' rate you will probably find something you would like on the 2/3 course menu that comes as part of this rate. If you are tempted to eating in the Marco Pierre White grill as an alternative - be prepared for the 3 figure bill - it is however very good.
There is a well equipped gym attached to the hotel and as a guest there is free entry. There is also a lap pool - not massive but big enough. The jacuzzi bit also has an area that is sort of outdoors - so its pleasant even when its a bit on the chilly side.
We had massages/hot stone treatments in the spa and thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity just to relax. All in all, a super little break

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeybee240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments in relation to your recent stay with us.

It is lovely to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and found our location to be advantageous for visiting the City of Chester.

I am pleased that you had some time to enjoy the facilities in the Club and Spa along with your hot stones treatments allowing you to have some time to relax.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,380
    911
    403
    167
    91
See reviews for
452
1,434
51
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed in the Doubletree by Hilton over the weekend for a family wedding which was fabulous - have to say concerning the wedding they pulled out all the stops for the bride & groom. Our food for the wedding breakfast was fabulous!
I wish I could say the same for the breakfast!!! It was all self service - so you had to queue for tea/coffee, toast, hot food, juices & cereals if you wanted them too!
At £15 per person & £16.95 for room service - I think albeit a pricey breakfast - it may have been worth the extra £1.95 to have it hot & served all at once in your room - instead of queuing for each individual thing - by the time the toast & tea/ coffee are ready your hot food has gone cold! that's assuming there was enough left of what you were looking for! didn't look too appetising really!
The rooms are adequate & comfortable enough but the two rooms our party were in had problems getting the showers ( situated over the bath) to drain away - I guess the plug holes have not been rid of hairs too often by the amount of time it took to drain!!
Otherwise the hotel is very pleasant & set in beautiful laid out lawns - would have been perfect for photographs had the weather been less inclement !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyt978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us on your recent visit to the hotel.

It is lovely that you enjoyed such a wonderful day here celebrating a family wedding, I will be certain to pass on your thanks to the Conference and Banquetting team.

Please accept my apologies for the shortfall in service in relation to Breakfast. Your comments have been relayed to the relevant department head to review with their team. This is certainly not the lasting impression we wish to create for our guests, and your feedback will be acted upon.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to prove that we are capable of providing a comfortable and relaxing stay by returning to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed on Sunday as part of the Come Dine & Stay package. Really nice hotel, plenty of parking and very busy for a Sunday.

Check in was easy, complimentary cookie was a nice touch as was the cake that they had left in the room for my wife's birthday. The rooms are spacious, massive bed and all the ammenities that you normally get with a decent hotel.

Had a few drinks in the bar (which are about the normal price for hotel drinks) and tried to book a table for our evening meal. As it was very busy we couldn't eat until later which wasn't too much of a problem so asked if we could eat in the bar area which is directly next to the restaurant - not a problem. Just as we were about to order they said they'd had a cancellation so we moved to the restaurant area. Throughout the night a fair few of the table were still empty so don't really understand why they couldn't fit us in earlier.

The food was very good, well worth the wait which at times was a little long but the food more than made up for the wait. Included in the stay is the 3 course menu which was limited but you could chose from the whole bar/restaurant menu but you had £19.50 to spend, anything over that you paid the extra. The breakfast was also very good with loads of options and always plenty of food available.

The hotel is in a great position from the motorway, Cheshire Oaks and to Chester - 5 min drive away.

All in all a great stay, didn't use the spa as it was pretty busy but would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us,

I am delighted to read that you were able to take advantage of our current Stay and Dine Package, including dinner in the hotel Brasserie and it sounds like you had a lovely stay with us.

I am also pleased that you liked the complimentary birthday cake for your wife's birthday along with your warm DoubleTree Cookies on arrival.

We do hope you can come back and stay again soon, and all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great wedding attended here for my lovely Niece Charlotte and New Hubby Craig. We arrived after church ceramony, booked into our room and then joined the wedding party downstairs.
Excellent staff upon reception, we dealt with Louise Feenan whom I recommend to all as she offered and supplied an excellent service and all as promised. Very proffessional and easy arrival service and booking out.
We had a family suite which offered excellent space, comfy beds and good family bathroom with all the required facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuvriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us for your niece's wedding.

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us and that the whole process from booking your stay with Louise in our reservations team to when you checked out with reception was troublefree. I will pass on your thanks to Louise and the rest of the team.

We hope that you are able to come and stay with us again soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Recently enjoyed a couple of days at the Hilton Doubletree in Chester with my husband. The hotel is very modern inside, disappointing for me but hey, I guess that is what the masses want. The room was comfortable, quite corporate so nothing individual about it at all. We ate dinner in the Marco Pierre White restaurant which was, if I'm honest, disappointing. The menu looked amazing but the food didn't really live up to expectations. I had duck which was a bit bland and my husband had a steak. Dessert was superb. My chocolate mousse was to die for. We enjoyed the spa facilities. Well set out, clean and very enjoyable. This was the highlight for us. I wouldn't rush back to eat at the MPW restaurance. We've eaten at much better restaurants. Breakfast in the brasserie was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akers33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comments in relation to your recent stay.

I am pleased to see that you had a nice stay with us and especially enjoyed the use of the facilities in our Club and Spa along with Breakfast in the hotel Brasserie.

I am sorry to read that you were left feeling less than satisified with the meal in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, I will pass your feedback to the restaurant manager, I am pleased however that your dessert was superb.

We hope that you are able to return to stay with us again in the near future and very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed there for my wife's 40th birthday,beautiful hotel,were really impressed when we first saw it
Dined at Marco Pierre White restaurant and the brasserie,both equally has good,service really good
Really enjoyed the "welcoming cookie" we got on arrival

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments in relation to your recent stay.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your time with us for your wife's 40th Birthday, including dining in both of the hotels restaurants, and that you liked the warm DoubleTree Cookies on arrival.

We hope that you are able to return to stay with us again and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kisrty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband visited this hotel for a relaxing one night break. The hotel grounds are very picturesque with the beautiful lake and garden areas. When we checked in we we're given hot cookies which was a nice touch, they were delicious!
The rooms were basic and clean and the bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!
The spa was amazing with steam rooms, aroma rooms and a sauna. You could easily spend hours in here. I have been to a few spa hotels and this is by far the best.
I would recommend the marco Pierre White restaurant. The food was amazing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be returning !!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lydulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review in relation to your recent stay with us here at the DoubleTree Chester.

It is wonderful to read what a fantatsic time you spent with us, and that you had an enjoyable meal in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse and managed to find some time to relax in our spa.

I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your warm cookies on arrival.

We hope that you are able to come back and visit us again soon and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,633 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,157 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,369 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing