We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I love about Doubletree Chester by Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“What I love about Doubletree Chester by Hilton”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

What I love about Doubletree Chester by Hilton is the modern up to date feel of the hotel and Spa. It feels and looks luxurious and not dated like so many UK hotels. After a full day in Chester shopping we made our way to the hotel by car and before settling down for night I had a double brandy and my wife had a Malibu and lemonade in the comfortable bar where the waiters were very attentive. On awaking the following morning after breakfast we headed to the spa area which is brilliant (been there before on a spa day and enjoyed excellent massages) with several cubicles/rooms for Sauna, Steam, Perfumed, etc; The pool is a good length (though not the widest) so you can really get a good swim in. The area with the jaccuzi also incorporates a great and powerful bubble bed and leads to a small but enjoyable outdoor pool area with waterfall. There are several relaxers to lie on though they are not flat and have a concave at the region around the small of your back and therefore tend to be less comfortable because of that. There is also a lounge type seating area with glowing fire effect if all the beds are taken. Our room was a King sized bedroom with Samsung TV, radio, telephone and a modern ensuite amongst other features and was very comfortable indeed. My wife and I did not try the Marco Pierre White restaurant in the hotel as we had a good days shopping in the nearby lovely old walled city of Chester and ate out in the city throughout the day. We did have a continental breakfast in the hotel's brasserie which we enjoyed, I would have had the full english but did not particularly like the way it was set out - looked as if it had been put out earlier and the eggs and black pudding etc looked to have dried out too much for my liking. Instead I had fresh orange juice then my choice of cereal after which I made a wholemeal sandwich of ham and cheese followed by toast and marmalade with coffee. My wife had cereal, croisants then toast and jam with tea. The breakfast we chose came to approx £8.50 each. The full English would have been around £12.50. The restaurant seating was comfortable and after 4 hours or so in the Spa on our second day we had a light lunch of a Gormet sandwich for my wife and a hot beef baguette for myself plus 2 pots of tea, again, very enjoyable and in comfortable sofa seating within lovely surroundings. Overall we had a great weekend and the Hilton Doubletree Chester helped to make it that way for us so I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to chill out and de-stress. If you want to be nearer to Chester in order to simply walk into the centre then I would suggest 'The Mill' hotel and spa. The spa at the mill isn't as good as Doubletree's but it is only a few minutes walk into the centre of Chester and is a fairly good hotel. Often both of these hotels have offers on one or more of the offer sites such as Living Social/Groupon/etc; So look out for these ... usually they are for day spa and treatments rather than overnight stays though!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor but lifts give good access to all floors, they do have gardens though th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wraakian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren-Douglas, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Superb review sharing each element of your stay.

We are glad you had a relaxing and stress free with us.

We do offer a variety of discounts, be sure to check the website for forthcoming accommodation offers.

Once again, thank you for your comments, we would love to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Lauren Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    924
    414
    168
    92
See reviews for
462
1,457
52
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llangernyw, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

a fabulous hotel with outstanding service, the room was very nice and well appointed. the evening meal was at MPW Steakhouse and was worth every penny. we had breakfast on the patio, could not ask for more!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveLovesCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren-Douglas, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
What more can we say, thank you!

Your comments are much appreciated, and the team will be delighted to hear their hard work has not gone unnoticed.

We will endeavor to ensure your future stays here are just as comfortable.

Kind regards,

Lauren Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've stayed here twice (both single overnights on business) recently and both times it's been very pleasant.

The hotel is in pleasant grounds, but fairly close to town and main roads for access.

The reception area is light, area and comfortable and my rooms have been the same on both stays.

I had room 212 last time and it had a high ceiling and a king sized bed, lovely albeit a bit unnecessary for a single traveller for one night.

The hotel looks quite old in the photos, but I've only stayed in the modern part (most, if not all, rooms are here), so don't expect old world charm.

I've not used the spa or onsite restaurant, but breakfast was ok, albeit a buffet, where food can cool and/or overcook (nothing like a fresh made breakfast!) but that's far from unusual for this kind of hotel. Both the spa and restaurant look good and reviews suggest they are.

If you're staying around Chester, you will be comfortable at the Doubletree.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren-Douglas, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Great feedback, thank you.

The location is ideal as we are situated just off the motorway, but are also easily accessible to local attractions and Chester City centre.

As you can see, we are are constantly praised for the quality of food in both our restaurants, we very much hope you have the opportunity to dine with us next time.

Kind regards,

Lauren Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

One of the best hotels we have stopped for all round facilities. The spa and gym are fantastic with everything you can think of on offer. The brasserie and MPW offer great food the the service was equally top notch. Spot on doubletree.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L33WAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren-Douglas, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Doubletree, we are delighted it was spot on!

Glad to see you made use of the Club & Spa facilities, and your experience in the Marco Pierre White restaurant was pleasant.

Kind regards,

Lauren Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higham, Suffolk, UK
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

There's lots of options to choose from in Chester for hotels. The location is a few miles outside the city centre. However, the amenities at the DoubleTree were amazing, and hard to pass up. If you think you are paying a few extra quid for nothing, think again...its worth it!
The full breakfast in the morning (included for Gold and Diamond, or part of a package deal) was very filling and delicious. Use of the Spa facilities is included, and amazing. This is not an ordinary pool...it is a full service luxury spa with saunas, large hot tub, lap pool, relaxation room (additional features / services require payment); if you have kids, the hours are limited on when kids are allowed to use the pool area.
We traveled with 2 kids (4 people total), and all of us could not fit into a single room. However, while booking, I received the discounted rate (50% off) for the second room. The room was right next door.
Highly recommend!

Room Tip: The entire hotel was quiet, as it is a few miles outside the city centre in a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas - Genevi... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren-Douglas, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
A fantastic review, thank you very much for your comments.

As a valued Hilton Honours member, we are delighted Doubletree, Chester was able to exceed your expectations.

We certaintly hope you return again, and continue to enjoy your stays with us.

Kind regards,

Lauren Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here in sept for a night out in Chester, got a great price inc breakfast. Room was smallish but clean and the shower was great. Hotel has a great spa attached so bring your gear!

Location for Chester is ideal.

Breakfast was ample, loads of choice - get there early though as it got very busy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank island-h0pper71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren-Douglas, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Great to see you were able to make use of the Club & Spa facilities whilst staying with us.

I will also pass on your comments to our Brasserie Manager who will be pleased you enjoyed breakfast.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Lauren Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stopped in lovely Chester for one night rather than look for accommodation in the industrial area slightly further north. Warm greeting on my arrival and the whole look and feel is spa, rather than business hotel. Before dining, I made use of the excellent swimming pool, gym and spa facilities and then had a meal in the main restaurant. It's the lot a business traveller to eat by yourself in restaurants, so I settled back with a book, a glass of red and a steak. Food was fine, but not great and I felt over-priced for the quality and cooking. Service was very attentive however. Room was huge and had the all important desk.

Room Tip: Bring your swimming costume and use the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scobesfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren-Douglas, Guest Relations at Doubletree by Hilton Chester, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We aim to create both a family and business environment alike, so all guests are very much welcome.

Lovely to hear your comments from another satisfied guest, we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Lauren Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,660 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,235 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,403 reviews
9.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Address: Hoole Hall Warrington Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#8 Family Hotel in Chester
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the outskirts of historic Chester surrounded by twelve acres of landscaped gardens, this elegant hotel provides luxurious accommodation only a few minutes from the city centre. This carefully restored 18th-century manor house beautifully combines the past and the present, offering modern comforts and conveniences with traditional styling and decor. The hotel's outstanding facilities include, Grade II listed conservatory, a stunning Club and Spa and a Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chester Hotel Chester
Hilton International Chester
Chester Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing