We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Early Bird Marco Pierre White Offer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Early Bird Marco Pierre White Offer”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife recently purchased a Groupon offer for an Early Bird meal between 5 and 7pm at this restaurant. Expecting to receive smaller portions and lesser quality service, however this was not the case, food was top class, steaks were delicious and surprised at the portion size; full after 2 courses. Also service was excellent and waitresses very attentive. Excellent value for money in great surroundings.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dippy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments in relation to your dining experience with us in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse.

It is fantatsic to hear that you had such a nice evening, and were able to take advantage of one of our great offers currently running through Groupon.

Your feedback is valued and will be passed on to the restaurant manager to share with his team.

We hope that you have the opportunity to return to dine with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,342
    888
    392
    156
    87
See reviews for
431
1,393
49
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Double Tree by Hilton Chester is an excellent hotel in an excellent location with an excellent Marco Pierre White restaurant and excellent pool area. A lovely breakfast area matches the excellent breakfast slightly spoiled by smoked bacon which isn’t my choice for breakfast. The suite we were in was superb with a rotating TV; that allowed viewing in bed or swivelled 180% to view in the sitting area. The only let down was the autocratic spa receptionist who insisted that we go back to reception to get a key card holder before we could enter the pool area. Don’t eat a tasting menu at Marco Pierre White’s if you like more than a mouthful for a starter or a tiny steak main course. Tasty but tiny portions that left everyone hungry.

Room Tip: Choose a suite overlooking the garden for a superb room with a quiet night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulD590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thnak you for posting a review on your recent stay with us here at the DoubleTree Chester.

It is fantastic to read that you had a super stay with us and had an enjoyable meal in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse and enjoyed your relaxing suite overlooking the gardens.

We hope that you get the opportunity to return to stay with us again in the near future and all the team look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had a spa day with lunch,what a decadent way to recharge your batteries.From reception onwards the staff were very attentive,my beauty therapist Sophie had a magical touch and I experienced a wonderful facial,wow will I sleep tonight,thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to spend your spa day here with us at the Club and Spa Chester.

It is so nice to read that you had such a relaxing experience with us, and I will be certain to pass on your personal thnaks to out therapist Sophie.

I hope you are able to come back and spend some more time with us in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the hotel after spending a day in the spa. I have visited the spa before & its excellent - a really relaxing day with a nice lunch.
We booked into the hotel after getting a deal for bed & breakfast for £78 - great price, nice rooms & overall good facilities with very friendly, helpful staff.
The one thing that let it down was something quiet minor -the toasters in the breakfast room! The breakfast itself was fine with plenty of choice but unfortunately by the time I'd waited for the toaster the cooked breakfast I'd selected was lukewarm at best. There were several people voicing their annoyance with this & as I said, its a small thing but it was very annoying at the time.
Overall a great place to stay, just sort some decent toasters out!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally2464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review in relation to your recent stay with us.

It is great to read that you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us including a day in our spa.

Your comments in relation to the toasters in the breakfast room is important to us and will be passed on to the Brasserie Manager to investigate.

We hope that ou come back and stay with us again soon, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hi, I stay there as I went to the Liverpool v Southampton home game. Spent that night in the Double Tree in Chester. Hotel really impressive, facilities were also impressive. The grounds were outstanding and so well kept. I would definitely stay there again, and recommend to my friends going forward.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was booked as an anniversary treat for our daughter and her partner,and proved to be a treat indeed.From the moment they arrived the wonderful staff here made them feel special and welcome .Not only did they give them a complimentary upgrade to a suite,but a lovely Anniversary cake was waiting for them in their room.The service was excellent ,to the point that when the coffee machine in their room ran out of coffee,a member of staff made a special trip to sainburys for more!Every aspect of the stay,from the food ,to the spa and the room itself was faultless.Thank you all ,your attention to detail and kindness made their day special.Highly recommended

Room Tip: Tell the staff when yoy book if its a special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments in relation to your daughters recent stay with us here at the DoubleTree Chester.

It is wonderful to read how we helped to make their anniversary extra special with an upgrade to one of our suites and the complimentary annivesary cake. It sounds like they had a fabulous stay with us.

It is lovely to hear how all the staff contributed to making their stay a relaxing and enjoyable experience.

We hope that all of you will get the opportunity to come and stay with us some time in the near future.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Second time we have stayed at this hotel and it really is very good with some small niggles.

Rooms great, not overley large but well maintained and excellent bathroom, top facilities as you would expect from hilton. Great grounds good location large parking facilities.

Small points- self service breakfast? 4 star hotel? Don't get me wrong food quality excellent but not to even be served tea or coffee but this to come from machine, although effective is slightly disappointing.

All in all it's very good. We got a great deal and paid under 80 for room bb which is excellent value. If I was paying 150+ a night I really would fail to see the value. If you can get a deal that keeps the price reasonable absolutely would I recomend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFirrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M, Reception at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us on your recent visit.

I am pleased to read that you took advantage of one of our magnificent promotions, securing a room for less than £80 including breakfast.

Your feedback in relation to tea and coffee service is valued, and will be relayed to the Food and Beverage Manager.

We hope that you are able to secure another deal with us in order to return in the near future, and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#26 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing