We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I recently stayed on business for 1 night. The hotel is situated just outside Chester within beautiful grounds. When I arrived (at a quiet time in mid afternoon) the receptionist appeared to be very busy and seemed to rush through my check-in process but it was all done very efficiently. My room was well appointed, clean and comfortable. The complimentary wi-fi worked well. I had dinner in the Marco Pierre White restaurant and, although slightly pricey, the food (and beer) was good. Breakfast the next morning was also good. The only criticism (apart from the highiish room rate) was that there was a pumbing problem affecting my room whereby the shower and sink unit backed-up very easily and drained away very slowly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your comments in relation to your recent stay with us.

It is great to read that you had a comfortable stay with us, and that you had a nice meal in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse.

Your comments in relation to sink drainage have been passed on to our maintenance team to investigate, please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience that this may have caused you.

We hope that you are able to return to stay with us again in the near future, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,123 - 2,129 of 3,156 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night at the DoubleTree Chester on Sunday 13th October 2013 on the half board 'stay and dine' package. This represents extremely good value for money. Although the dinner choice on the 'stay and dine' menu was a bit limited, you are also able to select from the a la carte menu up to the value of your £19.50 per person allowance, paying for any balance above that amount. A 10% service charge is added to your bill before the £19.50 per person allowance is deducted, which is a bit cheeky. The package included a double room with a king size bed which could easily have slept three adults (not that we did, you understand). Oh, and then there's the spa - absolutely amazing, and easily the best that we have ever encountered in a hotel. We particularly enjoyed the 'outdoor' jacuzzi. If you're thinking of staying at this hotel, do consider staying on a 'package' as they represent excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on your recent stay at the DoubleTree.

I am delighted to read that you were able to take advantage of our current Stay and Dine Offer, which gave you excellent value for money, and that you particulary enjoyed the facilities in our Club and Spa, especially the open air Jacuzzi area, along with your meal in the hotel Brasserie.

Your feedback is important to us and will be relayed to all the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here for one night with a group of friends following a Tough Mudder event just outside Chester. I did have an issue when checking in as they'd got my name spelt incorrectly on my booking, although this was quickly sorted. We were each given a cookie after we'd checked in (delicious and a very nice touch!) and I also received a voucher for a free drink from the bar due to my Hilton HHonors membership.

The room itself was clean apart from a mark on one of the curtains that looked like dried blood. The king sized bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was a good size. The free wifi was quick and I had a good signal.

The service at the bar was good and the breakfast the next morning was very nice with a good selection of items. It was one of the better hotel breakfasts I've had, although perhaps a little expensive at £12.95.

I didn't try out any of the spa facilities myself, but those in my group that did said they were very impressed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stu_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree on your recent visit to Chester.

I am pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us, and inparticular enjoyed your breakfast and the complimenatry wifi access.

We look forwward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I can wholly recommend this hotel. Clean and well presented with very freindly staff and excellent accommodation and amenities. A good experience all round and the warm cookies on arrival are a lovely touch

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Fakeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Had junior suite and it was a lovely spacious room. Very large and comfortable bed. Helpful and friendly staff. Very good and varied breakfast. Enjoyed the warm cookie on arrival. Good location just outside Chester.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the hotel.

It is lovely to read that you had a nice stay with us in one of our spacious junior suites.

We hope that you get the opportunity to return to stay with us again soon, and we all look forward to welcoming you back with some more warm DoubleTree Cookies.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked online & paid £80 for 1 night, when we arrived the reception staff were very informative.
That evening we dined in MPW steakhouse and had an enjoyable meal.
For breakfast we ordered room service, it was 30 mins late and the milk and fruit had been forgotten, we called room service to let them know and they sent milk and 1 fruit up not bringing the other portion. The breakfast itself was rather disappointing, tasteless beans and hard dry croissants.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rookhillstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments in relation to your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that our reception staff were informative on arrival, and that you enjoyed a nice meal in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse.

Your feedback in reation to breakfast is valued, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvience you experienced, I have passed this to the restaurant manager to follow up with the team.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I recently dined at the hotel and enjoyed the "7 course taster menu" which was a present from my husband for my birthday. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, it was simply outstanding. My friend and I dined like queens for the evening, the food was simply breathtaking and the service and ambience were first class and I can certainly recommend here without question and will be returning very soon!

Mrs Lisa Done

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaDone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

It is absolutely lovely to read that you and your friend had a wonderful evening with us celebrating your birthday with our 7 course taster menu.

I will be certain to pass on your comments to the Marco Pierre White Steakhouse manager to feed back to his team.

We all loook forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,758 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,548 reviews
2.2 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,165 reviews
9.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $75 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing