We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Overall very good”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my family. My husband and my two daughters, as soon as we we entered the hotel we we welcomed. Happy friendly reception warm cookies! Staff was excellent, especially hotel concierge gareth. He made our stay a special one, he could not do enough for us helped my husband set up our wifi on phone. Booked us a table in the brasserie, fetched us some ice in our bucket helped with luggage, and refused a £5 tip saying he couldn't take it as it was too much!! Excellent service a lovely lad and very polite. Will be staying again shortly!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliewilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,378
    911
    403
    165
    91
See reviews for
450
1,432
51
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel is certainly set in very attractive grounds and appears upmarket but looks are deceptive. I don't understand why a hotel with an award winning Chefs' restaurant as it's attraction then flogs discount vouchers and packs the place to the rafters to the extent that they seem unable to deliver decent service.
The restaurant and bar staff seem overwhelmed with the numbers of guests. There were a number of hen parties/large groups staying at the same time as us who seemed to spend most of their time wandering around in bathrobes between the Spa and their rooms - it is an unusual sight every time you pass through reception.

The food quality at breakfast was exceptionally good however this hotel takes self service to a new level. Usually at Doubletree/Hilton whilst food is buffet service tea and coffee are served to you at the table along with orange juice.
Not here - self service coffee and tea from a machine in the corner. They don't even provide teapots you have to make tea in the mug and add milk at the "beverage station" Consequently that whole area is congested with people trying to get a drink and permanently awash with spillages and used tea bags. Most unpleasant and more like a budget hotel.

Room was fine although we had to ask for wine and water which was supposed to have been delivered.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the Spa and reception of you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittys64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I bought this overnight stay with inclusive breakfast and use of the pool sauna and steam room followed by a meal at Marco Pierre White's resteraunt. We were pleasantly greeted by the stay which we're very polite and helpful. Also we were given a complimentary cookie on arrival (which was delicious!).

Once in the room good and bad points were brought to my attention;

Firstly the bad points were a dead fly stuck to the ceiling, dirty splashes up the wall, a dirty sink, and worst of all hairs in the bath!! These to meare standards that are simple to keep to and should be kept on top of!

The mattress wasn't the most comfortable as the springs keeps twanging but the bed was a good size for a standard room! The paint job wasn't the best...

On the plus side the room was well equipt with toiletries by Crabtree and Evelyn which are very nice! The shower was amazing and huge! There was enough coffee and tea and a pack of biscuits for the night.

The overall experience of the pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room was good, it's was a nice atmosphere and perfect relaxation!

The MPW resteraunt was stunning the food was perfect and the service was excellent!

I will say I expected more of the hotel but I suppose everyone has slip ups once in a while!

Room Tip: Not a lot of difference between a standard and upgraded room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

My mum and I visited this hotel for an overnight stay on the 1st March. We purchased this stay on groupon where we got a standard twin room, 3 course meal at Marco Pierre White's restaurant and breakfast for £139 for two.

Overall I would say we really enjoyed our stay. The check in was quick and the receptionist friendly and helpful (although we did not get the welcome chocolate chip cookie. Perhaps this is for full paying guests only!). The room was small but had everything u needed and the bathroom was luxurious and well equipped. We had lunch in the brasserie/lounge which was full of business men and extremely busy but the food was lovely if not a bit pricey. We tried to book in the spa for some treatments but they were fully booked and I actually found the staff quite rude as we wer not asked if we would like to book any treatments for the next day or any other time but were just told a curt 'no'. Also the basic spa facilities were full with a large hen party and other people not staying at the hotel so in the end we decided not to bother. Before dinner we headed back to lounge for some cocktails (£7.50....for one small glass filled with far more ice than liquor) but we decided to treat ourselves anyway. We then went to our booking at MPW. We were on a set menu but there was still a fair bit of choice. The restaurant was busy and the tables were quite close together but the free glass of champagne and gorgeous food made up for that. The staff were wonderful and extremely attentive to our every need. Breakfast was definitely the best part of the hotel, excellent value for money as there is absolutely everything u could want and no limit on how much you have. I would definitely attend before 9.30am however as it does get very busy.

There were a few niggles; such as the cookie, the teacups in our room being dirty and a noisy hen party in our corridor. Also there did appear to be a room for staff opposite our room (room 15) where the door was slammed shut numerous times during the night very loudly. We did also have a problem with the heating in our room BUT for the groupon deal we were on I can't really fault it. The staff, restaurant, MPW was all great value for money....I'm not sure I would feel the same paying full price however.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice and functional rooms. Quiet at night, even close to major roads. Dinner in the restaurant was great. I had the salmon fish cake with spinach and rosemary potatoes as a side. Great selection for breakfast. Some aspects for additional improvement: a second person at the reception would have been helpful to speed up check-in when I arrived. The coffee machine for breakfast was tucked in a corner and could create a bottleneck.

Overall: a hotel for me to come back when I am in the area ...

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value for money. Stayed one night, afternoon in the spa (which is amazing) with treatments then evening meal in the marco Pierre white restaurant The food was divine and such brilliant value for money -£20 per head for a 3 course set menu. The shower in our room only got slightly warm so on the way to dinner we let reception know, by the time we had finished the starters we had been allocated a new room-brilliant service! Would recommend this hotel to anyone and we'll certainly be going again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed overnight at the Doubletree by Hilton Chester on Monday 18th February on a groupon deal. The deal consisted of overnight stay for 2, breakfast, 2 pre dinner glasses of champagne and a 3 course evening meal on a set menu in the Marco Pierre White steakhouse restaurant all for 50% of the usual price. Having visited the spa there on 2 previous occasions and found it to be lovely I decided to give the deal a go for my husbands birthday.
We arrived at 11am to see if we could use the spa facilities and the very helpful hotel receptionist said our room was actually ready to check in - bonus! We went to our room which was a standard club double. The room was very contemporary and spacious with a wall mounted flat screen tv. After unpacking we ventured down to the brasserie restaurant/bar where we had lunch the food was lovely although the service was very slow and not overly attentive. We then headed to the spa and leisure area. There is an indoor swimming pool, indoor jacuzzi/hydrotherapy area leading to an outdoor hydrotherapy pool - pure relaxation! There is also a steam room, sauna, aroma room and hammam which all help to totally relax you.
Suitably chilled out and ready for food and drink we ventured down to the brasserie bar and had a couple of pre dinner drinks these were a bit expensive but only to be expected in a hotel bar. The atmosphere was nice and relaxed.
We then headed to the Marco Pierre White restaurant for our 9pm booking. The restaurant was 3/4 full with nice sophisticated decor and a nice atmosphere. The set menu was small but at least there was 1 steak on the mains which we both opted for. This was cooked to perfection and although the starters and main were very nice not up to the standard of the main. My only negative is the service this seemed very disorganised and slow. After eating my salmon starter a different waiter came to the table and told me the salmon starter had sold out and seemed confused when I told him I'd already eaten it. There were big waits between courses and after 2 hours in the restaurant we asked for our bill which consisted of a couple of drinks and a couple of supplements. We were brought a bill for £93!!! Clearly not ours as ours was only £20 the waitress was polite enough and apologised.
In the morning we went for breakfast in the brasserie restaurant which was all self-service. There was a big choice of both continental and full cooked items. The food was very fresh and nicely cooked and you could have as much as you wanted.
Very full and content we checked out at 11pm and left feeling totally relaxed.
Apart from a few service issues in the restaurants the hotel is lovely and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLFLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,630 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,143 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,365 reviews
9.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing