We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,550)
Filter reviews
3,550 results
Traveler rating
1,630
1,070
503
212
135
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,630
1,070
503
212
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the marco pierre white restaurant mpw restaurant double tree warm cookies hoole hall outdoor jacuzzi on arrival spa facilities presidential suite garden restaurant lovely hotel garden room great spa my partner building work lovely grounds steam room
Filter
Updating list...
2,897 - 2,902 of 3,550 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here over the weekend. The hotel looks beautiful from the outside, and inside very modern. The welcome area is large and welcoming, I was a little disappointed as when checking in ,the hh check in desk was not open, the check in experience seemed rushed and scripted, no personality and I felt that the check was not as welcoming as last time, maybe due to them been busy. Last time we stayed in a suite and understood that the room we had this time was just a standard room, this was very small compared to a suite, too small, the standard rooms at hilton green park in London are bigger and the decor had no personality, the suites at chester doubletree have bright pink walls and are much nicer, so if the rates aren't too much for a suite , I suggest you book a suite as much better value. Before dining we had afew cocktails in the bar area which were lovely, very relaxed atmosphere and good service from staff.Good nights sleep overall, no load music from the weddings on which was good. Breakfast was not as good as last time, it was nice , but had much better, had to queue for a table, then no mugs left for tea/coffee, over heard one customer asking for a mug, and was told sorry we have none they are all in the dishwasher, not the best of service, also twinning selection of teas was limited, last time they has much more choice. Check out ok, but no one asked if we enjoyed our stay, normally hilton are so spot on, just felt that the small things let the stay down this time.

Room tip: Book a suite
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naomi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren-Douglas, Guest Relations at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

It is disappointing to read your comments showing you have left us feeling unsatisfied, especially as a regular visitor to Hilton hotels. Your comments regarding the breakfast service have been passed on to the manager who will investigate further.

We hope to be able to continue providing you with the top quality service you have come to learn.

Kind regards,

Lauren Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

litraly the best hotel i have ever stayed in the spa was awesome and the Marco Pierre White restaurant was amazing but burnt a delicious hole in my wallet haha rate this place very highly. 5 star

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jovan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren-Douglas, Guest Relations at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Fantastic review! Again, very little to say besides a massive thank you.

We hope you continue to enjoy your with time with us.

Kind regards,

Lauren Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for one night at the Double Tree Hilton and were really impressed. The hotel is a lovely looking building in beautiful gardens and it is kept to a high standard. The interior of the hotel is lovely also, very clean and modern. We had a mini suite which was very spacious, clean and lovely furnishings.

The swimming pool, although quite small, was really nice. There was a lot of work going on, I think creating an outdoor pool, so there was a section cornered off, but we used the pool twice and really enjoyed it, as did our 18 month old son.

The restaurant had a nice atmosphere and views overlooking the gardens at the back.

We were really impressed with this hotel - the service, the upkeep and everything about it. Would definitely recommend and return.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren-Douglas, Guest Relations at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Great feedback, thank you!

All of the team at Doubletree strive to deliver the best service possible, thank you for your praise which will not go unnoticed.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Lauren Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had bookeda suite at the Doubletree Chester for a meeting with friends. At arrival we were given a suite with disabled facilities at the ground floor. The furniture was shabby, staines on sofa, dirty curtains, stains on the carpet, the volant around the bed missing and the tolet with traces from the previous occupation. Complaining about this, a room cleaner tried to solve this, by flushing. after some discussion, we were given another suite in first floor, which was at least was cleaner than No. 19.
Later we met our friends who arrived later and learned that they now had No. 19. At least the toilet was cleaned by than!

Room tip: insist to get a clean room and don't give up right away when your wish is declined
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilfried M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren-Douglas, Guest Relations at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. Of course all feedback is passed on to our management team to ensure this does not reoccur in the future.

We do hope you decide to stay again so we have the opportunity to provide a better service to you both.

Kind regards,

Lauren Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I have just spent the weekend here, we checked into the hotel with no problems and where given our warm cookies as expected from the Doubletree.
We entered our room which was a reasonable size everything you would need for a weekend stay away, amble closet space, tea and coffee facilitates; the room was clean and bright. No issues
We rang for room service this was brought to us with no problems and in a timely manner.
The gym facilities where more than adequate.
All in all a nice stay we have no negative comments what so ever about our weekend away, but we were not left with any lasting impressions, there was nothing outstanding that would make us remember our stay.

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren-Douglas, Guest Relations at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your recent stay here.

It is great to see you had a nice stay, but next time having a memorable stay on your return visit would be even better!

I hope we are given the opportunity to do deliver this to you.

Kind regards,

Lauren Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews